Sign In
CPSI Share              

Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) is a bacteria commonly found in Canadian hospitals and in the community. It can cause symptoms ranging from asymptomatic colonization to septic shock and death.   

Staphylococcus aureus (S. aureus) is a bacterial organism that may asymptomatically colonize the skin and mucosal surfaces of healthy humans and can also cause infections in a number of places, such as the urinary tract, blood, bones, joints, heart valves, lungs, and surgical wounds. Since the initial use of antibiotics in the 1940s, resistant strains of S. aureus have emerged. 

​Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) is an S. aureus that has become resistant to antibiotics. MRSA is classified as healthcare-associated MRSA (HA-MRSA) or community-acquired MRSA (CA-MRSA) (Public Health Agency of Canada, Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus aureus, 2014).

You can successfully reduce MRSA transmission with these six evidence-based infection control strategies:

  • Establish an aggressive hand hygiene program
  • Clean and decontaminate the environment and equipment
  • Implement contact precautions for any patient infected or colonized with a superbug
  • Perform MRSA and VRE screening surveillance on admission and at other times
  • Regularly report superbug infection rates to frontline and hospital leaders
  • Establish and implement an antimicrobial stewardship program
In 2014-15, one in 18 hospital stays in Canada involved at least one harmful event (138,000 out of 2.5 million hospital stays). Of those, 30,000 (or one in five) involved more than one form of harm....
October 26, 2016 
Patient Safety News
There are currently no Events for Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureaus available at this time. Click here to view all

Connexion
CPSI partager              

Le Staphylococcus aureus résistant à la méthicilline (SARM) est une bactérie que l'on retrouve couramment dans les hôpitaux canadiens et dans la communauté. Celui-ci peut avoir des conséquences allant d'une colonisation asymptomatique jusqu'au choc septique et à la mort.

Le Staphylococcus aureus (S. aureus) est un organisme bactérien qui peut coloniser sans symptôme la peau et les surfaces de muqueuses d'humains en bonne santé et qui peut également causer des infections dans certaines parties du corps, telles que les voies urinaires, le sang, les os, les jointures, les valves cardiaques, les poumons et les plaies chirurgicales. Depuis la première utilisation des antibiotiques dans les années 1940, des souches résistantes de S. aureus ont fait leur apparition.

Le Staphylococcus aureus résistant à la méthicilline (SARM) est un S. aureus qui a développé une résistance aux antibiotiques. L'on distingue deux types de SARM : le SARM d'origine nosocomiale et le SARM d'origine communautaire (Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Staphylococcus aureus résistant à la méthicilline, 2014).

Vous pouvez réussir à juguler la propagation du SARM en appliquant ces six mesures de contrôle des infections fondées sur des données probantes :

  • établir un programme d'hygiène des mains intensif;
  • procéder au nettoyage et à la décontamination systématique de l'environnement et de l`équipement;
  • instaurer des mesures de précaution de contact avec tout patient colonisé ou infecté par une superbactérie;
  • procéder à des cultures sélectives de dépistage du SARM et de l'ERV à l'admission et à d'autres moments au cours de l'hospitalisation;
  • faire un compte-rendu régulier des taux d'infection aux intervenants de première ligne et à la direction de l'hôpital;

élaborer et mettre en œuvre un programme de gestion antimicrobienne.​


Il n’y a aucun événement pour Staphylocoque aureus résistant à la méthicilline en ce moment. Cliquer ici pour tout afficher