Sign In
CPSI Share                                                    
4/3/2016 6:00 PM

​​April 2016 - The 2014 – 2016 actions from the National Patient Safety Consortium are well underway. Overall completion is 53% as of October – December (Q3).  

The Steering Committee of the Consortium meets quarterly via teleconference and is chaired by Chris Power.  The Conference of Provincial and Territorial Deputy Ministers of Health requested a seat at the Steering Committee and Nancy Roberts of the New Brunswick Department of Health will now serve as the official designate.  Representatives from each of the areas of focus Leads Groups attended the February 2016 Steering Committee meeting to provide a verbal update and open discussion on the status of actions, successes and any barriers being encountered.

The membership of the National Patient Safety Consortium Steering Committee includes:

  • Chris Power (chair)– Canadian Patient Safety Institute
  • Leslee Thompson – Accreditation Canada
  • David O'Toole – Canadian Institute for Health Information
  • Denice Klavano – Patients for Patient Safety Canada
  • Dr. Francois Belanger (interim) – Alberta Health Services
  • Shelagh Maloney – Canada Health Infoway
  • Lee Fairclough – Health Quality Ontario
  • Nancy Roberts – Department of Health, New Brunswick
  • Sharon Nettleton – Patients for Patient Safety Canada

A communications network to aid in the communication of the patient safety message across the country has been established.    Specifically, a number of provincial quality and safety organizations across the country have begun to highlight their involvement and showcase the work of the Integrated Patient Safety Action Plan on their websites.

The evaluation plan for the Consortium and Integrated Patient Safety Action Plan continues to be refined.  The Evaluation Action Team includes 16 organizations including Health Quality Ontario, the British Columbia Patient Safety and Quality Council, Alberta Health, Health Canada, the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health, the Canadian Association of Paediatric Health Centres, Patients for Patient Safety Canada and others.  This team is chaired by the Canadian Patient Safety Institute and Dr. Lianne Jeffs, a notable health services researcher and member from the Academy of Canadian Executive Nurses.  The evaluation plan will be implemented in spring 2016.