Sign In
CPSI Share                                  

​​​Introduction

This website (the “Website”) is owned and operated by Canadian Patient Safety Institute (“CPSI”). CPSI is the owner and operator of various websites including the websites of Canadian Patient Safety Institute, Safer Healthcare Now!, Hand Hygiene, Patients for Patient Safety Canada, Improving Care Search Centre, Communities of Practice (“CoP”), Global Patient Safety Alerts, and Patient Safety. This Website and any other websites owned and operated by CPSI are in this Website collectively referred to as the CPSI Websites.
This privacy policy outlines the types of information collected by or on behalf of CPSI when you use CPSI Websites and the manner in which CPSI may use and disclose that information. By using this Website, you agree to the terms and conditions set forth in this privacy policy as the same exist at the time of your use of this Website (the “Privacy Policy”). This Privacy Policy may be changed by CPSI at any time without notice and accordingly you should review the Privacy Policy regularly. You will find the date of the last revision of the Privacy Policy at the top of the page.
If you do not agree to terms and conditions of this Privacy Policy, you should discontinue your use of this Website immediately.


Information Collected

Access Information - CPSI servers collect and store information such as the IP address from which you access the Website, your browser type, the date and time you accessed the site, the interest address of the website that you came from, and cookie information (the “Access Information”). This information is anonymous and does not reveal your personal identity.
E-mail Address – Your e-mail address is collected only if you elect to provide the same in conjunction with your use of the CPSI Websites whether as part of Registration Information.
Registration Data – An unregistered user may access text, data, information, recordings, graphics, images, icons and any other content (the “Content”) within any of the CPSI Websites but without access to communities of practice found within CoP (each such community of practice being a “Community”), customized feeds and any other subscribed information (collectively the “Subscribed Content”). A registered user may access Content within any of the CPSI Websites and access Subscribed Content. If you elect to register with one of the CPSI Websites, CPSI’s registration form requires that you disclose your contact information, including name, defined user name, a password, email address, phone number, address, personal preferences and interest topics (the “Registration Data”). Registration does not result in CPSI collecting any personal information other than that which you provide through completion of the registration.
You can deactivate your user account at any time. To deactivate your account, contact cop@cpsi-icsp.ca. Further, you can change your Registration Data you have previously provided. To make changes, contact cop@cpsi-icsp.ca. Please note that usernames cannot be changed.
Cookies - A cookie is a file that is written to your hard drive when you access a website. We use cookies to personalize your access to Content of our Website to your interests and to ensure data security. Upon logging in or entering a Community, or upon logging in or receiving any Subscribed Content, cookies are set to authorize you during your session. Data stored in cookies is encrypted to prevent tampering. Cookies identify you as you navigate the system to ensure that all Community and Subscribed Content rights and permissions are respected (i.e., you can only enter a Community and/or access Subscribed Content that you have been permitted to access).

Remarketing - We use Google, as a third party vendor, to serve Canadian Patient Safety Institute ads on other websites. Google uses cookies to enable it to serve ads to users based on their visits to participating websites. As a result of our use of Google as a vendor and the use of cookies, the ads that you will be served on the internet may in some cases be based on your visit to our Site. You may opt out of the use of cookies for re-marketing purposes by visiting the Google site here: http://www.google.com/settings/ads.

 

Use and Disclosure of Information and Data

General - CPSI may:
  1. Disclose information or data collected by or on its behalf including personally identifying information about you if its believes, in good faith, that disclosure is reasonably necessary to comply with the law or legal process, to enforce the Terms of Use, to protect itself, CPSI Website users, or others. In the event information is required to be disclosed to comply with the law or legal process, any information collected for the purposes of such law or legal process will be destroyed according to provincial and federal guidelines; and 
  2.  
  3. disclose to or permit contractors access to information or data collected by or on its behalf including personally identifying information about you if it believes in good faith, that such disclosure or access is necessary to permit those contractors (including vendors or suppliers that provide CPSI with technology, services, and/or Content for the operation and maintenance of the CPSI Websites) to provide products or services to CPSI. Access to your personally identifiable information by these contractors is limited to the information reasonably necessary for the contractor to perform its limited function for the CPSI. We also contractually require that such and maintenance contractors firstly protect the privacy of your personally identifiable information consistent with this Privacy Policy, and secondly not use or disclose your personally identifiable information for any purpose other than providing CPSI with products and services or as required by law. 
Subject to the foregoing CPSI will use and disclose the following categories of information and data only as permitted pursuant to the following terms and conditions of this Privacy Policy.
Access Information – CPSI uses Access Information to analyze trends in its site traffic, and to improve the content and organization of this Website. Traffic patterns that could identify you personally are not used by CPSI.
E-mail - When you provide your email or send email to any of the CPSI Websites, CPSI will not disclose your e-mail address to individuals outside of the CPSI. Email addresses will only be used by CPSI to respond to your requests for information or if you register for Subscribed Content, to send you the type of information you have requested.
Registration Data - Registration Data is used by CPSI Websites to identify you and your contributions to the system and to provide you with updated information from the CPSI Websites, including Subscribed Content updates, invitations, and service information.
Non-Personal Identifying Information - CPSI may disclose to third parties aggregate information from registration or other collected information regarding the CPSI Websites including registered users, provided that such information will not include personal identifying information about you except if authorized by you.


P​ublic Communities

Some Communities are open for the public to join without restrictions. Please remember that any information disclosed by you in these Communities becomes public information, and exercise caution in disclosing your personal information when participating such Communities.
 


Security

The CPSI Websites have security measures in place to protect against the loss, misuse, and alteration of the information under our control. Some examples of security procedures that CPSI uses to protect your privacy are: 
  • Requires both a personal username (log0in name) and a password in order for users to access their Personally Identifiable Information
  • Uses firewalls to protect information held in our servers in a secured data centre
  • Utilizes Secure Socket Layer (SSL) encryption in transmitting Personally Identifiable Information to our servers In order to take advantage of encryption technology, you must have an Internet browser which supports 128-bit encryption
  • Closely monitors the limited number of CPSI employees who have potential access to your Personally Identifiable Information
  • Requires all CPSI employees to abide by our Privacy Policy and to be subject to disciplinary action if they violate it
  • Back-up our systems to protect the integrity of your Personally Identifiable Information 

Links to External Websites

The CPSI Website contains links to external websites. CPSI is not responsible for the privacy practices or content of these websites. We encourage you to read the Privacy Policies of these linked sites, because their privacy practices may differ from ours.

Connexion
CPSI Share           

Introduction

Le présent site Web (le site Web) est la propriété de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP) qui en assure le fonctionnement. L’ICSP possède et exploite divers sites Web dont celui de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, celui des Soins de santé plus sécuritaires maintenant (SSPSM), celui du Défi national de l’hygiène des mains, celui des Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada (PPSCP), celui de Centre de recherche sur l’amélioration des soins, celui des Communautés de pratique, celui des Alertes mondiales sur la sécurité des patients (AMSP) et celui des Mesures sur la sécurité des patients. Le présent site Web et tous les autre sites appartenant à l’ICSP ou exploité par lui sont regroupés sous l’appellation « sites Web de l’ICSP ».
Le présent énoncé de politique de confidentialité précise les types de renseignements que nous recueillons ou que nous faisons recueillir en notre nom lorsque vous consultez un site Web de l’ICSP et comment l’ICSP peut utiliser et divulguer ces renseignements. En accédant à ce site Web, vous acceptez les modalités et conditions énoncées dans sa politique de confidentialité telle qu’elle est alors rédigée. En tout temps, l’ICSP se réserve le droit de modifier sa politique de confidentialité sans préavis; les utilisateurs sont donc invités à la consulter régulièrement. La date de la dernière révision de la politique de confidentialité est indiquée dans le haut de la page.

Si vous n’acceptez pas les modalités et conditions de la présente politique de confidentialité, vous devez cesser de consulter ce site immédiatement.
 

Renseignements recueillis 

Échange automatique d’informations – Les serveurs de l’ICSP recueillent et enregistrent des informations comme l’adresse de votre fournisseur de services internet à partir de laquelle vous accédez au site Web, le type de navigateur utilisé, la date et l’heure d’accès au site, l’adresse du site référant et les informations transmises par le témoin (cookie), soit les « informations d’accès ». Ces renseignements sont anonymes et ne révèlent pas votre identité.
 
Adresse de courriel – Votre adresse de courriel est compilée seulement si vous choisissez de la fournir à l’occasion d’une visite à une page des sites de l’ICSP, lors de votre inscription.
 
Données d’inscription – Tout utilisateur  non inscrit a accès aux textes, aux données, aux renseignements, aux enregistrements, aux graphiques, aux images, aux icônes et à d’autres contenus (le contenu) de toutes les pages des sites Web de l’ICSP, à l’exception des pages des communautés de pratiques (ces pages appartenant à des « communautés »), aux flux personnalisés et aux autres pages réservées aux abonnés (soit la totalité du contenu disponible sur abonnement). Un utilisateur inscrit a accès à la totalité du contenu des sites de l’ICSP ainsi qu’au contenu disponible sur abonnement. Si vous décidez de vous inscrire à l’un des sites de l’ICSP, vous devez fournir vos coordonnées dont votre nom, le nom d’utilisateur que vous utilisez, un mot de passe, votre adresse de courriel, votre numéro de téléphone, votre adresse, vos intérêts personnels et les sujets qui vous intéressent (les données d’inscription). L’inscription ne signifie pas que l’ICSP recueille quelque autre renseignement personnel que ce soit, exception faite de ceux fournis lors de l’inscription. Les données d’inscription sont séparées des informations recueillies automatiquement lors de l’accès aux pages du site.
 
Vous pouvez désactiver votre compte d’utilisateur n’importe quand. Pour désactiver votre compte, communiquez par courriel à l’adresse cop@cpsi-icsp.ca. Vous pouvez également modifier vos données d’inscription en envoyant un courriel à l’adresse cop@cpsi-icsp.ca. Veuillez prendre note qu’il est impossible de modifier les noms d’utilisateur.
 

Témoins – Un témoin (cookie) est un fichier enregistré dans votre disque rigide lorsque vous accédez à un site Web. Nous nous servons des témoins pour personnaliser votre accès au contenu de notre site Web en fonction de vos intérêts et pour assurer la sécurité des données. Lorsque vous ouvrez une session, accédez à une communauté de pratiques ou recevez un contenu disponible seulement sur abonnement, des témoins sont utilisés pour autoriser votre session. Les données des témoins sont cryptées pour prévenir toute falsification. Les témoins vous identifient durant votre navigation dans le site pour s’assurer que vous respectez tous les droits et permissions reliés aux communautés et aux contenus disponibles seulement sur abonnement (c’est-à-dire que vous pouvez seulement entrer dans les communautés ou accéder aux contenus disponibles sur abonnements autorisés).

Recommercialisation - Nous utilisons Google comme fournisseur tiers pour distribuer la publicité de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients sur d’autres ites. Google utilise des fichiers témoins pour livrer cette publicité aux usagers en fonction de leurs visites aux sites Web participants. En conséquence de ce choix de Google comme fournisseur et de cette utilisation de témoins, la publicité à laquelle vous serez exposée pourrait dans certains cas se baser sur votre visite de notre site. Vous pouvez désactiver l’utilisation de fichiers témoins à ces fins de recommercialisation en visitant le site de Google suivant : http://www.google.com/settings/ads.
 

Utilisation et divulgation des renseignements et des données

Généralités – L’ICSP peut :
 
  1. Divulguer les données ou les renseignements recueillis par lui ou en son nom, y compris vos coordonnées personnelles s’il estime, en toute bonne foi, que cette divulgation est raisonnablement nécessaire pour se conformer aux textes de loi ou à une procédure judiciaire, pour respecter les conditions d’utilisation ou pour se protéger lui-même, les utilisateurs de ses sites Web ou d’autres. Lorsque quelque renseignement que ce soit doit être divulgué pour se conformer à la loi ou à une procédure judiciaire, il sera détruit conformément aux politiques de la province et du gouvernement fédéral.
  2. Divulguer à des entrepreneurs ou les autoriser à consulter les renseignements ou les données recueillis par lui ou en son nom, y compris vos coordonnées personnelles s’il estime, en toute bonne foi, que cette divulgation ou cet accès sont raisonnablement nécessaires pour permettre à des entrepreneurs (dont des fournisseurs de technologie, de services, ou de contenus à l’ISPC pour l’exploitation et la tenue à jour de ses sites Web) de lui fournir des produits ou des services. L’accès à vos renseignements personnels est limité aux renseignements jugés raisonnablement nécessaires pour permettre à l’entrepreneur d’exercer ses fonctions limitées pour l’ICSP. Par contrat, nous exigeons que ces entrepreneurs et les fournisseurs préposés à l’entretien s’engagent à respecter la confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels conformément à notre politique de confidentialité et qu’ils n’utilisent pas ou ne divulguent pas ces renseignements personnels pour d’autres fins que la fourniture de produits et services à l’ICSP ou d’exécution de la loi.
Sous réserve des paragraphes précédents, l’ICSP utilisera et divulguera les catégories suivantes de renseignements et de données seulement en conformité avec les modalités et conditions suivantes de sa politique de confidentialité.
 
Échange automatique d’informations – L’ICSP se sert des données échangées automatiquement pour analyser les tendances du trafic sur son site et pour améliorer le contenu et l’organisation de son site. Les habitudes de transmission ne sont pas utilisées pour vérifier votre identité.
 
Adresse de courriel – Les adresses de courriel fournies dans les sites Web de l’ICSP ou recueillies à la suite de l’envoi d’un courriel ne sont divulguées à personne à l’extérieur de l’ICSP. Elles sont utilisées seulement pour répondre à vos demandes de renseignements ou, si vous vous inscrivez à un contenu disponible sur abonnement seulement, pour vous faire parvenir les types d’informations que vous avez demandés. Les adresses de courriel des personnes membres d’une communauté de pratiques sont fournies aux autres membres inscrits à cette même communauté.
 
Données d’inscription – L’ICSP se sert des données d’inscriptions pour vous identifier et identifier vos contributions au site et pour vous fournir des mises à jour sur ses sites Web, dont des mises à jour des contenus disponibles seulement sur abonnement, des invitations et des renseignements sur le service. Le nom d’utilisateur et l’adresse de courriel des personnes membres d’une communauté de pratiques sont fournis aux autres membres inscrits à cette même communauté.
 
Renseignements ne compromettant pas l’identité des personnes – L’ICSP peut divulguer à des tierces parties des renseignements agrégés des inscriptions ou d’autres renseignements recueillis et portant sur ses sites Web, comme des renseignements sur les utilisateurs inscrits, sous réserve qu’ils ne contiennent pas d’information permettant d’identifier une personne, sauf autorisation fournie par l’utilisateur.
 

Communautés publiques

Certaines communautés sont ouvertes au public qui peut s’y joindre et participer aux discussions sans restriction. Veuillez noter que tout renseignement divulgué par un utilisateur dans les forums de ces communautés devient une information publique et qu’il faut donc faire preuve de discernement avant de fournir des renseignements personnels lors de l’adhésion à ces communautés.
 

Sécurité

Des dispositifs de sécurité protègent les sites Web de l’ICSP contre la perte, le mésusage et la falsification des informations sous son contrôle. Voici quelques exemples de procédures de sécurité utilisées par l’ICSP pour protéger vos renseignements personnels :
  • Pour avoir accès aux renseignements personnels permettant de vous identifier il faut utiliser votre nom d’utilisateur (nom de connexion) et votre mot de passe.
  • Des pare-feu protègent les renseignements conservés dans nos serveurs, installés dans un centre de données sécurisé.
  • Nos sites d’échange sont sécurisés et les échanges de renseignements personnels permettant de vous identifier avec nos serveurs sont cryptés (SSL). Pour profiter pleinement de la technologie de cryptage, votre navigateur Internet doit pouvoir utiliser les algorithmes d’encryptage de 128 bit
  • L’ICSP surveille de près le nombre limité de ses employés susceptibles d’avoir accès aux renseignements personnels qui pourraient permettre de vous identifier.
  • Tous les employés de l’ICSP sont tenus de respecter la politique de confidentialité de l’Institut et peuvent faire l’objet de sanctions en cas de contraventio
  • Nous faisons des copies de sauvegarde de nos systèmes pour protéger l’intégrité de tous les renseignements personnels qui pourraient permettre de vous identifier.

Liens vers des sites Web externes

Les sites Web de l’ICSP contiennent des hyperliens vers des sites externes. L’ICSP n’assume aucune responsabilité quant aux politiques de confidentialité ou aux contenus de ces sites. Nous vous invitons à lire les politiques de confidentialité de ces sites accessibles par des hyperliens parce que ces politiques peuvent être différentes de celle de l’ICSP.