Sign In
CPSI Share                                                                  
10/26/2020 4:00 AM 10/26/2020 5:00 AM Webinar Provider; Leader

Virtual Care is new to most of usWebinar: Monday October 26 at 10am MDT

 Join us on Monday, October 26, at 10am MDT/12pm EDT for a CPSI webinar discussion of the ideal state of virtual care from a system-level perspective. This 60-minute, moderated discussion will delve into the current state of the virtual care experience and explore the future state of virtual care in Canada.

Speakers will explore the challenges that limit the quick, nation-wide expansion of virtual care, as well as several successful implementation examples. We end the call with a discussion of what safe virtual care could be, and then take questions from the audience.

Participants in the session will hear about innovations in virtual care and areas of excellence that contribute to the enhancement of patient safety. Moderated by CPSI Communications Officer, Christopher Thrall, this webinar brings together healthcare providers and leaders from across the spectrum of care to answer the question, "What does an ideal virtual care model look like?"


Speakers 

Dr. Ann Collins 
President, Canadian Medical Association 

Dr Ann CollinsFor three decades, Dr. Ann Collins ran a full-time family practice in Fredericton, New Brunswick, which she started after serving three years with the Canadian Armed Forces in Kingston, Ontario. In addition to providing office and hospital care, she also provided nursing home care for over 20 years and was a family medicine residency teacher at Dalhousie University from 19982019. Dr. Collins graduated from Dalhousie University in 1985. 

Dr. Collins has served as president of the New Brunswick Medical Society (NBMS) and spent five years as chair of the NBMS Board of Directors. She has led two NBMS governance reviews and served on the 2008 CMA Governance Review Committee Task Force. Prior to taking on the role of CMA president, she spent seven years serving as the New Brunswick representative on the CMA Board of Directors. 

Her community involvement has been highlighted by a six-year term (two years as chair) on the board of governors of St. Thomas University, a leading liberal arts school in Fredericton. 

Teri Price
Executive Director of Greg's Wings Projects

Teri PriceTeri Price is the Executive Director of Greg's Wings Projects, a not-for-profit organization created to honour Greg Price. The first project developed by Greg's Wings is the Falling Through the Cracks: Greg's Story film.  Greg was Teri's brother and the impact of Greg's journey through the healthcare system has led to Teri's commitment, along with her family, to drive improvements in care.

Teri is a member of several strategic healthcare groups, including, the Alberta Virtual Care Working Group, Patients for Patient Safety Canada, and is a founding member of IMAGINE Citizens Collaborating for Health.

Teri has a Master's degree in Disaster and Emergency Management and worked on Disaster Management Programs in Quito, Ecuador, Toronto and throughout Alberta.

The Price family received the Medal of Honor from the Alberta Medical Association and the Patient Champion award from the Canadian Patient Safety Institute for their work since Greg's death.

Dr. Sacha Bhatia
FM Hill Chair in Health Systems Solutions

Dr Sacha BhatiaDr. R. Sacha Bhatia is the FM Hill Chair in Health Systems Solutions and the Chief Medical Innovation Officer of Women's College Hospital (WCH). He is also the Division Head of Cardiology at WCH, as well as a staff cardiologist at University Health Network (UHN). A scientist at the Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences (IC/ES) and an Associate Professor at the University of Toronto, he has been published in international peer reviewed journals like the New England Journal of Medicine and JAMA Internal Medicine. In 2013, he founded the Institute for Health System Solutions and Virtual Care (WIHV) and served as its Director until 2019. He has been a commentator on Bloomberg News, CTV News and the CBC, and has been asked to give over 100 presentations internationally, nationally and regionally over the past 6 years.

He is a recipient of the American College of Cardiology's Young Investigator Award, the American Society of Echocardiography's Arthur E. Weyman Young Investigator Award, and most recently the Goldie Award for Quality and Innovation and the Louise Lemieux Charles Emerging Leader award at the University of Toronto. He sits on the boards of the Heart and Stroke Foundation and DREAM Industrial REIT, a publicly traded company listed on the TSX.

Previously, he worked as a clinical and research fellow in cardiology at Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard University. Dr. Bhatia received his medical degree and MBA at McGill University and his internal medicine and cardiology training in Toronto.

Moderator

Christopher ThrallAs the Communications Officer for CPSI, Christopher Thrall uses his skills as a storyteller to support a worthy cause. These stories are important: he wants to tell them in the most effective ways possible. Following a B.A. in History from the University of Alberta, Christopher enrolled in Grant MacEwan’s Public Relations program. He has served in communications roles for the past 15 years, supporting organizations ranging from the Citadel Theatre and Alberta Milk to the River Valley Alliance and the University of Alberta.

Connexion
CPSI partager                                                   
10/26/2020 4:00 AM 10/26/2020 5:00 AM Webinaires Fournisseur; Leader

Les soins de santé virtuels sont un nouveau concept pour la plupart d'entre nousWebinaire : le lundi 26 octobre à 10 heures (HNR)

Joignez-vous à nous le lundi 26 octobre à 10 heures (HNR)/midi (HE) pour un webinaire de l'ICSP où nous discuterons des conditions idéales pour prodiguer des soins virtuels dans le cadre de notre système de santé. Cette discussion dirigée de 60 minutes examinera l'état actuel de la prestation de soins virtuels et explorera leur évolution future au Canada.

Les conférenciers y étudieront les défis qui limitent l'expansion rapide des soins virtuels à l'échelle nationale, ainsi que plusieurs exemples de réalisations réussies. Nous terminerons la rencontre par une discussion sur ce que pourraient représenter des soins virtuels sécuritaires, puis nous répondrons aux questions du public.

Les participants se familiariseront avec les innovations en matière de soins virtuels et les domaines d'excellence qui contribuent à l'amélioration de la sécurité des patients. Animé par Christopher Thrall, agent de communication de l'ICSP, ce webinaire réunira des prestataires de soins et des leaders en santé de tout le continuum des soins pour répondre à la question suivante : « Quel est le modèle idéal de soins virtuels? ». *Le webinaire est en anglais seulement.

(en anglais seulement)

Les présentateurs/présentatrices

Dre Ann Collins
Présidente, Association médicale canadienne

Dre Ann CollinsPendant trois décennies, la Dre Ann Collins a dirigé un cabinet de médecine familiale à Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, qu'elle avait fondé après avoir servi pendant trois ans dans les Forces armées canadiennes à Kingston, en Ontario. En plus de travailler en cabinet et à l'hôpital, elle a œuvré dans un foyer de soins de longue durée pendant plus de 20 ans et enseigné au programme de résidence en médecine familiale de l'Université Dalhousie de 1998 à 2019, établissement où elle obtenait son diplôme en 1985.

La Dre Collins a été présidente de la Société médicale du Nouveau-Brunswick (SMNB), et en a présidé le conseil d'administration pendant cinq ans. Elle a dirigé deux examens de la gouvernance de la SMNB et a fait partie du groupe de travail du comité d'examen de la gouvernance de l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) en 2008. Avant de devenir présidente de l'AMC, elle a représenté le Nouveau-Brunswick au conseil d'administration de l'AMC pendant sept ans.

Engagée envers sa communauté, madame Collins a siégé pendant six ans (deux ans en tant que présidente) au sein du conseil des gouverneurs de l'Université St. Thomas, une école d'arts libéraux de premier plan à Fredericton.

Teri Price
la directrice générale de Greg’s Wings Project

Teri PriceTeri Price est la directrice générale de Greg’s Wings Projects, un organisme à but non lucratif créé en hommage à son frère Greg Price. Le premier projet de Greg’s Wings a été le court-métrage Falling Through the Cracks: Greg’s StoryC’est le périple de Greg dans le réseau de la santé qui a conduit Teri, ainsi que sa famille, à s’engager pour améliorer le système de la santé. 

Teri est membre de plusieurs groupes stratégiques dans le domaine des soins de santé, dont lgroupe de travail sur les soins virtuels de l'Alberta (Alberta Virtual Care Working Group) et Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada. Elle est également membre fondatrice d'IMAGINECitizens Collaborating for Health, un groupe visant à mobiliser la participation des Albertains dans la planification du système de santé. 

Teri est titulaire d'une maîtrise en gestion des catastrophes et des urgences et a travaillé sur des programmes de gestion des catastrophes à Quito, en Équateur, à Toronto et dans toute l'Alberta. 

La famille Price a reçu la Médaille d'honneur de l'Association médicale de l'Alberta et le Prix des champions de la sécurité des patients de l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients pour le travail accompli depuis la mort de Greg. 

Dr Sacha Bhatia
titulaire de la chaire F.M Hill in Health Systems Solutions

Dr Sacha BhatiaDr R. Sacha Bhatia est titulaire de la chaire F.M Hill in Health Systems Solutions et directeur de l'innovation médicale au Women's College Hospital (WCH). Il est également chef du département de cardiologie du WCH et cardiologue au sein de l'University Health Network (UHN). Scientifique à l'Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences (IC/ES) et professeur associé à l'Université de Toronto, il a été publié dans des revues internationales à comité de lecture comme le New England Journal of Medicine et le JAMA Internal Medicine. En 2013, il a fondé l'Institute for Health System Solutions and Virtual Care (WIHV), qu'il a dirigé jusqu'en 2019. Il a été commentateur pour Bloomberg News, CTV News et la CBC, et a prononcé plus de cent exposés à l'échelle internationale, nationale et régionale au cours des six dernières années.

Il a reçu le prix du jeune chercheur de l'American College of Cardiology, le prix Arthur E. Weyman du jeune chercheur de l'American Society of Echocardiography et, plus récemment, le prix Goldie pour la qualité et l'innovation et le prix Louise Lemieux-Charles du leader émergent de l'Université de Toronto. Il siège au conseil d'administration de la Fondation Cœur et AVC et de DREAM Industrial REIT, une société cotée en bourse.

Auparavant, il a travaillé comme clinicien et chercheur en cardiologie au Massachusetts General Hospital et à l'Université de Harvard. Le Dr Bhatia a reçu son diplôme de médecine et son MBA à l'Université McGill et complété sa formation en médecine interne et en cardiologie à Toronto.

Le modérateur de webinaire

Christopher ThrallEn tant qu'agent de communication pour l'ICSP, Christopher Thrall utilise ses compétences de conteur pour soutenir une cause qui en vaut la peine. Ces histoires sont importantes: il veut les raconter de la manière la plus efficace possible. Après un baccalauréat en histoire de l'Université de l'Alberta, Christopher s'est inscrit au programme de relations publiques de Grant MacEwan. Il a occupé des postes de communication au cours des 15 dernières années, soutenant des organisations allant du Citadel Theatre et de l'Alberta Milk à la River Valley Alliance et à l'Université de l'Alberta. 

(en anglais seulement)