Sign In
CPSI Share                                                                  

All of the presentations at the conference were based on the following themes: Mobilize energy and enthusiasm for a new era of patient safety and quality improvement; Understand the role innovation and technology plays in healthcare improvement; Stimulate change through the power of the patient voice; Develop the skills for leading transformational change! 

Beverley Lanning – Patient Story

The powerful story of one mother's journey with her son. Bev relates the life-altering experience she shared with her son, Adam, when he was 24 years old. She shows how patients and families are a powerful resource in improving patient safety for all.

Jeffrey Braithwaite

New and emerging trends in quality improvement and patient safety: preparing for the future We are currently living in an innovative era of quality improvement and patient safety – although this is an exciting time for health services research, navigating this new world presents us with an evolving set of challenges. How can we prepare for the future and learn to anticipate the unexpected? We must first try to understand the emerging trends of quality improvement and patient safety, and how these trends sit within the context of a complex adaptive system. Professor Braithwaite will discuss these topics, including areas such as Safety-I and Safety-II, complexity science and Resilient Health Care.

Kelli O'Brien

Atlantic Health Quality and Patient Safety Collaborative (AHQPSC): Patient Engagement Collaborative. There is increasing evidence that when patients and providers partner effectively at all system levels, patient safety and quality outcomes improve. With the support of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute, the AHQPSC launched a 12-month virtual collaborative designed to help participating teams leverage patient engagement in improving patient safety and healthcare quality. The collaborative co-chair along with participating teams from Newfoundland and Labrador Regional Health Kelli O'Brien Patient Engagement Collaborative Co-Chair and Vice President, Long Term Care, Rural Health and Quality, Western Health, Newfoundland and Labrador 3 Authorities will share their experiences and highlight the successes that have emerged through their collaborative experience.

Craig Kuziemsky

Collaborative Spaces and Healthcare Transformation Healthcare systems worldwide are transforming into collaborative systems to better support the needs of modern healthcare delivery. Collaborative systems are defined by new and enhanced interactions across patients, providers and settings. While these new interactions can be a means of enhanced patient safety and quality of care delivery, managing these interactions can be a significant challenge, including social implications such trade-offs across individuals and teams. For collaborative systems to improve healthcare outcomes they need to be aligned with the collaborative spaces where healthcare is delivered. This talk will describe healthcare transformation initiatives from the perspective of collaborative systems. Dr. Kuziemsky will discuss how collaborative systems can improve healthcare delivery as well as the practical and management implications to achieving it.

Ron Johnson

Hacking Transitions of Care Healthcare organizations challenged with sustainability are moving healthcare delivery from high cost institutional acute care hospitals to a multitude of lower costs settings. This change aimed at bending the cost curve is increasing the number of transitions of care patients experience. "People are vulnerable when they move between different parts of the health care system. These clinical handovers in care transitions threaten patient safety as they can increase the possibility of losing critical clinical information and require an increased degree of coordination" (World Health Organization). Hacking health fosters collaborative innovation by engaging key groups of stakeholders to create solutions to healthcare challenges. Eastern Health, the largest integrated Health Authority in Newfoundland and Labrador, has embraced Hacking Health to address healthcare challenges. Hacking Health is a mindset not a skillset. We are all Hackers.

Marlies Van Dyjk

Adapting to the Future: Not for the faint of heart We are all thinking about how we can adjust to the changing demographics, aging population and the exploding innovations coming our way. Marlies will debunk the ways that we work in healthcare and share what we can learn from other industries. You will hear how we can design for our consumers and work in ways that gets stuff done inside a bureaucracy.

Nicholas Watters/Pamela MacLean

Caring for Healthcare: Addressing psychological health and safety for healthcare workers The By Health, for Health Collaborative, led in partnership with the Mental Health Commission of Canada and HealthCareCAN, had a vision for healthcare workplaces to be leaders and role models in providing psychologically healthy and safe work environments for all Canadians. Hear from Nicholas Watters (Mental Health Commission of Canada) and Pamela MacLean (Nova Scotia Health Authority,) to learn more about the initiatives undertaken to achieve this vision, including the development of two new tools for healthcare organizations to assess and address the psychological health and safety of their workplaces. Mental Health Commission of Canada will also share new initiatives and opportunities to inform the development of resources for healthcare providers.

Michael Gardam

The Digital Hospital: A good thing or just hype The talk will describe Humber River Hospital's digital vision, how it has been implemented, lessons learned, and an assessment as to whether we've achieved what we set out to do.

Anne MacLaurin

Measurement and Monitoring of Safety: Rewiring our thinking about Patient Safety In Canada, as in the UK and US, the focus on assessing both quality and safety has increased over the past 10 years. Numerous quality outcomes have been specified however, the approach to safety has been much more limited, leaving many aspects of safety unexplored. In 2013 Professors Charles Vincent, Susan Burnett and Jane Carthey published their report The Measuring and Monitoring of Safety. This framework provides a broader approach to the information needed to create and sustain safer care. During this session the speakers will introduce the Measuring and Monitoring of Safety Framework and describe how it can be used to promote and advance safe care.

Rapid Fire Presentations

Connexion
CPSI partager                                                   

Toutes les présentations à la conférence étaient basées sur les thèmes suivants: Mobiliser l’énergie et l’enthousiasme nécessaires à l’avènement d’une nouvelle ère en matière d’amélioration de la qualité des soins et de la sécurité des patients; Comprendre le rôle que joue l’innovation et la technologie dans l’amélioration des soins de santé;  stimuler le changement grâce au pouvoir de la voix du patient; acquérir les compétences vous permettant de propulser un changement transformationnel! 

Beverley Lanning – récit d'une patiente

L'histoire émouvante du cheminement d'une mère avec son fils. Beverley raconte l'expérience bouleversante qu'elle a partagée avec son fils, Adam, lorsqu'il avait 24 ans, et montre comment les patients et les familles constituent une puissante source d'amélioration de la sécurité des patients.

Jeffrey Braithwaite

Nouvelles orientations et tendances émergentes en matière d'amélioration de la qualité et de sécurité des patients : préparer l'avenir

Nous vivons actuellement une ère d'innovation en matière d'amélioration de la qualité et de sécurité des patients. Bien que la recherche dans le domaine des services de santé traverse une période passionnante, naviguer dans ce nouveau monde nous confronte à un ensemble de défis en constante évolution. Comment pouvons-nous préparer l'avenir et apprendre à anticiper l'inattendu? Nous devons d'abord essayer de comprendre les dernières tendances en matière d'amélioration de la qualité et de sécurité des patients, et comment ces tendances s'inscrivent dans le contexte d'un système adaptatif complexe. Le professeur Braithwaite abordera ces sujets, et notamment des questions telles que la sécurité I et la sécurité II, la science de la complexité et la résilience des soins de santé.

Kelli O'Brien

Collaboration sur la qualité des soins et la sécurité des patients de l'Atlantique (AHQPSC) : concertation pour la sécurité des patients

Il est de plus en plus évident que lorsque les patients et les prestataires de soins collaborent efficacement à tous les niveaux du système, la sécurité des patients et la qualité des résultats s'améliorent. Avec le soutien de l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, l'AHQPSC a lancé une collaboration virtuelle de 12 mois pour aider les équipes participantes à tirer parti de l'engagement des patients pour améliorer la sécurité de ces derniers de même que la qualité des soins de santé. La coprésidente de la Collaboration, madame Kelli O'Brien, ainsi que les équipes participantes des Régies régionales de la santé de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador partageront leurs expériences et témoigneront des succès qui ont jailli de leur collaboration.

Craig Kuziemsky

Espaces de collaboration et transformation des soins de santé

Les systèmes de soins de santé du monde entier se transforment en systèmes collaboratifs afin de mieux répondre aux besoins actuels en matière de prestation de soins de santé. Les systèmes collaboratifs sont définis par des interactions nouvelles et optimisées entre les patients, les prestataires et les milieux. Si ces nouvelles relations peuvent contribuer à améliorer la sécurité des patients et la qualité des soins, leur gestion peut toutefois représenter un défi de taille, et comporter notamment des conséquences sociales telles que des compromis entre les individus et les équipes. Pour que les systèmes collaboratifs puissent améliorer les performances des soins de santé, ils doivent être en phase avec les lieux où les soins sont dispensés. Cet exposé décrira les initiatives de transformation des soins de santé du point de vue des systèmes collaboratifs. Le Dr Kuziemsky traitera de la manière dont ces derniers peuvent améliorer la prestation des soins de santé ainsi que des implications tant pratiques que gestionnaires pour y parvenir.

Ron Johnson

« Hacking Health » : Gérer les transitions en matière de soins

Les organisations de soins de santé qui doivent relever le défi de la durabilité font passer la prestation de soins de santé des hôpitaux de soins de courte durée à coût élevé à une multitude de services à moindre coût. Ce changement visant à faire des économies augmente le nombre de transitions de soins que connaissent les patients. « Les gens sont vulnérables lorsqu'ils passent entre différentes parties du système de soins de santé. Ces transferts cliniques de soins menacent la sécurité des patients, car ils peuvent augmenter la possibilité de perte d'informations cliniques critiques et nécessitent un degré accru de coordination » (Organisation mondiale de la santé). Le mouvement Hacking Health favorise l'innovation collaborative en mobilisant des groupes d'acteurs clés pour créer des solutions aux défis des soins de santé. L'Eastern Health, la plus grande autorité sanitaire intégrée de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, a adopté Hacking Health pour relever les défis en matière de soins de santé. Hacking Health est un état d'esprit, et non un ensemble de compétences. Nous sommes tous des « hackers ».

Marlies VanDyjk

S'adapter aux exigences du futur : une entreprise pour qui n'a pas froid aux yeux

Nous réfléchissons tous à la manière dont nous pouvons nous adapter à l'évolution démographique, au vieillissement de la population et à l'explosion des innovations qui se dessinent. Mme VanDyjk démystifiera nos méthodes de travail dans le domaine des soins de santé et nous fera part de ce que nous pouvons apprendre des autres secteurs. Vous verrez comment nous pouvons nous montrer plus créatifs pour nos usagers et travailler de manière à ce que les choses avancent au sein d'une bureaucratie.

Nicholas Watters/Pamela MacLean

Se soucier des soins de santé en s'occupant de la santé et de la sécurité psychologiques des prestataires de soins de santé

Le Collectif « La santé d'abord », dirigée en partenariat par la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada et SoinsSantéCAN, avait pour objectif de faire des lieux de travail du secteur des soins de santé des leaders et des modèles en termes d'environnements de travail psychologiquement sains et sûrs pour tous les Canadiens. Nicholas Watters (Commission de la santé mentale du Canada) et Pamela MacLean (Régie de la santé de la Nouvelle-Écosse ) vous en diront plus sur les initiatives entreprises pour réaliser cette vision, notamment la mise au point de deux nouveaux outils permettant aux organismes de soins de santé d'évaluer et de traiter la santé et la sécurité psychologiques dans leurs milieux de travail. La Commission de la santé mentale du Canada fera également part des nouvelles initiatives et des possibilités de contribuer au développement de ressources pour les prestataires de soins de santé.

Michael Gardam

L'hôpital numérique : une bonne nouvelle ou un engouement passager?

Cet exposé décrira la stratégie numérique de l'Hôpital Humber River, sa mise en œuvre, les leçons tirées et une évaluation de la réalisation des objectifs de départ.

Anne MacLaurin

Mesure et surveillance de la sécurité : remettre en question notre représentation de la sécurité des patients

Au Canada, comme au Royaume-Uni et aux États-Unis, l'évaluation de la qualité et de la sécurité a pris une importance accrue au cours des dix dernières années. De nombreux objectifs de qualité ont été spécifiés, mais la manière de considérer la sécurité a été beaucoup plus limitée, laissant de nombreux aspects inexplorés. En 2013, les professeurs Charles Vincent, Susan Burnett et Jane Carthey ont publié leur rapport intitulé Cadre de mesure et de surveillance de la sécurité, un guide proposant une approche plus large des informations nécessaires à la création et au maintien de soins plus sécuritaires. Au cours de cette séance, les intervenants présenteront le Cadre de mesure et de surveillance de la sécurité et expliqueront comment il peut être utilisé pour promouvoir et faire progresser la sécurité des soins.

Présentations Courtes (en anglais seulement)