Sign In
CPSI Share                                                                  

Conquer Silence web banner

Public
  • Falls account for up to 40% of inpatient incidents.1
  • 40 to 60% of residents in long-term care facilities fall at least once a year.2
  • Falls in hospitals increase length of stay, regardless of degree of harm.3
  • Patients who did not have an in-hospital fall were 2.4 times more likely to be discharged earlier than patients who had a fall.4

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute has a variety of tools to help healthcare providers deliver safer care and support members of the public to partner with their providers to create safer care. When you see something unsafe in the environment that may put you or your family member at risk, use this tool to bring it to the attention of a healthcare provider. 


1
 Feldman, F., Flintoft, V., & Freund-Heritage, R. (2015, February 26). April 2015 is Falls Quality Audit Month: What you Need to Know to Participate. Canadian Patient Safety Institute & Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario.

2 Feldman, F., Flintoft, V., & Freund-Heritage, R. (2015, February 26). April 2015 is Falls Quality Audit Month: What you Need to Know to Participate. Canadian Patient Safety Institute & Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario.

3 Feldman, F., Flintoft, V., & Freund-Heritage, R. (2015, February 26). April 2015 is Falls Quality Audit Month: What you Need to Know to Participate. Canadian Patient Safety Institute & Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario.

4 Feldman, F., Flintoft, V., & Freund-Heritage, R. (2015, February 26). April 2015 is Falls Quality Audit Month: What you Need to Know to Participate. Canadian Patient Safety Institute & Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario.

Connexion
CPSI partager                                                   

Conquer Silence web banner

Public
  • Les chutes représentent jusqu’à 40 % des incidents subis par les patients hospitalisés1.
  • 40 à 60% des résidents des établissements de soins de longue durée subissent d’une chute au moins une fois par an2
  • Les chutes survenant en milieu hospitalier augmentent la durée du séjour, quel que soit le degré de gravité des blessures3.
  • Les patients n’étant pas tombés à l’hôpital étaient 2,4 fois plus enclins à obtenir leur congé comparativement aux patients ayant fait une chute4.

L’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients propose aux fournisseurs de soins de santé divers outils ayant un double objectif : leur permettre de prodiguer des soins plus sécuritaires et s’associer les membres du public pour établir un partenariat en faveur de soins toujours plus sécuritaires. Lorsque vous constatez la présence d’un risque dans votre environnement qui pourrait vous mettre en danger, vous ou un membre de votre famille, utilisez cet outil pour en aviser le fournisseur de soins de santé. 

1 Feldman, F., Flintoft, V., et Freund-Heritage, R. (2015, 26 février). April 2015 is Falls Quality Audit Month: What you Need to Know to Participate. (en anglais). Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients et Association des infirmières et infirmiers autorisés de l’Ontario.

2 Feldman, F., Flintoft, V., et Freund-Heritage, R. (2015, 26 février). April 2015 is Falls Quality Audit Month: What you Need to Know to Participate. (en anglais). Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients et Association des infirmières et infirmiers autorisés de l’Ontario.

3 Feldman, F., Flintoft, V., et Freund-Heritage, R. (2015, 26 février). April 2015 is Falls Quality Audit Month: What you Need to Know to Participate. (en anglais). Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients et Association des infirmières et infirmiers autorisés de l’Ontario.

4 Feldman, F., Flintoft, V., et Freund-Heritage, R. (2015, 26 février). April 2015 is Falls Quality Audit Month: What you Need to Know to Participate. (en anglais). Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients et Association des infirmières et infirmiers autorisés de l’Ontario.