Sign In
CPSI Share               

Measurement is a vital part of the quality improvement process. Auditing hand hygiene compliance by health care providers provides a benchmark for improvement. The results of observation audits will help identify the most appropriate interventions for hand hygiene education, training and promotion. Results should be shared with front-line healthcare providers, management and hospital boards.

To support organizations in doing direct observation, CPSI has an observation tool based on the 4 Moments for Hand Hygiene.  This tool is available in electronic (link to content below) and paper (link to content below) format.

CPSI has also adapted a Patient Family Observation Tool that will allow patient and family partners to observe and share information about how healthcare workers participate in optimal hand hygiene.  (link to content below)

Direct observation of hand hygiene practices should be performed by trained observers using a standardized and validated audit tool. Need training on how to conduct Hand Hygiene observations?  Here are some training resources to help you. (link to content below)

CPSI Hand Hygiene Observation Tool (Paper Tool)

This paper tool is for Acute Care only.

Training on how to conduct Hand Hygiene observations

Connexion

​​​​Les indicateurs jouent un rôle crucial dans le processus d’amélioration de la qualité. Vérifier la conformité de l’hygiène des mains du personnel soignant apporte un point de référence pour l’amélioration. Le résultat de ces observations de vérification aidera à identifier l’intervention la mieux adaptée pour l’éducation, la formation et la sensibilisation en hygiène des mains. Les résultats devraient en être diffusés auprès du personnel soignant de première ligne, de la direction et du conseil d’administration de l’hôpital.

Pour aider les établissements à effectuer cette observation directe, l’ICSP dispose d’un outil d’observation basé sur les quatre moments pour l’hygiène des mains

L'ICSP a également adapté un outil d'observation de la famille du patient qui permet au patient et à ses aidants familiaux d'observer et de se partager l'information relative à la manière dont le personnel soignant contribue à une hygiène optimale des mains.

L’observation directe des pratiques d’hygiène des mains doit être effectuée par des observateurs qualifiés, à l’aide d’un outil de vérification normalisé et validé. Vous avez besoin de formation sur la manière d’effectuer des observations de l’hygiène des mains? Voici quelques ressources qui pourraient vous venir en aide.

Outil d’observation de l’hygiène des mains de l’ICSP (outil papier)

L’outil sur papier ne convient qu’aux soins de courte durée.

Formation sur la manière de mener des observations en hygiène des mains