Sign In
CPSI Share                                                      

Sepsis is a potentially fatal condition involving the body's response to a severe infection. It manifests in various ways and may involve fever, low blood pressure, and dysfunction in vital organs such as the brain, heart, kidneys, and lungs.

Sepsis affects 30,000 Canadians each year, and over one-third of these will die if not treated appropriately. As with polytrauma, heart attack, and stroke, the speed and appropriateness of therapy improves patient outcomes.

The Sepsis Getting Started Kit provides you with evidence-based resources to assist you in decreasing sepsis rates in your organization as well as in improving clinical outcomes from septic patients. This free resource contains clinical information, information on the science of improvement, and everything you need to know to start using the intervention.

Drawn from the best available evidence and expert advice, and regularly updated, the Sepsis Getting Started Kit will help to decrease the morbidity and mortality from sepsis in hospitalized patients through a structured approach to prevention, early identification and response to sepsis.

Getting Started Kit

The Sepsis Getting Started Kit is divided into five sections:

Section 1: Prevention, Identification and Response to Sepsis

Section 2: Pediatric Sepsis

Section 3: Maternal Sepsis

Section 4: Measurement – Technical Descriptions and Data Screens

Section 5: Sample Checklists and Other Tools

Want to learn more?  Download the complete Sepsis Getting Started Kit

This document was updated in September 2015

The Model for Improvement is designed to accelerate the pace of improvement using the PDSA cycle; a "trial and learn" approach to improvement based on the scientific method. Please refer to the Improvement Frameworks GSK (2015) for additional information.

For more information, email info@saferhealthcarenow.ca or call 1-866-421-6933

Connexion
CPSI partager                                             

La sepsie est une condition potentiellement mortelle engendrée par la réponse systémique à une infection grave. Elle se manifeste de différentes manières, pouvant induire la fièvre et le dysfonctionnement des organes vitaux comme le cerveau, le cœur, les reins et les poumons.

La sepsie affecte 30 000 Canadiens chaque année, dont plus du tiers mourront en l'absence de soins appropriés. Comme dans le cas de polytraumatismes, de crises cardiaques et d'accidents cérébrovasculaires, la rapidité d'intervention et la pertinence du traitement améliorent grandement sur les résultats des patients.

La trousse En avant sur la sepsie vous fournit des ressources basées sur des données probantes pour vous aider à réduire les taux de sepsie dans votre établissement ainsi qu'à améliorer les résultats cliniques de patients atteints de sepsie. Cette ressource gratuite contient des informations cliniques, des informations sur la science de l'amélioration et tout ce que vous devez savoir pour commencer à utiliser cette stratégie.

Issue des meilleures données probantes et de conseils d'experts, et régulièrement mise à jour, la trousse En avant sur la sepsie vous aidera à diminuer la morbidité et la mortalité liées à la sepsie chez les patients hospitalisés grâce à une approche structurée de prévention, d'identification précoce et d'intervention liés à la sepsie.

Trousse de départ

La Trousse de départ sur la sepsie est divisée en cinq sections :

Section 1 : sepsie - prévention, dépistage et intervention

Section 2 : sepsie infantile

Section 3 : sepsie maternelle

Section 4 : mesure - descriptions techniques et écrans de données

Section 5 : exemples de listes de vérification et autres outils

Vous voulez en savoir plus? Téléchargez la Trousse En avant complète sur la sepsie

Ce document a été mis à jour en septembre 2015

Le modèle d'amélioration est conçu pour accélérer le rythme de l'amélioration en utilisant le cycle PEÉA : une approche d'essai et erreur à l'amélioration fondée sur la méthode scientifique. Veuillez vous rapporter à la trousse En avant sur les cadres de travail sur l'amélioration de la qualité (2015) pour en savoir plus.

Pour obtenir des renseignements additionnels, envoyez un courriel à info@saferhealthcarenow.ca ou composez le 1-866-421-6933