Sign In
CPSI Share               

 

Introduction

Patients expect hospital care to be safe and for most people it is. However, a small proportion of patients experience some type of unintended harm as a result of the care they receive. The Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI) and the Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI) have collaborated on a body of work to address gaps in measuring harm and to support patient safety improvement efforts in Canadian hospitals. The Hospital Harm Improvement Resource was developed by the Canadian Patient Safety Institute to complement the Hospital Harm measure developed by CIHI. It links measurement and improvement by providing evidence-informed practices that will support patient safety improvement efforts.

The purpose of measuring quality and safety is to improve patient care and optimize patient outcomes. The Hospital Harm measure should be used in conjunction with other sources of information about patient safety, including patient safety reporting and learning systems, chart reviews or audits, Accreditation Canada survey results, patient concerns and clinical quality improvement process measures. Together, this information can inform and optimize improvement initiatives.

The Improvement Resource is a compilation of evidence-informed practices linked to each of the clinical groups within the Hospital Harm measure to help drive changes that will make care safer. Through extensive research and consultation with clinicians, experts and leaders in quality improvement (QI) and patient safety, the Improvement Resource is intended to make information on improving patient safety easily available, so teams spend less time researching and more time optimizing patient care.

The Improvement Resource is a dynamic tool that the Canadian Patient Safety Institute will continue to develop and review every two years, or as new evidence emerge. If you have any suggestions for the Improvement Resource, please send your ideas to info@cpsi-icsp.ca.

The layout of the Improvement Resource reflects the framework of the Hospital Harm measure (Figure 1) and focuses on actions that can be taken to decrease the likelihood of harm. The measure includes four major categories of harm and within each category is a series of individual clinical groups, or types of harm, each of which connects to evidence-informed practices for improvement.

For each clinical group, the Improvement Resource provides the following:

  • An overview of the clinical group and goal for improvement.
  • Implications for patients experiencing the type of harm and their importance to patients and family.
  • Evidence-informed practices to reduce the likelihood of harm.
  • Outcome and process improvement measures.
  • Associated Accreditation Canada standards and Required Organizational Practices and Global Patient Safety Alerts recommended search terms.
  • Success stories from organizations.
  • References and key resources, including guidelines and select research articles.

Definitions

As patient safety terminology evolves it is important to be clear on the meaning and differences of specific words. For the purposes of the Hospital Harm measure, the following definitions apply:

  • Harm – An unintended outcome of care that may be prevented with evidence-informed practices and is identified and treated in the same hospital stay.
  • Occurrence of harm – Harmful event is synonymous with occurrence of harm.
  • Patient Safety The reduction of risk of unnecessary harm associated with healthcare to an acceptable minimum. An acceptable minimum takes into consideration current knowledge, resources available and the context in which care was delivered weighed against the risk of non-treatment or other treatment.
  • Hospital Harm Measure – Acute care hospitalizations with at least one unintended occurrence of harm that could be potentially prevented by implementing known evidence-informed practices.

For harm to be included in the measure, it must meet the following three criteria:

  1. It is identified as having occurred after admission and within the same hospital stay.
  2. It requires treatment or prolongs the patient's hospital stay.
  3. It is one of the conditions from the 31 clinical groups in the Hospital Harm Framework.

Connexion

 

Fournisseur; Leader

Survol

Les patients s'attendent à ce que les soins hospitaliers soient sécuritaires, et pour la plupart des gens, ils le sont. Cependant, une petite proportion de patients vivent un type de préjudice involontaire à la suite des soins qu'ils ont reçus. L'Institut canadien d'information sur la santé (ICIS) et l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP) ont collaboré à un ensemble de travaux pour corriger les lacunes des indicateurs de préjudices et pour contribuer aux efforts d'amélioration sur la sécurité des patients dans les hôpitaux canadiens. La Ressource d'amélioration pour les préjudices à l'hôpital a été élaborée par l'ICSP pour servir de complément à la mesure des préjudices à l'hôpital préparée par l'ICIS. Elle fait le lien entre la mesure et l'amélioration en fournissant des pratiques basées sur des données probantes qui viennent soutenir les efforts d'amélioration sur la sécurité des patients.

Le but de mesurer la qualité et la sécurité est d'améliorer les soins aux patients et d'optimiser les résultats pour le patient. La mesure des préjudices à l'hôpital devrait être utilisée avec d'autres sources d'information sur la sécurité des patients, dont les systèmes de déclaration et d'apprentissage, l'étude ou la vérification des dossiers, les résultats des enquêtes d'Agrément Canada, les inquiétudes des patients et les mesures d'amélioration de la qualité des processus cliniques. Ensemble, ces informations peuvent orienter et optimiser les initiatives d'amélioration.

La Ressource d'amélioration est une compilation de conseils fondés sur des données probantes et liés à chacun des groupes cliniques qu'englobe la mesure des préjudices à l'hôpital pour favoriser les changements qui rendront les soins plus sécuritaires. Basée sur des recherches et sur des consultations auprès de cliniciens, d'experts et de leaders en amélioration de la qualité (AQ) et en sécurité des patients, la Ressource d'amélioration vise à rendre les informations sur l'amélioration de la sécurité des patients facilement accessibles, de façon à ce que les équipes passent moins de temps à chercher et plus de temps à optimiser les soins aux patients.

Si vous avez des commentaires ou suggestions à faire concernant cette Ressource d'amélioration, veuillez nous transmettre vos idées à info@hec-esc.ca.

La présentation de la Ressource d'amélioration reflète le cadre de travail de la mesure des préjudices à l'hôpital (Schéma 1) et se concentre sur les interventions possibles pour réduire le risque de préjudice. La mesure comprend quatre principales catégories de préjudices, à l'intérieur desquelles se retrouve une série de types ou de groupes cliniques de préjudices distincts, dont chacun est relié à des pratiques basées sur des données probantes pour améliorer les soins.

La Ressource d'amélioration fournit les éléments suivants pour chaque groupe clinique :

  • Une vue d'ensemble du groupe clinique et l'amélioration visée.
  • Les implications pour les patients qui vivent ce type de préjudice et son importance pour les patients et les familles.
  • Conseils pour les évaluations et analyses d'incidents cliniques et de système, incluant une liste de ressources spécifiques au groupe clinique.
  • Conseils pour mesurer les améliorations.  
  • Des exemples de réussites racontées par les organismes.
  • Des références.
Schéma 1 : Cadre de travail sur la mesure des préjudices à l’hôpital
Click to download infographic 

 

Définitions

Au fur et à mesure que la sécurité des patients évolue, il est important de clarifier la signification de certains termes et de souligner ce qui les différencie. Pour les fins de la mesure des préjudices à l'hôpital, les définitions suivantes s'appliquent :

  • Préjudice – Conséquence involontaire des soins qui aurait pu être évitée grâce à des pratiques basées sur des données probantes et qui est identifiée et traitée au cours d'un même séjour à l'hôpital.
  • Occurrence d'un préjudice – Synonyme d'événement préjudiciable.
  • Mesure des préjudices à l'hôpital – Les hospitalisations en soins aigus au cours desquelles est survenu au moins un préjudice involontaire, qui aurait éventuellement pu être évité en adoptant des pratiques connues basées sur des données probantes.

Pour qu'un préjudice puisse s'intégrer à la mesure, il doit répondre aux trois critères suivants :

  1. Il est survenu après l'admission et au cours du même séjour à l'hôpital.
  2. Il nécessite un traitement ou prolonge le séjour du patient à l'hôpital.
  3. Il fait partie d'une des conditions des 31 groupes cliniques du Cadre de travail sur la mesure des préjudices à l'hôpital.

Table des matières