Sign In
CPSI Share                                                                
Workshop Leader; Provider

​TeamSTEPPS Canada®, developed by the United States Department of Defense and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, improves safety and transforms culture in healthcare through better teamwork, communication, leadership, situational awareness, and mutual support. TeamSTEPPS Canada™ is an evidence-based teamwork system that optimizes patient care by improving communication and teamwork skills among healthcare professionals, including point-of-care staff. It includes a comprehensive set of ready-to-use materials and a training curriculum to integrate teamwork principles into a variety of settings.

Upcoming Sessions:

The next course is scheduled for March 19 & 20, 2019 in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

Cost: $550 Canadian/person + GST


The Health Quality Council of Alberta (HQCA) is proud to partner with the Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI) to offer a foundational course for developing high-functioning teams. Organizations often try team-building exercises, which are energizing and valuable, but are quite different than investing in team training. TeamSTEPPS Canada offers participants the knowledge, skills, and tools they need to build and promote sustainable teamwork strategies.

Patient safety experts agree that effective teamwork skills are essential for safe, quality healthcare that prevents and mitigates harm. CPSI will help Canadian teams implement TeamSTEPPS Canada modules and content to address patient safety challenges. You will connect with a growing Canadian TeamSTEPPS Canada community, and learn from international TeamSTEPPS Canada colleagues.

The train-the-trainer format allows participants to learn about the materials and how to adopt teamwork strategies within their own teams to build capacity and momentum. Participants will become part of a community of TeamSTEPPS Canada practitioners within the province to ensure ongoing support and resource sharing.

This course is of value to participants from ANY organization with a focus on healthcare. Please send two or more participants to the course to ensure that outcomes can be sustainability implemented within your teams.

TeamSTEPPS Canada™ Training Format

The TeamSTEPPS Master Trainer Training is a robust training session designed for healthcare professionals, including point-of-care staff, educators and leaders who have the breadth and influence in their work setting to implement the TeamSTEPPS tools.

The course will help participants develop the ability to:

  • Increase knowledge relating to teamwork and communication issues leading to care breakdowns and potential patient harm
  • Understand, select and apply appropriate TeamSTEPPS tools to address identified issues
  • Create a project plan to address identified issues in teamwork and communication leading to successful implementation and sustainability
  • Learn how to develop a TeamSTEPPS support team and roll out strategy 
  • Develop a measurement plan to monitor success of implementation

Upon completion of this training session the participant will be able to:

  • Identify the teamwork and communication issues within their work environment
  • Apply the knowledge gained in this training session to apply to the issues identified related teamwork and communication
  • Utilize the TeamSTEPPS tools and resources to support TeamSTEPPS unit/organization roll-out
  • Lead and inspire others in the application of TeamSTEPPS tools and resources
  • Develop a community of TeamSTEPPS Master Trainers

TeamSTEPPS® (Team Strategies & Tools to Enhance Performance and Patient Safety) is a teamwork system developed jointly by the Department of Defense (DoD) and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to improve institutional collaboration and communication relating to patient safety. TeamSTEPPS Canada™ has been adopted and adapted by the Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI) and made available to the Canadian healthcare field.

Connexion
CPSI partager                                                 
Atelier Fournisseur; Leader

Conçu par le ministère de la Défense des États-Unis et l’Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, TeamSTEPPS Canada® améliore la sécurité et transforme la culture des soins de santé en tirant le meilleur parti possible du travail d'équipe, de la communication, du leadership, de la connaissance de la situation et du soutien mutuel. TeamSTEPPS Canada™ est un système éprouvé de travail d'équipe qui optimise les soins aux patients en améliorant les compétences en communication et les capacités à travailler en équipe des professionnels de la santé, notamment le personnel aux points d’intervention. Il comprend une gamme complète d'outils clés en mains et un programme d'enseignement permettant d'intégrer les principes du travail d'équipe à diverses situations.

Les séances de formation à venir :

Le prochain cours sera offert les 19 et 20 mars 2019 à Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

Coût : 550 $ CAN /personne + TPS


Le Health Quality Council of Alberta est ravi de s’associer à l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients pour offrir une formation essentielle visant à constituer des équipes très performantes.  
Les établissements tentent des exercices de dynamisation d’équipe, et même si ces exercices sont énergisants et utiles, ils différèrent considérablement d’un investissement à long terme en formation des équipes. TeamSTEPPS Canada offre aux participants les connaissances, compétences et outils dont ils ont besoin pour bâtir et promouvoir des stratégies de travail d’équipe durables.

Les experts en sécurité des patients s’entendent sur le fait que des compétences en matière d’efficacité du travail d’équipe sont essentielles pour assurer des soins de santé sécuritaires et de qualité qui peuvent prévenir et réduire les préjudices. L'ICSP aidera des équipes canadiennes à appliquer les modules et les contenus de TeamSTEPPS Canada pour aborder leurs défis en matière de sécurité des patients. Vous pourrez collaborer avec des membres de la communauté canadienne grandissante de TeamSTEPPS Canada et aurez l’occasion de tirer des enseignements de confrères de TeamSTEPPS Canada situés à l’étranger.

Le format de « formation du formateur » permet aux participants d’apprendre les fondements des éléments didactiques et d'adapter des stratégies de travail d'équipe à leurs propres équipes en vue de renforcer leurs capacités et leur dynamisme. Les participants auront l’occasion de se joindre à un réseau de praticiens de TeamSTEPPS Canada à l’échelle de la province, qui leur fournira un soutien continu et un partage des ressources.

Ce cours est de grande valeur pour les participants de TOUTE organisation axée sur les soins de santé. Afin d'assurer que les résultats sont mis en œuvre de façon durable au sein de vos équipes, nous recommandons qu’au moins deux participants assistent au cours.

LE MODE DE FORMATION DE TeamSTEPPS Canada™

La formation du maître TeamSTEPPS est un solide programme de formation conçu pour les professionnels de la santé, notamment le personnel aux points d’intervention, les éducateurs et les leaders qui ont l’ampleur et l’influence nécessaires dans leur milieu de travail pour mettre en œuvre les outils TeamSTEPPS.

Ce cours aide les participants à développer leur capacité à :

  • Accroître leurs connaissances sur les problèmes liés au travail d’équipe et à la communication menant à des défaillances au niveau des soins et à des préjudices potentiels pour les patients
  • Comprendre, sélectionner et appliquer les outils TeamSTEPPS appropriés pour résoudre les problèmes identifiés
  • Créer un plan de projet pour aborder les problèmes identifiés dans le travail d’équipe et la communication afin de réaliser une mise en œuvre réussie et durable
  • Apprendre comment développer une équipe de soutien TeamSTEPPS et déployer une stratégie
  • Élaborer un plan de mesure pour évaluer le succès de la mise en œuvre

À la fin de cette séance de formation, le participant pourra :

  • Identifier les problèmes au niveau du travail d'équipe et de la communication dans son environnement de travail

  • Appliquer les connaissances acquises au cours de cette séance de formation afin de les appliquer aux enjeux identifiés liés au travail d'équipe et à la communication

  • Utiliser les outils et ressources TeamSTEPPS pour soutenir le déploiement de l'unité/organisation TeamSTEPPS

  • Diriger et inspirer les autres dans l'application des outils et des ressources TeamSTEPPS

  • Développer une communauté de maîtres-formateurs TeamSTEPPS

Conçu par le ministère de la Défense des États-Unis en collaboration avec l'Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, TeamSTEPPS® (Team Strategies & Tools to Enhance Performance and Patient Safety/ (Outils et des stratégies d'équipe pour accroître le rendement et la sécurité des patients)) a été créé pour améliorer la collaboration institutionnelle et la communication liées à la sécurité des patients. TeamSTEPPS Canada™ a été adopté et adapté par l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP) et mis à la disposition du secteur de la santé canadien.