Sign In
CPSI Share              

A retained foreign object is a patient safety incident in which a surgical object is accidentally left in the patient's body. In the patient safety field, this is widely considered a "never event" as it is preventable. The impacts for a patient can be wide ranging and quite devastating, as Ms. Kapka Petrov shares in her story. 

A study released by Johns Hopkins in 2012 estimated that between 1990 and 2010, 80,000 "never events" (which included, but were not limited to, incidents of retained foreign objects) occurred in American hospitals. There is no equivalent Canadian study; however, the magnitude of the issue can be appreciated from the American study.

The Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA) summarized reviewed medico-legal cases involving surgical safety issues in Canadian hospital operating rooms between 2004 and 2009. Surgical safety issues identified in the CMPA review that might have been avoided or mitigated by using a checklist included, but were not limited to, issues with surgical counts resulting in retained foreign bodies and issues with equipment or instruments resulting in retained foreign bodies.

Standard procedures in the operating room to keep track of surgical sponges and instruments are foundational to ensuring no foreign object is left in a patient's body following the closure of the surgical incision. These standard procedures involve the practices of all members of the operating team. The debriefing section of the Canadian Surgical Safety Checklist prompts the surgical team to review instrument, sponge, and needle counts.

In 2014-15, one in 18 hospital stays in Canada involved at least one harmful event (138,000 out of 2.5 million hospital stays). Of those, 30,000 (or one in five) involved more than one form of harm....
October 26, 2016 
Patient Safety News
There are currently no Events for Retained Foreign Object available at this time. Click here to view all

Connexion
CPSI partager              

​Un corps étranger oublié est un incident lié à la sécurité des patients impliquant l'oubli accidentel d'un objet chirurgical dans le corps du patient. Dans l'univers de la sécurité des patients, un tel incident entre dans la catégorie des « événements qui ne devraient jamais arriver » puisqu'il peut être évité. Celui-ci peut entraîner des conséquences multiples et particulièrement accablantes pour le patient, comme en témoigne  Mme Kapka Petrov dans son vibrant témoignage. 

Selon les estimations d'une étude publiée par Johns Hopkins en 2012, 80 000 « événements qui ne devraient jamais arriver » (y compris, sans toutefois s'y limiter, des incidents impliquant des corps étrangers oubliés) sont survenus dans l'ensemble des hôpitaux des États-Unis entre 1990 et 2010. Il n'existe pas d'étude canadienne sur le sujet à ce jour, mais on peut, par inférence, présumer de l'étendue du problème ici comme ailleurs.  

L'Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) présente brièvement quelques cas médico-légaux illustrant des problèmes de sécurité chirurgicale s'étant produits dans les salles d'opération canadiennes entre 2004 et 2009.  Les problèmes soulevés par l'ACPM, qui auraient pu être évités ou atténués par l'utilisation d'une liste de vérification de la sécurité chirurgicale, comprennent des problèmes liés au décompte chirurgical entraînant l'oubli de corps étrangers et des problèmes d'équipement ou d'instruments entraînant l'oubli de corps étrangers.

L'instauration d'une procédure normalisée en salle d'opération est cruciale pour effectuer la localisation et le décompte exact des éponges et des instruments chirurgicaux, afin qu'il ne reste aucun objet étranger dans le corps du patient après avoir refermé l'incision.  Une telle procédure vise les pratiques de tous les membres de l'équipe chirurgicale. La section du débreffage de la liste canadienne de vérification de la sécurité chirurgicale invite l'équipe chirurgicale à revoir le décompte des instruments, des éponges et des aiguilles.


Il n’y a aucun événement pour Corps étranger en ce moment. Cliquer ici pour tout afficher