Sign In
CPSI Share                                                                
Webcast Provider; Leader

Archive:
Monday, January 30, 2017 at 10:00 am MST / 12:00 pm EST

Purpose of the Call:

"…if I apply this [framework] conceptually to any problem I've got in safety I can make it work, and it orders my thinking" – Neil Prentice, Assistant Medical Director Mental Health, Tayside Trust, Scotland

In Canada, as in the UK and US the focus of governments on assessing both quality and safety has increased over the past 10 years.[1],[2] A very large number of quality outcomes have been specified but the approach to safety has been much narrower, leaving many aspects of safety unexplored.[3] The measurement of harm, so important in the evolution of patient safety, has been largely neglected[4] and there have been prominent calls for improved measures.[5]  There is a critical need for patient safety measurement at the front lines, so that clinical teams can focus on key problems. Don Berwick has stated that 'most health care organisations at present have very little capacity to analyse, monitor, or learn from safety and quality information. This gap is costly and should be closed. Early warning signals can be valued and should be maintained and heeded'.5,[7] In 2013 Professors Charles Vincent, Susan Burnett and Jane Carthey published their report The Measuring and Monitoring of Safety[8] which describes their framework to be implemented in practice to close the gap identified by Berwick. 

The framework provides a broader view of the information needed to create and sustain safer care.

Objectives:

  1. Introduce the Measuring and Monitoring of Safety Framework to a Canadian healthcare audience
  2. Describe how the framework would work in Canada

Resources:

 

Speaker Biographies

Professor Charles Vincent

Professor Charles Vincent is trained as a clinical psychologist and has worked in the British NHS for several years. Since 1985 he has focused on conducting research on the causes of harm to patients, the consequences for patients and staff and methods of improving the safety of healthcare. He established the Clinical Risk Unit at the Department of Psychology, University College London where he was Professor of Psychology. In 2002 he moved to become Professor of Clinical Safety Research in the Department of Surgery and Cancer at Imperial College in 2002. From 1999 to 2003 he was a Commissioner on the UK Commission for Health Improvement. He has acted as an advisor on patient safety in many inquiries and committees including the Bristol Inquiry, the Parliamentary Health Select Committee, the Francis Inquiry and the Berwick Review. From 2007 to 2013 he was the Director of the National Institute of Health Research Centre for Patient Safety & Service Quality at Imperial College. He moved to the Department of Experimental Psychology in January 2014 with the support of the Health Foundation to continue his work on safety in healthcare.

G. Ross Baker, Ph.D.

G. Ross Baker, Ph.D., is a professor in the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation at the University of Toronto and Director of the MSc. Program in Quality Improvement and Patient Safety. Ross is co-lead for a large quality improvement-training program in Ontario, IDEAS (improving and Driving Excellence Across Sectors). Recent research projects include a review and synthesis of evidence on factors linked to high performing healthcare systems, an analysis of why progress on patient safety has been slower than expected and an edited book of case studies on patient engagement strategies.

Chris Power

What began as a desire to help those in need 30 years ago has evolved into a mission to improve the quality of healthcare for all Canadians. Chris Power's journey in healthcare began at the bedside as a front-line nurse. Since then, she has grown into one of the preeminent healthcare executives in Canada. Her experiences, her success, and her values have led her to the position of CEO of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute. Previously, Chris served for eight years as president and CEO of Capital Health, Nova Scotia, with an annual operating budget of approximately $900 million, and 12,000 staff. Under Chris’s leadership Capital Health achieved Accreditation with Exemplary Status in 2014 with recognition for 10 Leading Practices.​

SHIFT to Safety 

Ensuring patients are safe remains a major challenge for Canadian healthcare organisations and systems. The Canadian Patient Safety Institute's (CPSI) new initiative, SHIFT to Safety, has been launched to address these challenges, including helping providers and leaders improve their measurement efforts.   

References:

[1] Baker, G Ross, Beyond the quick fix – Strategies for improving patient safety. Institute of Health Policy Management and Evaluation. Nov.9.2015

[2] Darzi A. High quality care for all. London: Department of Health, 2009.

[3] Quality and Outcomes Framework 2013/14. London: Department of Health, 2013.

[4] Vincent CA, Aylin P, Franklin BD, et al. Is health care getting safer? BMJ 2008;337:1205–07.

[5] Francis R. Independent Inquiry into care provided by Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust January 2005–March 2009. London: Department of Health, 2013.

[6] Jha A, Pronovost P. Toward a safer health care system: The critical need to improve measurement. JAMA. 2016.

[7] Berwick DM. A promise to learn—a commitment to act. Improving the safety of patients in England. London: Department of Health, 2013

[8] Vincent CA, Burnett S, Carthey C. The measurement and monitoring of safety in healthcare. London: Health Foundation, 2013

Connexion
CPSI partager                                                   
Webdiffusion Leader; Fournisseur

Archive:
Lundi 30 janvier 2017 à 10 h (heure des Rocheuses) / midi (heure de l’Est)

Objet de l’appel :

« Si j’applique ce cadre conceptuel à tout problème lié à la sécurité, je serai en mesure de résoudre ce problème et d’organiser ma réflexion. » – Neil Prentice, directeur médical adjoint en santé mentale, Tayside Trust, Écosse

Depuis dix ans, au Canada comme au Royaume-Uni et aux États-Unis, les gouvernements mettent l’accent sur la mesure de la qualité et de la sécurité[1],[2]. Un nombre très élevé de résultats en matière de qualité a été défini, mais l’approche à l’égard de la sécurité a été fortement restreinte, ce qui a fait en sorte que de nombreux aspects de la sécurité sont demeurés inexplorés[3]. La mesure des préjudices, qui est au cœur de l’évolution de la sécurité des patients, a été largement négligée[4], tant et si bien que des acteurs de premier plan ont réclamé une amélioration des mesures[5]. Nous avons un urgent besoin de mesures de sécurité des patients en première ligne afin de permettre aux équipes cliniques de se concentrer sur les principaux problèmes. Selon Don Berwick, « la plupart des organisations de soins de santé disposent d’une capacité très limitée pour analyser l’information sur la sécurité et la qualité, faire le suivi de celle-ci et en tirer des apprentissages. Cette lacune est coûteuse et doit être comblée. Des signaux d’alarme précurseurs peuvent être évalués et doivent être maintenus et pris en considération5,[7] ». En 2013, les professeurs Charles Vincent, Susan Burnett et Jane Carthey ont publié leur rapport The Measuring and Monitoring of Safety[8] sur le cadre qu’ils proposent de mettre en œuvre pour combler la lacune ciblée par Berwick.

Ce cadre conceptuel propose une vision plus globale des renseignements requis pour mettre en place et maintenir des soins plus sécuritaires.

Objectifs :

  1. Présenter le Cadre de mesure et de surveillance de la sécurité à la communauté des soins de santé du Canada.

  2. Décrire le fonctionnement éventuel de ce cadre au Canada.

Ressources :

en anglais seulement     

  • A framework for measuring and monitoring safety: A practical guide to using a new framework for measuring and monitoring safety in the NHS (2014) (Un cadre de mesure et de surveillance de la sécurité : Guide pratique pour l'utilisation d'un nouveau cadre de mesure et de surveillance dans la NHS) : Téléchargez le guide de la Health Foundation.
  • The measurement and monitoring of safety: Drawing together academic evidence and practical experience to produce a framework for safety measurement and monitoring (2013) (Mesurer et surveiller la sécurité : Réunir les preuves scientifiques et l'expérience pratique pour créer un cadre de mesure et de surveillance de la sécurité) : Téléchargez le rapport complet de la Health Foundation.
 

Biographies des conférenciers :

Le professeur Charles Vincent

Le professeur Charles Vincent a reçu une formation de psychologue clinicien et a travaillé pendant plusieurs années au sein du système de santé britannique (National Health Service ou NHS). Depuis 1985, il a surtout mené des recherches sur les causes des préjudices chez les patients, leurs conséquences sur les patients et le personnel, ainsi que les méthodes permettant d’améliorer la sécurité des soins de santé. Il a créé une unité du risque clinique (Clinical Risk Unit) au département de psychologie du Collège universitaire de Londres (UCL), où il enseignait alors la psychologie. En 2002, il devient professeur de recherche clinique en matière de sécurité au département de chirurgie et du cancer du Collège Imperial. De 1999 à 2003, il est commissaire à la Commission britannique pour l’amélioration des soins de santé (UK Commission for Health Improvement). Il a agi en tant que consultant en matière de sécurité des patients au service de plusieurs enquêtes et comités, dont l’enquête Bristol, le Comité parlementaire spécial sur la santé, l’enquête Francis et le rapport Berwick. De 2007 à 2013, il a occupé le poste de directeur du Centre pour la sécurité des patients et la qualité des services de l’Institut national de recherche en santé du Collège Imperial. Il poursuit ses travaux sur la sécurité des soins de santé au département de psychologie expérimentale depuis janvier 2014, avec le soutien de l’organisme de bienfaisance britannique The Health Foundation.

G. Ross Baker, Ph. D.

G. Ross Baker, Ph. D., est professeur à l’Institut des politiques, de la gestion et de l’évaluation de la santé à l’Université de Toronto et directeur du programme de maîtrise en amélioration de la qualité et en sécurité des patients. Ross est l’un des coresponsables d’un vaste programme de formation en amélioration de la qualité des soins en Ontario, le Programme IDÉES (programme pour l’excellence à travers tous les secteurs). Parmi ses plus récents projets de recherche, mentionnons une étude et synthèse des données probantes sur les facteurs liés aux systèmes de santé hautement performants, une analyse des causes du ralentissement des progrès prévus en matière de sécurité des patients et un livre édité traitant d’études de cas sur les stratégies de participation des patients.

Chris Power

Ce qui a commencé il y a 30 ans par le désir d’aider ceux dans le besoin s’est mué en mission pour améliorer la qualité des soins de santé de tous les Canadiens. Le parcours de Chris Power dans le système de santé a commencé au chevet des patients, comme infirmière de première ligne. Depuis, elle est devenue l’un des cadres de la santé les plus en vue au Canada. Son expérience, ses réussites et ses valeurs l’ont propulsée au poste de directrice générale de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients. Chris Power a auparavant été huit ans présidente et chef de la direction de Capital Health, en Nouvelle-Écosse, dont le budget de fonctionnement annuel est d’environ 900 millions de dollars et qui compte quelque 12 000 employés. Sous sa direction, Capital Health a obtenu en 2014 un agrément avec statut d’exemplarité en raison de dix pratiques de pointe.​

VIREZ en mode sécurité

Assurer la sécurité des patients demeure une préoccupation de premier plan pour les organisations et les systèmes de soins de santé du Canada. La nouvelle initiative de l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP), VIREZ en mode sécurité, a été lancée précisément pour relever ces défis et pour aider les fournisseurs de services et les dirigeants à renforcer leur efforts de mesure

Références :

[1] Baker, G. Ross, Beyond the quick fix – Strategies for improving patient safety. Institute of Health Policy Management and Evaluation, 9 novembre 2015.

[2] Darzi, A. High quality care for all, Londres : ministère de la Santé, 2009.

[3]Quality and Outcomes Framework 2013/14. Londres : ministère de la Santé, 2013.

[4] Vincent, C.A., P. Aylin, B.D. Franklin et coll. « Is health care getting safer? » BMJ, 337:1205-1207, 2008.

[5] Francis, R. Independent Inquiry into care provided by Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust, January 2005–March 2009. Londres : ministère de la Santé, 2013.

[7]Berwick, D.M. A promise to learn—a commitment to act. Improving the safety of patients in England. Londres : ministère de la Santé, 2013.

[8] Vincent, C.A., S. Burnett, C. Carthey. The measurement and monitoring of safety in healthcare. Londres : The Health Foundation, 2013.