Sign In
CPSI Share              

​​​​​​​​​​​​Clostridium difficile, commonly called C. difficile, is a bacterium that can produce toxins that damage the lining of the intestines, resulting in symptoms that range from mild diarrhea to death. It is the most common cause of infectious diarrhea in hospitals and long-term care facilities in Canada (Public Health Agency of Canada, Healthcare-Associated Clostridium difficile Infections, 2014). People often become sick because they have received antibiotics that kill off other naturally occurring bacteria in the intestines and allow the C. difficile to thrive.

In the last decade, a new and more virulent strain of C. difficile, NAP-1,  has emerged, and it is spreading across North America and Europe. It produces up to 24 times more toxin than other strains of C. difficile. More toxin means more sick people with diarrhea, leading to more environmental contamination and more C. difficile to potentially infect other patients.

You can successfully reduce the​ transmission of healthcare-associated infections with these six evidence-based infection control strategies:

  • Establish an aggressive hand hygiene program
  • Clean and decontaminate the environment and equipment
  • Implement contact precautions for any patient infected or colonized with a superbug
  • Perform MRSA and VRE screening surveillance on admission and at other times
  • Regularly report superbug infection rates to frontline and hospital leaders
  • Establish and implement an antimicrobial stewardship program

Please note that the Patient Safety Metrics system is no longer accepting data. Click here or email us at info@cpsi-icsp.ca for more information.

In 2014-15, one in 18 hospital stays in Canada involved at least one harmful event (138,000 out of 2.5 million hospital stays). Of those, 30,000 (or one in five) involved more than one form of harm....
October 26, 2016 
Patient Safety News
There are currently no Events for Clostridium difficile available at this time. Click here to view all

Connexion
CPSI partager              

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Le Clostridium difficile, communément appelé C. difficile, est une bactérie qui produit des toxines pouvant endommager la muqueuse intestinale et entraîner des symptômes allant de bénins, telle une diarrhée légère, jusqu'à mortels. Il s'agit de la principale cause de diarrhée infectieuse dans les hôpitaux et les établissements de soins de longue durée au Canada. (Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Infections au Clostridium difficile associées aux soins de santé dans les hôpitaux canadiens, 2014). Dans bien des cas, les gens développent la maladie infectieuse en raison de la prise d'antibiotiques qui détruisent la flore intestinale normale et permettent ainsi au C. difficile de proliférer. 

Au cours de la dernière décennie, une nouvelle souche, plus virulente, a émergé : la souche NAP-1, qui ne cesse de gagner du terrain en Amérique du Nord et en Europe. Celle-ci produit jusqu'à 24 fois plus de toxines que les autres souches de C. difficile, ayant pour conséquence de multiplier les cas de diarrhées, de contaminer davantage l'environnement et d'exposer plus de patients aux risques d'infection associée à cette bactérie. 

Vous pouvez réussir à juguler la propagation des infections nosocomiales en appliquant ces six mesures de contrôle des infections fondées sur des données probantes :

  • établir un programme d'hygiène des mains intensif;
  • procéder au nettoyage et à la décontamination systématique de l'environnement et de l`équipement;
  • instaurer des mesures de précaution de contact avec tout patient colonisé ou infecté par une superbactérie;
  • procéder à des cultures sélectives de dépistage du SARM et de l'ERV à l'admission et à d'autres moments au cours de l'hospitalisation;
  • faire un compte-rendu régulier des taux d'infection aux intervenants de première ligne et à la direction de l'hôpital;

élaborer et mettre en œuvre un programme de gestion antimicrobienne.

Veuillez prendre note que le Système de mesure de la sécurité des patients cesse maintenant de recueillir des données. Cliquez ici ou envoyez-nous un courriel à info@cpsi-icsp.ca pour obtenir plus d’information.


Il n’y a aucun événement pour Clostridium difficile en ce moment. Cliquer ici pour tout afficher