Sign In
CPSI Share              

VRE is like all enterococci—these organisms are not nearly as virulent as many of the other antimicrobial-resistant organisms (AROs), such as methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA). VRE is quite content to colonize someone rather than actually cause an infection. As a result, there is some difference of opinion in Canada on how aggressive we should be in trying to control this organism. Some hospitals treat it like other AROs while others have stopped control measures to focus on other organisms.

Infections caused by VRE can be hard to treat. Enterococci are naturally resistant to most antibiotics, and VRE is especially so. VRE tends to focus on places like the gastrointestinal tract, urinary tract, heart valves, blood, and any prosthetic devices, such as artificial joints, prosthetic heart valves, and intravenous catheters. VRE urinary tract infections are particularly common and often associated with indwelling urinary catheters.

For complex continuing care patients or long-term care clients for whom catheters are frequently used, being colonized with VRE can carry an increased risk of infection. Depending upon the site, VRE infections require prolonged (occasionally months-long) treatment with antibiotics, and the treatments may fail. 

For information on screening and treating VRE, please refer to the tools and resources noted below.​

In 2014-15, one in 18 hospital stays in Canada involved at least one harmful event (138,000 out of 2.5 million hospital stays). Of those, 30,000 (or one in five) involved more than one form of harm....
October 26, 2016 
Patient Safety News
There are currently no Events for Vancomycin-resistant Enterococci (VRE) available at this time. Click here to view all

Connexion
CPSI partager              

​​​Comme tous les entérocoques, les ERV ne sont jamais aussi virulents que d'autres organismes résistants aux antimicrobiens (ORA), tels que les Staphylococcus aureus résistants à la méthicilline (SARM).  Les ERV se contentent de coloniser un sujet sans pour autant causer une infection. C'est pourquoi les opinions divergent au Canada quant à l'énergie que l'on devrait déployer pour tenter de les contrôler. Certains hôpitaux leur portent la même attention qu'aux autres ORA, tandis que d'autres ont cessé leurs mesures de contrôle pour se concentrer sur d'autres organismes.  

Les infections à l'ERV peuvent être difficiles à traiter. Les Enterococci sont, par nature, résistants à la plupart des antibiotiques, et l'ERV l'est tout particulièrement. Il se loge préférablement dans le tractus gastro-intestinal, les voies urinaires, les valves cardiaques, le sang et tout appareil prothétique tel que les articulations artificielles, les valvules prothétiques et les cathéters intraveineux. Les infections urinaires à l'ERV sont assez communes et souvent associées aux sondes urinaires.

Chez les patients nécessitant des soins continus complexes ou des soins de longue durée, qui requièrent fréquemment l'installation de cathéters, une colonisation à l'ERV présente un risque d'infection accru.  Dépendant du site, les infections à l'ERV exigent une antibiothérapie prolongée (parfois s'étendant sur des mois), et ce, sans garantie de succès. 

Pour de l'information sur le dépistage et le traitement des infections à l'ERV, veuillez consulter les outils et les ressources ci-dessous.​


Il n’y a aucun événement pour Entérocoque résistant à la vancomycine (ERV) en ce moment. Cliquer ici pour tout afficher