Sign In
CPSI Share                                                                  
10/30/2020 4:00 AM 10/30/2020 5:00 AM Webinar Leader; Provider; Public

Every patient deserves safe, quality care. And yet, patient safety incidents are the third leading cause of death in Canada. How do we prevent avoidable harm to patients when our healthcare system is vast, complex, and under tremendous pressures? We need clear, collective action.  

Join us Friday, October 30 at 10am MT/ 12pm ET, where panelists will share how we can all work together to accelerate quality and patient safety across Canadian health systems by focusing on five goals for safe, quality care. Patients and families, health teams, policymakers, board members and health leaders will not want to miss this engaging panel featuring the Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI), Health Standards Organization (HSO) and other health leaders.

Attendees will leave the session motivated with new ideas from stakeholders across Canada who are already using the newly published Canadian Quality and Patient Safety (CQPS) Framework, and custom Action Guides. 

Let's join forces to create better health for all. Sign up here:


Speakers

Jennifer Zelmer
President and CEO

Jennifer ZelmerDr. Jennifer Zelmer is the inaugural President and CEO of the new organization formed in 2020 through the amalgamation of the Canadian Foundation for Healthcare Improvement and Canadian Patient Safety Institute to achieve safer, higher quality and more coordinated patient-partnered healthcare. Jennifer's long-standing commitment to improving healthcare quality and safety, as well as expertise in spreading and scaling innovations that deliver better outcomes, will help to create this new organization with an expanded capacity to improve healthcare for everyone in Canada. Jennifer joined CFHI as its President and CEO in September 2018. She has been a C.D. Howe Research Fellow for several years and is also an adjunct faculty member at the University of Victoria, as well as a member of several health-related advisory committees and boards.

Previously, as President of Azimuth Health Group, Dr. Zelmer was a strategic advisor to leaders who sought to advance health and healthcare at local, national, and international levels. Before that, she held senior leadership positions with Canada Health Infoway, the International Health Terminology Standards Development Organization, and the Canadian Institute for Health Information.

Jennifer served on the first (2004) Safer Healthcare Now! National Steering Committee convened by CPSI when she was at CIHI. She also served on CPSI's former Health System Innovation Advisory Committee, and more recently, Jennifer served on the National Patient Safety Consortium Steering Committee during her time at Infoway.

Dr. Zelmer received her PhD and MA in economics from McMaster University and her B.Sc. in health information science from the University of Victoria.

Leslee Thompson, CEO
Health Standards Organization

Leslee J Thompson

Leslee Thompson is an accomplished health care leader, a seasoned business executive, experienced corporate director, and a passionate champion of people centered care. Starting out as an ICU nurse, Leslee has a unique blend of experience that crosses multiple geographies, industries, and sectors, and has led numerous organizations through periods of significant change. Past executive roles include CEO Kingston General Hospital, VP Medtronic Canada, VP Cancer Care Ontario and Executive VP & COO in each of Sunnybrook Health Science Center, UHN Toronto Western Hospital and Royal Alex Hospital in Capital Health, Alberta. On the academic front she has BScN from Queen's, MScN from U of Toronto and MBA from Western University.

Leslee's extensive governance experience includes Boards of Shoppers Drug Mart, Amica, International Society for Quality in Health Care (ISQUA), Council for Academic Hospitals of Ontario, Ontario Hospital Association, Canadian Foundation for Healthcare Improvement, and Daughters for Life Foundation. She has also been appointed by Provincial and Federal governments to a various high-profile panels and advisory councils and was named one of Canada's Top 100 Most Powerful Women.  

In her capacity as CEO AC and HSO, Leslee is a global leader responsible for programs and services that are delivered in over 15,000 locations across 30 countries in the health, social service and education sectors. She is also Executive in Residence at Rotman School of Management and loves to sail.

Ms. Linda Hughes (Patient Partner)
Past Co-chair, Patients for Patient Safety Canada 

Linda HughesLinda has been Co-chair of Patients for Patient Safety Canada (PFPSC) since 2017 (her term ends September 2020) and a PFPSC member since 2014. Her personal experience as a family caregiver in hospital, home and long-term care settings coupled with her professional experience as a nurse, educator and leader fuels Linda's passion for patient engagement in improving patient safety. As a PFPSC Co-chair Linda led the development and implementation of PFPSC's strategic priorities and contributed to CPSI strategic and operational planning. Over the past year, Linda was part of the team who planned strategy, execution and follow-up for the PFPSC hosted Patient Roundtable meetings with Ministries of Health in 7 Provinces. The focus of the agenda of these meetings are the policy requests that matter most to PFPSC: reporting and learning of incidents, improving the processes to address the needs of patients and families who have been harmed, and engaging patients as full partners in patient safety improvement efforts.  Linda co-chaired the development of the Patient Alliance for Patient Safety, a coalition of over 20 patient groups and organizations, and led them to identify a collective goal of public engagement for safe care journeys. She was also a patient partner with the National Patient Safety Consortium Steering Committee, the Canadian Quality and Patient Safety Advisory Committee, and many more Canadian level initiatives. Linda has extensive leadership and governance experience including: administrative experience as the Nursing Director of the Winnipeg Health Authority Mental Health program which included strategic planning for all the hospital mental health programs in Winnipeg; Board member of the Canadian Nurses Association (CNA) where she participated in developing a new strategic plan for the CNA; Board member of the Simkin Centre Nursing Home where she participated in developing a strategic plan for the Centre and their quality improvement program; Board member and chair of the Board's Patient Care Committee of the St. Boniface Hospital in Winnipeg, a large, tertiary care hospital.

Michelina Mancuso
Executive Director of Performance Measurement for the New Brunswick Health Council (retired)

Michelina MancusoMs. Michelina Mancuso is newly retired Executive Director of Performance Measurement for the New Brunswick Health Council.  She has worked with health promotion, patient safety and population health outcomes for the past 34 years. She was a faculty member of Dalhousie University Department of Family Medicine, is a Research Associate for University of New Brunswick (NB) and Centre de Formation Médicale du Nouveau-Brunswick. She sits on Expert Advisory Committees for CIHI, OECD and Health Canada. She has held positions as Manager of Research Services and Regional Director of Addiction Services.  She holds a degree in Physiotherapy from McGill University and 2 Masters Degrees, one in Science and the other in Business Administration. She had led the development of the Population Health Snapshot for NB, the Health System Report Card and the Framework for Youth Mental Health and Resilience. She has also co-authored and assisted in numerous research studies, reports and quality improvement projects and poster presentations as well as collaborated on a book by Richard Saillant called  Over the Cliff? Acting Now to Avoid New Brunswick's Bankruptcy.

Connexion
CPSI partager                                                   
10/30/2020 4:00 AM 10/30/2020 5:00 AM Webinaires Fournisseur; Leader; Public

​Chaque patient mérite des soins de qualité sécuritaires. Et pourtant, les incidents liés à la sécurité des patients constituent la troisième cause de décès en importance au Canada. Comment protéger les patients de préjudices évitables lorsque notre système de santé est vaste, complexe et soumis à d'énormes pressions? Une action collective claire s'impose.  

Joignez-vous à nous le vendredi 30 octobre à 10 heures (HNR)/midi (HE), alors que des panélistes nous expliqueront comment nous pouvons travailler tous ensemble pour renforcer la qualité des soins et la sécurité des patients dans les systèmes de santé canadiens en se concentrant sur cinq objectifs visant à assurer des soins de qualité sécuritaires. Les patients et les familles, les équipes de santé, les décideurs politiques, les membres des conseils d'administration et les leaders en santé ne voudront pas manquer cette réunion exceptionnelle d'experts, qui regroupera l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP), l'Organisation de normes de santé (HSO) et d'autres leaders en santé.

Les participants en sortiront motivés par les nouvelles idées des intervenants de tout le Canada qui utilisent déjà le nouveau Cadre canadien sur la qualité des soins et la sécurité des patients (Cadre CQPS) et des guides d'action personnalisés.

Unissons nos forces dans le but d'assurer une meilleure santé pour tous. Inscrivez-vous ici :

(en anglais seulement)


Présentatrices

Jennifer Zelmer
Présidente-directrice générale

Jennifer ZelmerJennifer Zelmer est la première présidente-directrice générale du nouvel organisme formé en 2020 suite à la fusion de la Fondation canadienne pour l'amélioration des services de santé et de l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients et dont l'objectif est d'améliorer la sécurité, la qualité et la coordination des soins de santé en partenariat avec les patients. Son engagement de longue date envers l'amélioration de la qualité et de la sécurité des soins, ainsi que son expertise en diffusion et en mise à l'échelle d'innovations visant à produire de meilleurs résultats contribueront à façonner cet organisme doté d'une plus grande capacité à améliorer les services de santé pour toutes et tous au Canada. Mme Zelmer a rejoint la FCASS en septembre 2018 au poste de présidente-directrice générale. Chercheuse à l'Institut C. D. Howe depuis plusieurs années, elle est aussi professeure auxiliaire à l'Université de Victoria et membre de plusieurs conseils et comités consultatifs en santé.

Lorsqu'elle était présidente d'Azimuth Health Group, Mme Zelmer apportait ses conseils stratégiques aux dirigeants souhaitant faire progresser la santé et les services de santé à l'échelle locale, nationale et internationale. Avant cela, elle a assumé des rôles de direction pour Inforoute Santé du Canada, l'International Health Terminology Standards Development Organization et l'Institut canadien d'information sur la santé.

Mme Zelmer a siégé au tout premier comité de direction national de la campagne Des soins de santé plus sécuritaires maintenant!, formé par l'ICSP en 2004, alors qu'elle était à l'ICIS. Elle a également siégé à l'ancien comité consultatif sur l'innovation dans les systèmes de santé de l'ICSP et, plus récemment, au comité de direction du Consortium national pour la sécurité des patients, dans le cadre de son passage à Inforoute Santé du Canada.

Mme Zelmer détient un doctorat et une maîtrise en économique de l'Université McMaster ainsi qu'un baccalauréat en science de l'information sur la santé de l'Université de Victoria.

Leslee Thompson, PDG
Organisation de normes en santé (HSO)

Leslee J Thompson

Leslee Thompson est une leader accomplie dans le domaine des soins de santé, une dirigeante et gestionnaire d'entreprise chevronnée, ainsi qu'une ardente défenseure des soins centrés sur les personnes. Ayant débuté sa carrière en tant qu'infirmière aux soins intensifs, Leslee possède une expérience unique qui couvre de multiples régions, industries et secteurs. Elle a également dirigé de nombreux organismes à travers des périodes de changements importants. Auparavant, elle a occupé les postes de PDG de l'Hôpital général de Kingston, de vice-présidente de Medtronic Canada, de vice-présidente d'Action Cancer Ontario et de première vice-présidente et directrice du Sunnybrook Health Science Center, de l'Hôpital Toronto Western du Réseau universitaire de santé et du Royal Alex Hospital de Capital Health, en Alberta. Leslee est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en sciences infirmières de l'Université Queen's, d'une maîtrise en sciences infirmières de l'Université de Toronto et d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université Western.

La vaste expérience de Leslee en matière de gouvernance lui a notamment permis de siéger aux conseils d'administration de Shoppers Drug Mart (Pharmaprix), d'Amica, de l'International Society for Quality in Health Care (ISQUA), du Conseil des hôpitaux universitaires de l'Ontario, de l'Association des hôpitaux de l'Ontario, de la Fondation canadienne pour l'amélioration des services de santé et de la Daughters for Life Foundation. Elle a également été nommée par des gouvernements provinciaux et fédéraux à divers comités et conseils consultatifs de haut niveau et a été désignée comme l'une des 100 femmes les plus influentes au Canada.

En tant que PDG d'AC et de HSO, Leslee est une leader mondiale responsable de programmes et de services qui sont offerts dans plus de 15 000 sites à travers 30 pays dans les secteurs de la santé, des services sociaux et de l'éducation. Elle est également cadre en résidence à l'École de gestion Rotman et est une passionnée de la voile.

Mme Linda Hughes (patiente partenaire) 
Coprésidente sortante, Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada 

Linda HughesLinda Hughes est coprésidente de Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada (PPSPC) depuis 2017 (son mandat prend fin en septembre 2020), et en est membre depuis 2014. Son expérience personnelle comme proche aidante à l'hôpital, à domicile et en établissement de soins de longue durée, de même que son expérience professionnelle comme infirmière, formatrice et leader, alimentent sa croyance en les bienfaits de la participation du patient à l'amélioration de sa sécurité. Dans son rôle de coprésidente de PPSPC, Mme Hughes a orchestré la détermination et l'application des priorités stratégiques de l'organisation et contribué à la planification stratégique et opérationnelle de l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients. Au cours de la dernière année, elle a fait partie de l'équipe responsable de la planification stratégique, de la tenue et du suivi des tables rondes de patients avec les ministres de la santé de sept provinces, organisées par PPSPC. Le but de ces rencontres était de discuter des demandes liées aux politiques qui sont les plus importantes pour PPSPC, soit celles liées à la déclaration et au dégagement de leçons des incidents, à l'amélioration des processus pour répondre aux besoins des patients et des familles qui ont été lésés, et à la mobilisation des patients en tant que partenaires à part entière des démarches d'amélioration de la sécurité des patients. Mme Hughes a participé à la création de l'Alliance de patients pour la sécurité des patients, un regroupement de plus de 20 groupes et organisations de patients, et a guidé ceux-ci dans le choix d'un objectif commun de participation du public pour des soins sécuritaires. Elle a aussi été patiente partenaire pour le comité de direction du Consortium national pour la sécurité des patients, le Comité consultatif canadien sur la qualité et la sécurité des patients, et bien d'autres initiatives nationales. Elle a une grande expérience en leadership et en gouvernance, acquise dans le cadre de ses nombreux postes, notamment : directrice des services infirmiers du programme de santé mentale de l'Office régional de la santé de Winnipeg, fonction qui demandait entre autres de s'occuper de la planification stratégique pour tous les programmes de santé mentale de Winnipeg et qui lui a permis d'acquérir de l'expérience en administration; membre du conseil d'administration de l'Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada (AIIC), pour laquelle elle a participé à l'élaboration du nouveau plan stratégique; membre du conseil d'administration de la résidence pour personnes âgées Simkin Centre, pour laquelle elle a participé à la création d'un plan stratégique et d'un programme d'amélioration de la qualité; et membre du conseil d'administration et présidente du comité sur les soins des patients de l'hôpital St-Boniface, à Winnipeg, un grand établissement de troisième ligne.

Michelina Mancuso
Directrice exécutive de l'évaluation du rendement au Conseil de la santé du Nouveau-Brunswick (retraitée)

Michelina MancusoMme Michelina Mancuso est la directrice exécutive, récemment retraitée, de l'évaluation du rendement au Conseil de la santé du Nouveau-Brunswick. Au cours des 34 dernières années, elle a travaillé à la promotion de la santé, à la sécurité des patients et à la santé de la population. Elle a été membre du corps professoral du Département de médecine familiale de l'Université Dalhousie, est associée de recherche à l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick (N.-B.) et au Centre de formation médicale du Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle siège aux comités consultatifs d'experts de l'ICIS, OCDE et Santé Canada. Elle a occupé des postes de gestionnaire des services de recherche et de directrice régionale des Services de toxicomanie. Elle est titulaire d'un diplôme en physiothérapie de l'Université McGill et de 2 diplômes de maîtrise, l'un en sciences et l'autre en administration des affaires. Elle a dirigé l'élaboration du Portrait de santé de la population pour le N.-B., de la Fiche de rendement du système de santé et le Cadre pour la santé mentale et la résilience des jeunes. Elle a également co-écrit et assisté dans de nombreuses études de recherche, rapports, projets d'amélioration de la qualité et présentations d'affiches, ainsi que collaboré à un livre de Richard Saillant appelé Over the Cliff? Agir maintenant pour éviter la faillite du Nouveau-Brunswick. 

(en anglais seulement)