Sign In
CPSI Share                                                                  

Archive: 2018

Recognition for Programs that Lead the Way to Safer Healthcare

Organizations across the country are making changes that truly make a difference by partnering with patients and families in patient safety improvement. Several are introducing innovative programs co-designed with patients that have achieved outstanding results.

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute, HealthCareCAN and Health Standards Organization, with support from Patients for Patient Safety Canada, have partnered in a recognition program that aims to identify, celebrate and disseminate leading practices in patient engagement for patient safety.

The Excellence in Patient Engagement for Patient Safety program proudly recognizes 15 leading practices that have led to measurable results. For example, the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health reduced preventable medication errors from 36 to 12 within six months and caught 954 patient identification errors - up from 483 - because they adapted their patient identification process to fit the needs of patients. Another example is the BC Children's Hospital who developed an innovative way to solicit feedback about safety risks and gaps in processes from patients and families - then used the feedback to inform improvement initiatives!

Teams from the two organizations mentioned above, each consisting of a staff leader and a patient partner, were invited to present their successes and lessons learned at the National Health Leadership Conference in June.  Each of the 15 organizations listed below were nominated as leading practices and have been included in the Health Standards Organization's Leading Practices Library.

Please celebrate these accomplishments by reviewing the leading practices and sharing them with those in your organization who are also working to improve patient safety and patient engagement. We welcome you to join us on social media and help us spread the word - we can drive innovation and improvement patient safety – together!

Selected Resources to support Patient Engagement in Patient Safety

  • HealthCareCAN. Patient-Centred Experience and Design Program. This program teaches relationship partnering and building to support patient-centred care and culture change, and knowledge and skills to effectively lead engagement and healthcare design initiatives.

  • Patient Engagement Action Team. Engaging Patients in Patient Safety – a Canadian Guide. This extensive resource, based on evidence and leading practices, helps patients and families, patient partners, providers, and leaders work together more effectively to improve patient safety.

  • Patients for Patient Safety Canada (PFPSC). The volunteer members of PFPSC, a patient-led program of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute and the Canadian arm of World Health Organization's Patients for Patient Safety global network, have contributed their unique experiences and perspective and impacted patient safety improvements for over a decade.

Connexion
CPSI partager                                                   

Archive : 2018​

Reconnaissance des programmes qui mènent à des soins de santé plus sécuritaires

Des établissements dans tous les coins du pays mettent en œuvre des changements à réel impact en créant des partenariats avec les patients et leurs familles en vue d'améliorer la sécurité des patients. Plusieurs de ces établissements lancent des programmes novateurs créés en partenariat avec des patients ayant obtenu des résultats exceptionnels.

L'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, SoinsSantéCAN et l'Organisation des normes de santé, avec le soutien de Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada, se sont associés pour créer un nouveau programme de reconnaissance visant à cerner, célébrer et diffuser les pratiques exemplaires relatives à la participation des patients qui visent à améliorer la sécurité des patients.

Le programme d'Excellence en matière de participation des patients pour la sécurité des patients reconnaît fièrement 15 pratiques exemplaires qui ont mené à des résultats mesurables. Par exemple, le Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale a réduit les erreurs évitables liées aux médicaments de 36 à 12 en l'espace de six mois et a détecté 954 erreurs d'identification par des patients - comparativement à 483 - parce qu'il a adapté son processus d'identification des patients aux besoins des patients. Un autre exemple concerne le BC Children's Hospital, qui a développé un moyen novateur de recueillir des commentaires sur les risques de sécurité et les lacunes dans les processus de la part des patients et des familles - puis a utilisé ces commentaires pour orienter des stratégies d'amélioration!

Des équipes issues des deux établissements mentionnés ci-dessus, composées chacune d'un leader membre du personnel et d'un patient partenaire, ont été invitées à présenter leurs réussites et les leçons apprises lors de la Conférence nationale sur le leadership en soins de santé du mois de juin. Chacun des 15 organismes énumérés ci-dessous a été désigné comme leader en pratiques exemplaires et a été inclus dans le répertoire des pratiques exemplaires de l'Organisation des normes de santé.

Veuillez célébrer ces réalisations en prenant connaissance de ces pratiques exemplaires et en les partageant avec les membres de votre organisation qui travaillent également à améliorer la sécurité et la participation des patients. Nous vous invitons à nous joindre sur les médias sociaux et à nous aider à faire passer le message - ensemble, nous pouvons inciter l'innovation et améliorer la sécurité des patients!

Ressources sélectionnées qui soutiennent la participation des patients pour accroître la sécurité des soins qui leur sont prodigués

  • HealthCareCAN. Programme d'expérience et de conception centré sur le patient. Ce programme enseigne le partenariat et le renforcement des relations pour soutenir les changements de culture et de soins centrés sur le patient, ainsi que les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour mener efficacement des initiatives d'engagement et de conception de soins de santé.

  • Équipe d’action pour l’engagement des patients. Le Guide canadien de l’engagement des patients en matière de sécurité. Cette ressource d'envergure, fondée sur des données probantes et des pratiques exemplaires, aide les patients et les familles, les patients partenaires, les fournisseurs de soins et les leaders à travailler ensemble de façon plus efficace pour améliorer la sécurité des patients.

  • Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada (PFPSC). Les membres bénévoles de PFPSC, un programme de l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients et le volet canadien du réseau mondial de sécurité des patients de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, apportent leur expérience et leur point de vue particulier laissent leur marque en sécurité des patients depuis une décennie.