Sign In
CPSI Share                                                                      

​Overview and Implications

Laceration/Puncture

Surgery and other invasive procedures carry risk of complication and mortality (Magee et al., 2018). Unintentional or accidental cuts, punctures or perforations can occur in both surgical and medical procedures. A 10-year review of medico-legal cases in Canada between 2004 and 2013 found that incidents of laceration, puncture, hemorrhage and burns accounted for 66 per cent of surgical incidents reported to the Canadian Medical Protective Association and 44 per cent of surgical incidents reported to the Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA) & Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC), 2016). A review of high harm events reported to Pennsylvania Patient Safety Reporting System (PA-PSRS) as a complication following surgery or invasive procedure, revealed that more than a third of the cases (n=34/101) involved punctures, lacerations, or tears (Magee et al., 2018). A review of a sample of reports submitted to PA-PSRS involving unintended lacerations or punctures during surgery found that 78 per cent of the reports described injuries to the colon (mostly during colonoscopy), the bladder (mostly during hysterectomy), or the uterus (mostly during hysteroscopy). 


A search of publicly available patient safety alerts revealed the following examples of accidental lacerations and punctures:

  • bladder laceration during a cesarean section (Wallace, 2016)
  • splenic laceration during a colonoscopy which required an emergent splenectomy (Magee et al., 2018)
  • pulmonary artery laceration during robotic-assisted lobectomy (Dubeck, 2014)
  • injury to the heart and stomach during the placement of the chest tubes (Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority, 2007)
  • tear to a child's atrium upon post-operative removal of an atrial pacing wire (McClurken, 2006)
  • stomach perforation and subsequent needle decompression resulted in a lacerated liver, during an endoscopy procedure (Manitoba Health, Healthy Living & Seniors (MHHLS), 2017)
  • rectal perforation related to use of a glycerin enema (Japan Council for Quality Health Care, 2007)

Potential causes of accidental laceration/puncture

A search of patient safety reporting/alert systems revealed that the potential causes of accidental laceration/puncture during a medical or surgical procedure may include:

Distractions

Distraction is a threat to patient safety. Distraction is defined as having one's attention drawn or directed "to a different object or in different directions at the same time." The impact of distraction is influenced by multiple variables, including the characteristics of the primary task, the distractions themselves, and the environment. Distractions are expected in healthcare, due to the constant communication and coordination that is required. It is important to note that that distraction due to interruptions that are purposeful and share important information may improve care by appropriately refocusing attention and improving problem identification, collaboration, and communication. However, distractions due to non-purposeful interruptions or operational failures that impair performance and contribute to error are concerning and risk patient safety.

Distraction is particularly detrimental to performance of complex tasks that require high levels of cognitive processing. Such tasks are encountered often in the operating room (OR) due to the complex nature of each work system factor: the physical environment, teamwork and communication, tools and technology, tasks and workload, and organizational processes. Even minor distractions in the OR can have a cascade effect that ultimately results in major events and patient harm. Engagement of surgeons and multidisciplinary teams is necessary to address the problem of distractions in the OR (Feil, 2014).

Equipment Related

From simple lighting to technologically-advanced medical devices and surgical instruments, medical equipment is integral to the delivery of quality patient care. Although the potential for patient safety incidents related to equipment malfunction or failure exists, such incidents can be difficult to predict or prevent.

During a CMPA review of medico-legal cases arising from equipment problems, three predominant equipment-related issues were identified:

  1. equipment malfunctions and failures;
  2. wrong application, improper use, or unapproved use of equipment during a procedure or during medication delivery by physicians and other healthcare professionals; and
  3. new equipment issues, including training and supervision deficiencies.

Patient injury resulting from equipment-related misadventures was a recurrent theme. Burns, lacerations, and perforations were the most prevalent injuries.

Examples of equipment deficiencies during a procedure include:

  1. breakage of surgical instruments (e.g. needles, scalpel blades)
  2. malfunctioning equipment or equipment failure (e.g. misfiring of a stapler)
  3. defective equipment (e.g. rupture of a catheter balloon)
  4. detachment of equipment (e.g. ureteric stone basket)

(CMPA, 2012)

Central Line Related

Central lines are widely and effectively used in clinical medicine. The cannulation of major veins allows physicians to manage and monitor inpatients and outpatients. The ability to place these lines safely crosses many specialties and includes trainees. Complications such as vessel laceration, pneumothorax, neurological injury, atrial perforation, retroperitoneal hematoma, venous thrombosis, and infection are infrequent, but can have serious consequences for patients (CMPA, 2011).

Fetal Lacerations Associated with Caesarean Section

The Pennsylvania Health Authority has reported on fetal lacerations, associated with cesarean sections. Most of the lacerations were reported to be superficial, however some have required suturing and/or plastic surgery intervention. Risk factors identified with these patient safety incidents were: ruptured membranes prior to C-section, low transverse uterine incision, active labour, emergency/urgent C-section, inexperience of the surgeon (Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority, 2004a).

Lacerations from scissor-related injuries

Lacerations have resulted from scissor-related injuries obtained during the provision of care. Scissor-related injuries have ranged from superficial nicks to lacerations requiring closure with adhesive strips or sutures. An analysis of the circumstances involved in these reports indicates the following patterns. Difficulty removing adhesive tape (during IV or dressing changes) was documented in 38 per cent of the reports, while removing patient identification bands was involved in 31 per cent of the reports. Other factors cited in these reports included: bandage removal; obstructed view of the area in which scissors were used; and use of scissors when other equipment may have been safer (such as using scissors to remove excessive hair from an area) (Pennsylvania Patient Safety Advisory, 2004b).

Puncture from chest tube insertion

The insertion of a chest tube is required to remove air, blood, pus or fluid from the pleural cavity, and is used in patients with a collapsed lung, malignancies, chest trauma or after surgery. Improper insertion of a chest drain may puncture major organs such as heart, lungs, liver and spleen, causing significant harm to the patient. Common themes from a review of incidents include: supervision of junior doctors and levels of experience of clinicians inserting chest drains; failure to follow manufacturer's instructions; improper selection of the site of insertion, poor positioning; improper use of dilators; anatomical anomalies and the patient's clinical condition; inadequate pre procedural or post placement imaging; lack of knowledge of existing clinical guidelines for chest tube insertion (National Patient Safety Agency (NPSA), 2008).

Goal

Reduce the incidence of inadvertent laceration/puncture.

Table of Contents

Connexion
CPSI partager                                                     

​Survol et implications

Lacération/Perforation

Les interventions chirurgicales et les autres interventions effractives comportent des risques de complication et de mortalité (Magee et coll., 2018). Des coupures, des ponctions ou des perforations accidentelles ou involontaires peuvent survenir lors d'interventions chirurgicales ou médicales. Une revue décennale des cas médico-légaux au Canada entre 2004 et 2013 a révélé que les incidents de lacération, de perforation, d'hémorragie et de brûlure représentaient 66 % des incidents chirurgicaux déclarés à l'Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) et 44 % de ceux déclarés à la Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC) (ACPM et HIROC, 2016). Une revue des événements à haut niveau de préjudice déclarés au Pennsylvania Patient Safety Reporting System (PA-PSRS) comme une complication à la suite d'une intervention chirurgicale ou d'une intervention effractive a révélé que plus du tiers des cas (n = 34/101) présentaient des perforations, des lacérations ou des déchirures (Magee et coll., 2018). Une revue d'un échantillon de rapports soumis au PA-PSRS portant sur des lacérations ou des perforations involontaires survenues au cours d'une intervention chirurgicale a révélé que 78 % d'entre eux décrivaient des lésions au côlon (pour la plupart lors d'une coloscopie), à la vessie (principalement lors d'une hystérectomie) ou à l'utérus (surtout lors d'une hystéroscopie).


Une recherche des alertes de sécurité des patients accessibles au public a révélé les exemples suivants de lacérations et de perforations accidentelles :

  • lacération de la vessie lors d'une césarienne (Wallace, 2016);
  • lacération de la rate lors d'une coloscopie qui a nécessité une splénectomie émergente (Magee et coll., 2018);
  • lacération de l'artère pulmonaire lors d'une lobectomie assistée par robot (Dubeck, 2014);
  • blessure au cœur et à l'estomac lors de la pose d'un drain thoracique (Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority, 2007);
  • déchirure de l'oreillette d'un enfant lors du retrait postopératoire d'une sonde de stimulation auriculaire (McClurken, 2006);
  • la perforation de l'estomac suivie de la décompression à l'aiguille ont entraîné une lacération du foie lors d'une endoscopie (Manitoba Health, Healthy Living and Seniors ou MHHLS, 2017);
  • perforation rectale liée à l'utilisation d'un lavement à la glycérine (Japan Council for Quality Health Care, 2007).

Causes potentielles de lacération ou de perforation accidentelle

Une recherche dans les systèmes d'alerte et les rapports sur la sécurité des patients a révélé plusieurs causes possibles de lacération ou de perforation accidentelle au cours d'une intervention médicale ou chirurgicale. Les voici :

Distractions

Les distractions sont une menace à la sécurité des patients. La distraction est définie comme le fait de détourner son attention « vers un objet différent ou dans de multiples directions en même temps ». Les répercussions d'une distraction dépendent notamment des caractéristiques de la tâche principale, de la nature de la distraction et de l'environnement. Les distractions sont inévitables dans le système des soins de santé en raison de la nécessité d'une communication et d'une coordination constantes. Les distractions dues à des interruptions intentionnelles et au partage d'importantes informations peuvent améliorer les soins en recentrant l'attention de façon appropriée sur la détection des problèmes, la collaboration et la communication. Cependant, les distractions dues à des interruptions non intentionnelles ou à des défaillances opérationnelles qui nuisent à l'exécution de la tâche et contribuent à l'apparition d'erreurs sont préoccupantes, car elles mettent en danger la sécurité des patients.

Les distractions sont particulièrement préjudiciables au bon accomplissement des tâches complexes requérant un traitement cognitif considérable. Ces tâches sont courantes en salle d'opération en raison de la nature complexe de chaque facteur du système de travail : l'environnement physique; le travail d'équipe et la communication; les outils et la technologie; les tâches et la charge de travail; enfin, les processus organisationnels. Même des distractions mineures survenant dans la salle d'opération peuvent déclencher une cascade d'événements préjudiciables aux patients. La mobilisation des chirurgiens et des équipes multidisciplinaires s'impose si l'on veut résoudre le problème des distractions en salle d'opération (Feil, 2014).

Équipement

L'équipement médical fait partie intégrante de la prestation de soins de qualité aux patients. L'équipement comprend autant l'éclairage que les dispositifs médicaux et les instruments chirurgicaux à la fine pointe de la technologie. Un dysfonctionnement ou la défaillance de l'équipement médical, certes difficile à prévoir ou à prévenir, accroît le risque d'incidents.

L'ACPM a révisé les cas médico-légaux causés par des problèmes d'équipement et a identifié trois problèmes prédominants :

  1. les dysfonctionnements et les défaillances de l'équipement;
  2. un usage fautif, inapproprié ou non approuvé de l'équipement pendant une intervention ou pendant l'administration de médicaments par un médecin ou tout autre professionnel de la santé;
  3. les lacunes dans la formation et la supervision du personnel appelé à utiliser de nouveaux équipements.

Les préjudices aux patients causés par l'équipement étaient une thématique récurrente. Les brûlures, les lacérations et les perforations constituaient les lésions les plus fréquentes.

Voici quelques exemples de défaillance de l'équipement pendant une intervention :

  1. un bris d'instruments chirurgicaux (p. ex., aiguilles, lames de bistouri);
  2. un équipement dysfonctionnel ou un bris d'équipement (p. ex., une agrafeuse qui connaît des ratés);
  3. un équipement défectueux (p. ex., rupture d'un cathéter à ballonnet);
  4. le détachement d'une pièce de l'équipement (p. ex., sonde à panier pour les lithiases urétérales);

(ACPM, 2012)

Cathéter veineux central

Les cathéters centraux sont largement et efficacement utilisés en médecine clinique. En procédant à la canulation de veines d'importance, les médecins peuvent mieux prendre en charge le traitement et surveiller l'état des patients, hospitalisés ou ambulatoires. La pose de ces cathéters en toute sécurité est une habileté partagée par de nombreuses spécialités médicales qui doit être maîtrisée par les stagiaires. Des complications telles qu'une lacération des vaisseaux sanguins, un pneumothorax, une lésion neurologique, une perforation auriculaire, un hématome rétropéritonéal, une thrombose veineuse et une infection sont rares. Toutefois, elles peuvent avoir de graves répercussions sur les patients (CMPA, 2011).

Lacérations fœtales à la suite d'une césarienne

The Pennsylvania Health Authority a fait état de lacérations fœtales associées à des césariennes. La plupart des lacérations étaient superficielles, mais certaines ont nécessité des sutures et une intervention de chirurgie plastique, ou les deux. Voici énumérés les facteurs de risque pour ces incidents de sécurité des patients : une rupture des membranes avant la césarienne, une incision utérine transversale basse, un travail actif, une césarienne urgente, l'inexpérience du chirurgien (Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority, 2004a).

Lacérations dues à des blessures causées par des ciseaux

Des lacérations sont survenues lors de la prestation de soins liées à l'utilisation de ciseaux. Ces lésions comprenaient des entailles superficielles, mais aussi des lacérations nécessitant des bandes de rapprochement adhésives ou des points de suture. Une analyse des circonstances entourant l'apparition de ces blessures a permis de relever certaines situations. La difficulté à retirer les bandes adhésives (lors d'un changement de perfusion ou de pansement) a été documentée dans 38 % des cas rapportés, tandis que le retrait des anneaux d'identification des patients était en cause dans 31 % des cas. D'autres situations ont été rapportées : le retrait d'un pansement; le manque de visibilité de la région où utiliser les ciseaux; l'emploi de ciseaux alors qu'un autre instrument plus sécuritaire aurait pu être utilisé (p. ex., l'utilisation non appropriée de ciseaux pour couper l'excédent de poils d'une région du corps) (Pennsylvania Patient Safety Advisory, 2004b).

Perforation lors de l'insertion d'un drain thoracique

L'insertion d'un drain thoracique s'avère nécessaire pour retirer l'air, le sang, le pus ou des fluides de la cavité pleurale. C'est une indication notamment pour les patients ayant un poumon affaissé, des tumeurs malignes, un traumatisme thoracique ou qui viennent de subir une intervention chirurgicale. L'insertion incorrecte d'un drain thoracique peut perforer des organes importants, comme le cœur, les poumons, le foie et la rate, et causer des préjudices au patient. Voici les thèmes communs qui ressortent d'une revue d'incidents : supervision des médecins en formation et degré d'expérience des cliniciens responsables de l'insertion des drains thoraciques; non-respect des instructions du fabricant; choix inapproprié du site d'insertion du drain, mauvais positionnement; utilisation incorrecte des dilatateurs; anomalies anatomiques et état clinique du patient; imagerie précédant l'intervention ou suivant l'insertion du drain inadéquate; méconnaissance des directives cliniques existantes relatives à l'insertion d'un drain thoracique (National Patient Safety Agency ou NPSA, 2008).

Objectif

Réduire l'incidence des lacérations et des perforations accidentelles.

Table des matières