Sign In
CPSI Share                                                         

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI) Safety Competencies Framework was launched in September 2008.  Since its launch, the framework has drawn a lot of interest from health educators and organizations responsible for curriculum development, accreditation, certification and regulation.  In addition, several health organizations have used the framework to inform the continuing professional development of practitioners eager to learn more about the competencies required for safe patient care in practice settings.  Below, are examples from organizations that have embedded the Safety Competencies, in whole or in part, within their frameworks, standards, training requirements, etc.

Capital District Health Authority (Halifax) – Patient Safety Plan

The purpose of the Capital District Health Authority (Capital Health /CDHA) Patient Safety Plan supports and links with the CDHA Integrated Quality Framework (IQF) and Integrated Risk Management Plan (IRMP) to form the Performance Excellence Framework for Capital Health. The guiding principles and philosophy of patient safety at Capital Health are organized following the Six Domains of Safety Competencies as outlined by the Canadian Patient Safety Institute.

Click here to download

St. Michael’s Hospital – SafetyNet Toolkit

This is an interprofessional competency-based patient safety learning approach with implementation and evaluation toolkit.  The purpose of this toolkit is to provide a blueprint and repertoire of tools that other organizations can use and adapt in their efforts to enhance effective teamwork, communication and, ultimately, patient safety.

Click below to download any of the three portions of the St. Michael’s Hospital SafetyNet Toolkit:

The Ottawa Hospital - Patient Safety Corporate Education Program

The Ottawa Hospital Patient Safety Corporate Education Program is a self-directed enterprise learning management system that introduces the learner to the basics of patient safety and how these concepts are integrated into everyday activities to contribute to safe patient care.

Click below to download The Ottawa Hospital Education Program

University of Calgary - Framework to Incorporate Patient Safety into the Undergraduate Medical Education Curriculum

This was a project to identify curriculum changes necessary to ensure that clinical clerks at the University of Calgary can demonstrate mastery of the CPSI Safety Competencies to a level in keeping with their expected knowledge, skills and abilities.

Click here to download

Additional Resources

Research Articles

BMJ Quality and Safety articles highlighting the Safety Competencies Framework

Longwoods Healthcare Papers

Connexion

​​Le cadre des compétences en sécurité de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP) a été lancé en septembre 2008.  Depuis son lancement, le document a attiré beaucoup d’intérêt des formateurs du secteur de la santé et des organismes responsables de la réglementation, de l’agrément de programmes, de la certification, et du développement de curriculum.  En outre, plusieurs organisations de santé ont utilisé le cadre pour orienter le développement professionnel continu des praticiens désireux d’en savoir plus sur les compétences requises pour prodiguer des soins sécuritaires aux patients dans les milieux de pratique.  On trouvera ci-dessous des exemples d’organisations qui ont intégré les compétences de la sécurité, en tout ou en partie, à leurs cadres, normes, exigences de formation, etc.

Hôpital d’Ottawa - Patient Safety Corporate Education Program

Le programme d’entreprise de formation en sécurité des patients de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa est un système autogéré d’entreprise de la gestion de la formation qui initie les étudiants aux rudiments de la sécurité des patients et à la manière dont ces concepts sont intégrés dans les activités quotidiennes pour contribuer à la sécurité des soins aux patients.

Cliquez ci-dessous pour télécharger le programme de formation en sécurité des patients en trois parties de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa (disponible en anglais seulement) :

Hôpital St. Michael – SafetyNet Toolkit

Il s’agit d’une approche interprofessionnelle axée sur les compétences en sécurité des patients, comportant une trousse de mise en œuvre et d’évaluation.  Cette trousse vise à fournir un plan directeur et un répertoire d’outils que les autres organisations peuvent utiliser et adapter à leur guise pour améliorer l’efficacité du travail d’équipe, des communications et, à terme, de la sécurité des patients.

Cliquez ci-dessous pour télécharger les trois parties du SafetyNet Toolkit de l’Hôpital St. Michaels  (disponible en anglais seulement) :

Régie de santé Capital (Halifax) – Plan de sécurité des patients

Le but du Plan de sécurité des patients de la Régie de santé Capital (Halifax) est de faire le lien entre son cadre de qualité intégré et son plan de gestion intégrée des risques, pour constituer ensemble le cadre d’excellence du rendement de la Régie de santé Capital. Les principes directeurs et la philosophie de sécurité des patients de la Régie de santé Capital s’articulent autour des six domaines de compétences en sécurité décrits par l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients.

Cliquez ci-dessous pour télécharger le Plan de sécurité des patients de la Régie de santé Capital (disponible en anglais seulement) :

Cliquez ici pour débuter le téléchargement. 

Université de Calgary - Framework to Incorporate Patient Safety into the Undergraduate Medical Education Curriculum

Il s’agit d’un projet visant à identifier les changements nécessaires aux programmes pour faire en sorte que les étudiants en médecine de l’Université de Calgary puissent démontrer une maîtrise des compétences en sécurité de l’ICSP à un niveau répondant aux attentes relatives à leurs connaissances, compétences et aptitudes.

Cliquez ci-dessous pour télécharger le cadre (disponible en anglais seulement) :

Cliquez ici pour débuter le téléchargement. 

Information complémentaires

Articles de recherche

BMJ Quality and Safety articles highlighting the Safety Competencies Framework

Longwoods Healthcare Papers