Sign In
CPSI Share                                                                
Conference

The Atlantic Learning Exchange 2017 was an opportunity to join leaders and patient safety champions who gathered for a two-day quality and patient safety knowledge exchange.  Participants took in engaging presentations on quality improvement from the system, provider, and patient experiences, as well, rapid fire presentations that showcased local initiatives and the differences they have made. 

This year's theme was: Advancing patient safety culture to improve the patient experience.

The following presentations are now available to download.

A Journey Through Healthcare:  One Patient's Experience – Karen MacLean

Culture Matters: Exploring how engagement and culture are key to improving care

Culture has a massive impact on the success or failure of improvement efforts. The most brilliant solutions will fail if they are not aligned with the local context. Improving culture can have direct links to patient outcomes. This session will explore the adaptive and technical sides of change, how it affects improvement work and what this means for those working to make positive changes. – Christina Krause

Physician Partnership: Mission Critical to Advancing Patient Safety and Quality

Following this session, participants will be able to: • describe the critical need to partner with physicians in advancing patient safety culture • understand the benefits of shared leadership and accountability • discuss enablers and barriers to physician participation in safety improvement initiatives – Amir Ginzburg

Teamwork Makes the Dream Work: TeamSTEPPS® - Strategies and Tools to Enhance Performance and Patient Safety

 Team Strategies and Tools to Enhance Performance and Patient Safety (TeamSTEPPS®) is an evidence based teamwork system aimed at optimizing patient care by improving communication and teamwork skills. TeamSTEPPS® has five key principles which are based on team structure and four teachable-learnable skills:

  • Communication
  • Leadership
  • Situation Monitoring
  • Mutual Support

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute, as part of the SHIFT to Safety program, is making TeamSTEPPS® available to OR Teams in Canada. This presentation will provide an introduction to TeamSTEPPS®. – Chris Power (SHIFT to Safety), Laurie Boyer (TeamSTEPPS)

The Experience of CARE and Partnership

How can we learn from the patient & family experience? How can patients & families partner with your organization to co-create improvements? – Renee Boyd

Culture, culture everywhere... reflections from Scotland

In this session, Brian will explore how Scotland has approached large scale improvement with a focus on culture within teams, services and institutions to drive and embed change. We will consider how culture 'sits' within a framework for high impact leadership and look at practical examples, tools and approaches which may be transferable. – Brian Robson

Patient and family engagement: The Horizon Health Network experience

The engagement of patients and families within the healthcare system at all levels is essential to transformation and renewal. In 2013, Horizon embarked on a journey to become a truly patient and family centred organization. This included engagement of patients and their family members at the front line, as well as within overall system and governance levels within our organization. This discussion will focus upon the tools of engagement which have been developed, challenges encountered and lessons learned as Horizon has sought to move toward greater patient and family partnership to improve quality and outcomes. – Margaret Melanson

NEW! Patient Engagement Toolkit: A guide for your journey in patient engagement

Janet Hodder, Denice Klavano, Ioana Popescu

Innovation Lab: Ideation for Innovation and Improvement. 

Ideation for Innovation and Improvement will allow you to take your solutions and ideas to new heights. We will curate the latest knowledge around innovation and design thinking and provide the opportunity to take some innovative approaches for a test run. This session will explore key knowledge related to innovation and design thinking and provide participants with the opportunity to apply selected knowledge/design thinking tools and techniques to accelerate improvement. – Colleen Kennedy

Rapid Fire Presentations

When Caring Hurts, Supporting the Second Victim
Tracy MacDonald, NL

Nova Scotia Health Authority (NSHA) Pressure Injury Prevalence Study
Sheila Moffat, NS / Matt Phillips, NS

Telestroke:  Evolving and Disrupting the Boundaries of Traditional Healthcare Delivery
Patti Gallagher, NB / Krisan Palmer, NB

Establishing a Patient and Family Advisory Team at the Dartmouth General Hospital
Bridget Pierce, NS / Cecilia Murphy, NS

Improving Surgical Care through "Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS)"
Erin Ballah, NL

Recognizing Excellence in Long Term Care – A Person Centred Approach in Establishing a Person-Centred Award
Andrew MacDougall, PEI

Partnering with Patients & Families; We Do Better Together
Julie Smith, PEI / Wendy Poole, PEI

Pacemaker Follow-up in Nursing Homes and Special Care Homes
Kathy Kowalski, NB

Supporting Health at home: Remote Patient Monitoring Program for Patients with COPD and Heart Failure
Kimberly Ghaney, NL

Teleoncology: Ensuring Safety and Enhanced Patient Care Experience into Primary Care Delivery
Darlene Decourcey, NB

Going off the Rails: Removing Bedrails, Changing Culture
Pamela Handrahan, PEI

Using Patient and Family Concerns and Complaints to Further Engage Patients, Families and Staff as Partners in Patient Safety
Bridget Pierce, NS / Denice Klavano, NS

Connexion
CPSI partager                                                   
Conférence

Le Partage de connaissances de l'Atlantique de 2017 nous a permis de se joindre aux leaders et aux champions de la sécurité des patients qui se réunissaient pendant deux jours pour échanger sur les dernières avancées en matière de qualité des soins et de sécurité des patients.  Les participants ont assisté à des présentations dynamiques sur l'amélioration de la qualité du point de vue du système, des fournisseurs de soins et des patients, ainsi qu'à de plus courtes présentations qui mettaient en valeur certaines initiatives locales et les changements qu'elles ont réussis à mettre en œuvre. 

Le thème de cette année était : Promouvoir une culture de la sécurité des patients en vue d'améliorer l'expérience des patients.

Les présentations suivantes sont maintenant disponibles pour téléchargement (en anglais seulement).

Un parcours dans le système de soins de santé : l'expérience d'une patiente – Karen MacLean

Question de culture: explorer pourquoi la participation et la culture sont essentielles à l'amélioration des soins

La culture a un impact énorme sur le succès ou l'échec des efforts d'amélioration. Les meilleures solutions sont vouées à l'échec si elles ne sont pas alignées au contexte local. L'amélioration de la culture peut directement affecter les résultats des patients. Cette séance explorera les aspects adaptatifs et techniques du changement, de quelle façon la culture affecte le travail d'amélioration et ce que cela signifie pour ceux qui travaillent pour instaurer des changements positifs. – Christina Krause

Partenariat avec le médecin : essentiel pour faire progresser la sécurité des patients et la qualité

 À la suite de cette séance, les participants seront en mesure de : • Décrire le besoin crucial de travailler en partenariat avec les médecins afin de promouvoir la culture de la sécurité des patients • Comprendre les avantages du leadership partagé et de l'imputabilité • Discuter des éléments facilitateurs et des obstacles à la participation des médecins aux initiatives d'amélioration de la sécurité – Amir Ginzburg

Le travail d'équipe fait réaliser le rêve : TeamSTEPPS® - Stratégies et outils pour améliorer la performance et la sécurité des patients

Team Strategies and Tools to Enhance Performance and Patient Safety (TeamSTEPPS®) est un système de travail d'équipe basé sur les données probantes qui optimise les soins aux patients en améliorant les compétences en communication et les capacités à travailler en équipe. TeamSTEPPS® comporte cinq principes clés qui sont basés sur la structure de l'équipe et quatre compétences enseignables et faciles à apprendre :

  • Communication
  • Leadership
  • Surveillance de la situation
  • Support mutuel

L'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, dans le cadre du programme VIREZ en mode sécurité, rend TeamSTEPPS® disponible aux équipes de bloc opératoire au Canada. Cette présentation fournit une introduction au iTeamSTEPPS® - Chris Power (SHIFT to Safety) Laurie Boyer (TeamSTEPPS)

L'expérience des SOINS et partenariats

Comment pouvons-nous apprendre de l'expérience du patient et de la famille? Patients et familles - comment en faire des partenaires avec votre établissement pour inciter des améliorations? – Renee Boyd

Culture, culture partout ... Réflexions de l'Écosse

Dans cette séance, Brian examinera comment l'Écosse a abordé l'amélioration à grande échelle en mettant l'accent sur la culture au sein des équipes, des services et des institutions, en vue de motiver et d'intégrer le changement. Nous examinerons comment la culture est « fixée » dans un cadre de travail pour un leadership à impact élevé et analyserons des exemples, des outils et des approches pratiques susceptibles d'être transférables. – Brian Robson

Participation du patient et de la famille : L'expérience du Réseau de santé Horizon

La participation des patients et des familles à tous les niveaux du système de santé est essentielle à la transformation et au renouvellement. En 2013, Horizon s'est lancé sur un parcours pour devenir un établissement vraiment centré sur le patient et sa famille. Cela comprenait la participation des patients et des membres de leur famille en première ligne, ainsi que dans l'ensemble du système et les niveaux de gouvernance au sein de notre établissement. Cette discussion se concentrera sur les outils de participation mis en œuvre, les difficultés rencontrées et les apprentissages acquis alors qu'Horizon a cherché à favoriser un meilleur partenariat patient-famille pour améliorer la qualité et les résultats. – Margaret Melanson

NOUVEAU! Trousse d'outils de participation des patients : un guide pour votre parcours

Janet Hodder, Denice Klavano, Ioana Popescu

Laboratoire d'innovation : création d'idées pour l'innovation et l'amélioration

COMMANDITÉ PAR HEALTHPRO

La création d'idées pour l'innovation et l'amélioration vous permettra d'élever vos solutions et idées vers de nouveaux sommets. Nous rassemblerons les dernières connaissances liées à l'innovation et à la pensée de conception et vous aurez l'occasion de faire l'essai d'approches novatrices. Cette séance explorera les connaissances clés liées à l'innovation et à la pensée de conception et donnera l'occasion aux participants d'appliquer ces outils et techniques pour accélérer l'amélioration. – Colleen Kennedy

Présentations-éclair

Lorsque soigner fait mal - soutien à la seconde victim
Tracy MacDonald, NL

Nova Scotia Health Authority (NSHA) – Étude sur les plaies de pression
Sheila Moffat, NS / Matt Phillips, NS

TéléAVC : Faire évoluer et perturber les limites de la prestation traditionnelle des soins de santé
Patti Gallagher, NB / Krisan Palmer, NB

Établir une équipe conseil de patients et de familles à l'Hôpital général de Dartmouth
Bridget Pierce, NS / Cecilia Murphy, NS

Améliorer les soins chirurgicaux grâce à la récupération améliorée après la chirurgie (« ERAS »)
Erin Ballah, NL

Reconnaissance de l'excellence en soins de longue durée - une approche centrée sur la personne pour établir un prix centré sur la personne
Andrew MacDougall, PEI

Partenariat avec les patients et les familles - meilleurs ensemble
Julie Smith, PEI / Wendy Poole, PEI

Suivi des stimulateurs cardiaques dans les maisons de soins infirmiers et de soins spéciaux
Kathy Kowalski, NB

Soutenir la santé à domicile : programme de surveillance à distance pour les patients souffrant de MPOC et d'insuffisance cardiaque
Kimberley Ghaney, NL

Téléoncologie : assurer la sécurité et l'amélioration de l'expérience des soins aux patients dans la prestation de soins primaires
Darlene Decourcey, NB

Avancer sans les rails : enlever les ridelles de lit, changer la culture
Pamela Handrahan, PEI

Utiliser les préoccupations et les plaintes du patient et de la famille pour inciter une meilleure participation des patients, des familles et du personnel comme partenaires dans la sécurité des patients
Bridget Pierce, NS / Denice Klavano, NS