Sign In
CPSI Share              

​Healthcare-associated infections, or infections acquired in healthcare settings, are the most frequent adverse event in healthcare delivery worldwide. Hundreds of millions of patients are affected by healthcare-associated infections each year, leading to significant mortality and financial losses for health systems (World Health Organization HAI Fact Sheet, 2014).

Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA), vancomycin-resistant Enterococcus (VRE), and Clostridium difficile are three bacteria commonly found in Canadian hospitals. They can cause symptoms ranging from asymptomatic colonization to septic shock and death.

Each year, about 8,000 Canadians die from hospital-acquired infections; 220,000 others get infected. Treatment is more costly than prevention; estimated costs for 2004 were $82 million. Costs are estimated at $129 million for 2010. That's $12,216 per infected MRSA patient per year due to:

  • Prolonged hospitalization
  • Special control measures
  • Expensive treatments
  • Extensive surveillance

You can successfully reduce healthcare-associated infections with these five evidence-based infection control strategies:

  • Establish an aggressive hand hygiene program
  • Clean and decontaminate the environment and equipment
  • Implement contact precautions for any patient infected or colonized with a superbug
  • Perform MRSA and VRE screening surveillance on admission and at other times
  • Regularly report superbug infection rates to frontline and hospital leaders
Peripheral artery disease (PAD) is a build-up of plaque in the walls of the arteries, blocking the flow of blood to the limbs, most commonly the legs. This vascular disease affects as many as 800,000...
January 23, 2017 
Patient Safety News
There are currently no Events for Healthcare Associated Infections available at this time. Click here to view all

Connexion
CPSI partager              

Les infections nosocomiales, ou infections contractées dans les établissements de santé, sont les événements indésirables les plus fréquents de la prestation des soins de santé à travers le monde.  Elles affectent chaque année des centaines de millions de patients, entraînant une forte mortalité et occasionnant des pertes financières substantielles aux systèmes de santé (Organisation mondiale de la Santé, Fiche de renseignements sur les infections nosocomiales, 2014).
Le Staphylococcus aureus résistant à la méticilline (SARM), l’Enterococcus résistant à la vancomycine (ERV) et le C. difficile sont trois bactéries que l’on retrouve fréquemment dans les hôpitaux canadiens.  Elles peuvent avoir des conséquences allant d’une colonisation asymptomatique jusqu’au choc septique et à la mort. 
Chaque année, environ 8 000 Canadiens meurent des suites d’une infection nosocomiale; 220 000 autres en sont atteints.  Leur traitement est beaucoup plus coûteux que leur prévention; leurs frais estimés étaient de 82 millions de dollars en 2004 et de 129 millions en 2010.  Ce qui représente 12 216 $ par patient infecté par le SARM par année pour les raisons suivantes :
hospitalisation prolongée
mesures de contrôle particulières
traitements dispendieux
surveillance intensive
Vous pouvez arriver à réduire les infections nosocomiales en préconisant ces cinq mesures éprouvées de contrôle des infections :
Instaurer un programme d’hygiène des mains intensif
Nettoyer et décontaminer l’environnement et l’équipement
Instaurer des précautions de contact avec tout patient colonisé ou infecté par une superbactérie
Procéder à des tests de dépistage du SARM et de l’ERV à l’admission et à d’autres moments
Donner un compte-rendu régulier des taux d’infection aux travailleurs de première ligne et à la direction de l’hôpital​

​​


Il n’y a aucun événement pour Infections nosocomiales en ce moment. Cliquer ici pour tout afficher