Sign In
CPSI Share                                                                  
Campaign


Clean Care Conversations Webinar

Learn how to promote clean care with your patients and colleagues. Moderated by The Germ Guy, Jason Tetro, this webinar includes Prince Edward Island's medical microbiologist and infectious disease consultant, Dr. Greg German, and Saskatchewan Patients for Patient Safety Canada patient partner, Carmen Stephens. Healthcare providers and administrators will learn how to introduce clean care conversations with patients and their families, engaging the public in ways to prevent healthcare-acquired infections.

 
(Available in English only) 

Speakers:

Dr. Greg German, MD PhD FRCPC DTM&H, is Prince Edward Island's Medical Microbiologist, Infectious Diseases Physician, and Infection Control Consultant.  He completed his undergraduate and PhD degrees at Arizona State University in microbiology. He attended the University of Ottawa's Faculty of Medicine for medical school and Medical Microbiology residency.  He has also trained in Toronto and later in London, England earning a diploma in Tropical Medicine and Hygiene.  He is an assistant professor at Dalhousie University.  He is a past and current leader of several national work groups on antibiotic resistance, stewardship, and infectious disease surveillance. In 2015, he was awarded the President's Leadership Award from the Medical Society of Prince Edward Island for his expertise and collaboration in infectious diseases and infection control.  He has over 30 indexed manuscripts.  He is passionate about engaging seniors in antibiotic stewardship and infection control through novel nursing collaborations and community outreach. He was born in British Columbia and conducted research in Ontario. He is now living in Charlottetown  with his partner, Cristina, and their two children.

Carmen Stephens has been a Patient Partner with Patients for Patient Safety Canada (PFPSC) for two years and involved as a Patient and Family Advisor (PFA) with the Saskatchewan Health Authority for seven years on the following committees for the North East and South East areas of Saskatchewan:

  • Patient Family Centered Care (PFCC) Steering Committee
  • Area Infection Control Committee
  • Co Chair of Home Care PFAC
  • Patient Family Advisor (PFA) Lead for Hand Hygiene events with patients, families and their visitors on the acute care wards of our area
  • Patient Family Advisor (PFA) on a working group for the development of the Saskatchewan Hand Hygiene Policy
  • Patient Partner on PFPSC Membership Committee
  • Patient Partner on planning committee for STOP! Clean Your Hands Day (SCYHD)
Carmen has a passionate interest in anything to do with PFCC and Patient and Staff Safety. 

Moderator

Jason Tetro is a visiting scientist at the University of Guelph. He has been involved in health-related microbiology and immunology for the last 30 years. He has worked in infection prevention and control for the last 15 years. In the public, he is better known as The Germ Guy.  He has written two books, The Germ Code, which was shortlisted as Science Book of The Year in 2014, and The Germ Files, which spent several weeks on the national bestseller list. He has also co-edited, The Human Microbiome Handbook, which provides an academic perspective on the impact of microbes in human health. He is currently the host of the award winning Super Awesome Science Show, which explores how science fits into our everyday lives. He lives in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

Sign In
CPSI partager                                                 
Webdiffusion; Campagne


​Webinaire : Conversations sur l'hygiène

Apprendre à promouvoir des soins propres auprès de vos patients et vos collègues. Animé par M. microbes, Jason Tetro, ce webinaire fera appel au Dr Greg German, microbiologiste médical et consultant en maladies infectieuses de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, et à Carmen Stephens, patiente partenaire de la Saskatchewan pour Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada. Les prestataires de soins de santé et les administrateurs apprendront comment amorcer des conversations sur l'hygiène avec les patients et leurs proches, en faisant appel à la participation du public à la prévention des infections nosocomiales.

 
(offert en anglais seulement)

Conférenciers et conférencières : 

Dr Greg German M.D., Ph.D., FRCPC, DTM&H est un médecin microbiologiste, infectiologue et expert-conseil en prévention des infections de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.  Il a obtenu ses diplômes de premier cycle et de doctorat en microbiologie à l'Arizona State University. Il a ensuite fréquenté la Faculté de médecine de l'Université d'Ottawa, où il a fait ses études de médecine et sa résidence en microbiologie médicale. Il a poursuivi sa formation à Toronto, puis à Londres, en Angleterre, où il obtient un diplôme en médecine et hygiène tropicales (DTM&H).  Il est professeur adjoint à l'Université Dalhousie. Il a dirigé et dirige toujours plusieurs groupes de travail nationaux sur l’antibiorésistance, la gestion des antibiotiques et la surveillance des maladies infectieuses. En 2015, la Medical Society of Prince Edward Island lui a décerné le Prix du président pour son leadership, son expertise et sa collaboration dans le domaine des maladies infectieuses et du contrôle des infections. Plus de 30 de ses manuscrits sont indexés. Il est passionné par la participation des aînés à la gestion des antibiotiques et à la lutte contre les infections grâce à de nouvelles collaborations en soins infirmiers et à la sensibilisation communautaire. Bien qu'il soit né en Colombie-Britannique, il a mené des recherches en Ontario et est heureux de vivre maintenant à Charlottetown avec sa partenaire Cristina et leurs deux enfants.

Carmen Stephens est patiente partenaire au sein de Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada (PPSPC) depuis deux ans et agit depuis sept ans en tant que conseillère des patients et des familles (CPF) auprès de la Saskatchewan Health Authority au sein des comités suivants pour la région du Nord-Est et du Sud-Est de la Saskatchewan :

  • Comité de direction des soins centrés sur le patient et sa famille (SCPF)
  • Comité régional de prévention des infections
  • Coprésidente du Comité des CPF en soins à domicile
  • Conseillère principale des patients et des familles (CPF) pour les événements axés sur l'hygiène des mains avec les patients, les familles et leurs visiteurs dans les services de soins actifs de notre région
  • Conseillère des patients et des familles (CPF) au sein d'un groupe de travail chargé de l'élaboration de la politique de la Saskatchewan en matière d'hygiène des mains
  • Patiente partenaire au sein du Comité d'adhésion de PPSPC
  • Patiente partenaire au sein du comité de planification de la Journée ARRÊT! Nettoyez-vous les mains 
Carmen s'intéresse passionnément à tout ce qui touche aux SCPF et à la sécurité des patients et du personnel.  

modérateur

Jason Tetro est chercheur invité à l’Université de Guelph. Durant les 30 dernières années, il a travaillé dans les domaines de la microbiologie et de l’immunologie liées au secteur de la santé. Il a également œuvré pour la prévention et le contrôle des infections au cours des 15 dernières années. Aux yeux du grand public, il est mieux connu comme « The Germ Guy » (le gars des microbes).  Il est l’auteur de deux ouvrages, « The Germ Code », en lice pour le titre de « livre sur la science de l’année de 2014 », et « The Germ Files », qui a occupé une place sur la liste des best-sellers nationaux pendant plusieurs semaines. Il a également corédigé « The Human Microbiome Handbook », qui offre une perspective académique sur l’impact des microbes dans la santé humaine. Il est actuellement l’animateur de l’émission primée « Super Awesome Science Show », qui explore comment la science s’inscrit dans notre vie quotidienne. Il vit à Edmonton, Alberta, au Canada.