Sign In
CPSI Share              

Carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae ​(CRE) are regular gram-negative bacteria such as Klebsiella and E. coli that all people carry around in their bowels, with one large exception: CRE carry multiple antibiotic-resistance genes, such as NDM-1 and KPC, that make infection very hard to treat. More of these genes are being identified all the time. Organisms carrying these genes were first reported outside of Canada (e.g., the "ND" in NDM-1 stands for "New Delhi"), but we now have documented CRE outbreaks in Canada as well. Most organizations have not yet seen CRE, but it's fairly certain that all organizations will see them within the next few years.

Unfortunately, roughly one in five hospitalized patients colonized with these organisms will develop invasive infections. Gram-negatives can cause infections anywhere in the body, but are particularly known for causing urinary tract, bloodstream, wound, and lung infections. Generally speaking, the sicker the patient, the more likely he or she is to develop an infection with a gram-negative organism.

In the ranking of antibiotic-resistant organisms by impact, CRE are near the top of the list—not just because these organisms are highly resistant, but because they cause serious infections and spread quickly.

For information on screening and treating CRE, please refer to the tools and resources noted below.​​​​

There are currently no News for Carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae (CRE) available at this time. Click here to view all
There are currently no Events for Carbapenem-resistant Enterobacteriaceae (CRE) available at this time. Click here to view all

Connexion
CPSI partager              

​​​​​​Les entérobactéries résistantes aux carbapénèmes (ERC) sont des bacilles Gram négatif,  tels que le Klebsiella et le E. coli qui se trouvent dans les intestins de toute personne, sauf que les ERC ont cette particularité qu'elles portent des gènes multi-antibiorésistants, tels que le NDM-1 et le KPC, qui rendent l'infection extrêmement difficile à traiter. L'on découvre de plus en plus de ces gènes; les premiers ont été rapportés à l'extérieur du Canada (par ex., les lettres « ND » dans le NDM-1 signifient « New Delhi »), mais des éclosions d'ERC ont également été signalées en sol canadien. Bien que peu d'établissements de santé aient été touchés par les ERC jusqu'ici, il est à peu près certain qu'ils le seront tous dans les années qui viennent.

Malheureusement, environ un patient hospitalisé sur cinq colonisé par ces organismes développera une infection invasive. Les bacilles Gram négatif peuvent causer des infections n'importe où dans l'organisme,  mais ils s'attaquent généralement aux voies urinaires, à la circulation sanguine, aux plaies et aux poumons. Règle générale, plus les patients sont malades, plus ils risquent de développer une infection par bactéries Gram négatif.

 

Au palmarès des organismes antibiorésistants les plus menaçants, les ERC ne sont pas loin de remporter la palme, non seulement en raison de leur haute résistance, mais également parce qu'ils causent de graves infections et se propagent rapidement.

 

Pour de l'information sur le dépistage et le traitement des infections à ERC, veuillez consulter les outils et les ressources ci-dessous.


Il n’y a aucune Nouvelle pour Entérobactériacés résistants à la carbapénème en ce moment. Cliquer ici pour tout afficher
Il n’y a aucun événement pour Entérobactériacés résistants à la carbapénème en ce moment. Cliquer ici pour tout afficher