Sign In
CPSI Share              

A medication incident is any preventable event that may cause or lead to inappropriate medication use or patient harm while the medication is in the control of the healthcare professional, patient, or consumer. Medication incidents may be related to professional practice, drug products, procedures, and systems. They include incidents involving prescription, order communication, product labelling/packaging/nomenclature, compounding, dispensing, distribution, administration, education, monitoring, and use (National Coordinating Council for Medication Error Reporting and Prevention and ISMP Canada).

Medication incidents can occur due to wrong doses or wrong routes of administration, drug mix-ups, drug interactions causing harm, errors associated with drug packaging or labels, administration of medication to the wrong patient, or incomplete (or a lack of) medication reconciliation.

The Canadian Medication Incident Reporting and Prevention System (CMIRPS) is a collaborative pan-Canadian program of Health Canada, the Canadian Institute for Health Information, the Institute for Safe Medication Practices Canada, and CPSI. The goal of CMIRPS is to reduce and prevent harmful medication incidents in Canada.

​For more information, please see the Medication Safety topic page.

Visit MIRPS to learn about the program and how to report medication incidents, and for additional resources. ​

​​​​Second quarter progress continues to be steady for actions addressing the key themes of evidence-informed practices aimed to make opioid use safer for Canadians and in reporting, learning and...
December 07, 2016 
Patient Safety News
There are currently no Events for Medication Incident available at this time. Click here to view all

Connexion
CPSI partager              

​Un incident médicamenteux est un événement évitable qui peut causer ou mener à l'utilisation inappropriée d'un médicament ou à un préjudice au patient alors que le médicament est sous le contrôle d'un professionnel de la santé, d'un patient ou d'un consommateur.  Les incidents médicamenteux peuvent être liés à la pratique professionnelle, aux médicaments, aux procédures et aux systèmes.  Ils incluent des incidents liés à la prescription, la communication de l'ordonnance, l'étiquetage, l'emballage et la nomenclature du produit, la préparation, la délivrance, la distribution, l'administration, l'enseignement, la surveillance et l'usage (National Coordinating Council for Medication Error Reporting and Prevention et ISMP Canada).

Les incidents médicamenteux peuvent être causés par de mauvaises doses ou de mauvaises voies d'administration, des mélanges ou des interactions de médicaments préjudiciables, des erreurs associées à l'emballage ou à l'étiquetage des médicaments, l'administration d'un médicament au mauvais patient ou un bilan comparatif des médicaments incomplet (ou inexistant).

Le Système canadien de déclaration et de prévention des incidents médicamenteux (SCDPIM) est un regroupement pancanadien de Santé Canada, en partenariat avec l'Institut canadien d'information sur la santé (ICIS), l'Institut pour l'utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments du Canada (ISMP Canada) et l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP).  Le SCDPIM a pour but de réduire et de prévenir les incidents médicamenteux indésirables au Canada.


Il n’y a aucun événement pour Incident médicamenteux en ce moment. Cliquer ici pour tout afficher