Sign In
CPSI Share              

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Safety in home care is important for clients, families, care providers, organizations, policy makers, advocates, and researchers. The landmark 2013 research study Safety at Home: A Pan-Canadian Home Care Study, funded by CPSI and the Canadian Institutes of Healthcare Research, the Canadian Foundation of Healthcare Improvement, and the Change Foundation, examined patient safety incidents in home care. This foundational study identified the following results, which clearly support the case for a growing focus on safety in the home care sector:

  • The annual incidence rate of patient safety incidents determined through secondary data sources in home care is 13%.
  • The extrapolated annual incidence rate of patient safety incidents from chart reviews is 10.1%.
  • 56% of patient safety incidents were judged to be preventable.
  • 91.4% of patient safety incidents were associated with an increased use of healthcare resources.

In 2014, CPSI and the Canadian Home Care Association hosted the Home Care Safety Roundtable in Winnipeg. The roundtable included representatives from national patient safety and quality organizations, as well as provincial quality and patient safety councils, government, service providers, professional associations, and patient groups. 

It consisted of discussions on opportunities and gaps in home care safety that had been identified through a pre-roundtable survey of the attendees, and via the findings of the seminal pan-Canadian 2013 research report, Safety at Home.

Participants identified and prioritized the high-level components of an action plan focusing on five themes: system-level communication; collaborative care; clients' right to live at risk and partnering with clients and families; advance knowledge of measurement for improvement; and leading practices in medication safety, fall prevention, and infection prevention and control.  ​

​​​​​

​​​​Wave One of the Home Care Falls Prevention Collaborative officially finished with a recognition event at the Canadian Home Care Association Summit in Vancouver in October 2016. All five teams...
December 07, 2016 
Patient Safety News
There are currently no Events for Home Care Safety available at this time. Click here to view all

Connexion
CPSI partager              

​​​La sécurité des soins à domicile revêt une grande importance pour les clients, leur famille, les prestataires de soins, les établissements de santé, les décideurs, les défenseurs et les chercheurs. L'imposante étude La sécurité à domicile : une étude pancanadienne des soins à domicile publiée en 2013 et financée par l'ICSP, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, la Fondation canadienne pour l'amélioration des services de santé et The Change Foundation, s'est penchée sur la problématique des incidents liés à la sécurité des patients en contexte de soins à domicile. Les conclusions qui en ont résulté ont mis en évidence la nécessité d'investir davantage d'efforts dans ce secteur de prestation de soins :

  • Le taux d'incidence annuel d'incidents liés à la sécurité des patients, tel qu'évalué à partir de données secondaires, est de 13 %;
  • Le taux d'incidence des incidents liés à la sécurité des patients observé dans les dossiers médicaux a été extrapolé de manière à calculer un taux d'incidence annuel de 10,1 %;
  • 56 % de ces incidents liés à la sécurité des patients auraient pu être évités;
  • 91,4 % de ces incidents ont entraîné une utilisation accrue des ressources du réseau de la

santé.

En 2014 s'est tenue la table ronde sur la sécurité à domicile, à Winnipeg, à l'initiative de l'ICSP et de l'Association canadienne de soins et services à domicile. Celle-ci a réuni des représentants d'organismes nationaux et provinciaux voués à la sécurité des patients et à la qualité ainsi que des représentants du gouvernement, des prestataires de services, d'associations professionnelles et de groupes de patients.

Les discussions ont porté sur les possibilités et les lacunes soulevées à la faveur d'un sondage pré-table ronde effectué auprès des participants, et des conclusions du rapport de recherche La sécurité à domicile : une étude pancanadienne des soins à domicile, publié en 2013.

Les participants ont mis de l'avant les éléments fondamentaux d'un plan d'action s'articulant autour de cinq thèmes : la communication à l'échelle du système, les soins collaboratifs, le droit des clients de vivre à risque et le partenariat avec les clients et leur famille; l'avancement des connaissances sur les indicateurs de mesure pour effectuer des améliorations; les pratiques exemplaires en sécurité médicamenteuse, en prévention des chutes ainsi qu'en prévention et contrôle des infections.


Il n’y a aucun événement pour Sécurité des soins à domicile en ce moment. Cliquer ici pour tout afficher