Sign In
CPSI Share                                                           

What is TeamSTEPPS?

TeamSTEPPS® is an acronym for Team Strategies and Tools to Enhance Performance and Patient Safety. It is a teamwork system developed jointly by the Department of Defense (DoD) and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to improve institutional collaboration and communication relating to patient safety. 

In our efforts to advance patient safety by way of improved teamwork, communication and patient safety culture through the SHIFT to Safety program, the Canadian Patient Safety Institute has licensed the use of TeamSTEPPS Canada™, adopted and adapted the program, and is making it available to the Canadian healthcare community.

What are the key elements of TeamSTEPPS Canada™ being introduced?

TeamSTEPPS Canada™ includes three streams of work that will be introduced in a phased approach:

  1. The TeamSTEPPS Canada™ program has been enhanced with curriculum and resources to suit the Canadian context, including development of a future TeamSTEPPS Canada™ module for patients. The Canadian Patient Safety Institute will offer the TeamSTEPPS Canada™ curriculum materials and resources in English and French on its website, and provide any new content and enhancements as they become available.
  2. The Canadian Patient Safety Institute is launching TeamSTEPPS Canada™ Regional Training Centres with the Health Quality Council of Alberta as a pilot test site. The Regional Training Centres will develop Canadian TeamSTEPPS Canada™ Master Trainers, who will return to their organizations poised to train others and implement the TeamSTEPPS Canada™ curriculum, tools and resources.  This pilot will form the basis for planning future TeamSTEPPS Canada™ Regional Training Centres.
  3. The Canadian Patient Safety Institute will develop and launch learning and professional development opportunities and a network targeted to TeamSTEPPS Canada™ Master Trainers and users. Current plans include the development of a national webinar series with offerings that will focus on key theme areas relevant to users and Master Trainers in their TeamSTEPPS Canada™ training and implementation journey.

Why has the Canadian Patient Safety Institute invested in TeamSTEPPS Canada?

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute has a high level of experience and expertise in delivering educational programs. TeamSTEPPS Canada™ augments our ability to embed curriculum on teamwork, communication and patient safety culture, which creates a more well-rounded patient safety education program.

With SHIFT to Safety being our go-to-source for patient safety information across the country, we know that TeamSTEPPS Canada™ is a natural fit for providing providers, leaders and patients a comprehensive curriculum to significantly improve teamwork and communication skills within the healthcare team. Effective teamwork skills are essential for safe, quality healthcare that prevents and mitigates harm.

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute, through our faculty and Training Centers, will help Canadian healthcare teams implement TeamSTEPPS Canada™ modules and content to address patient safety challenges. Our long term vision is to connect and engage healthcare facilities with a growing Canadian TeamSTEPPS Canada™ community, and learn from our international TeamSTEPPS colleagues.

Who should take the TeamSTEPPS Canada program, and why?

The program is designed for providers, leaders and patients alike, from a variety of healthcare settings, including acute, primary, long-term and ambulatory care fields. TeamSTEPPS Canada™ is a teamwork system that offers a powerful solution to improving collaboration and communication within your organization.

Teamwork has been found to be one of the key initiatives within patient safety. TeamSTEPPS has been shown to improve safety and transform culture in healthcare through the promotion of teachable, learnable skills that lead to better teamwork, communication, leadership, situation monitoring, and mutual support with and among teams.

How can I become a TeamSTEPPS Canada™ Master Trainer?

The TeamSTEPPS Canada™ program consists of 12 modules. The Essentials course is a brief (1-2 hours) introduction to the TeamSTEPPS framework, and the tools and strategies contained in the TeamSTEPPS Pocket Guide. The Fundamentals course teaches the core teamwork skills in seven modules, which are represented in the elements of the TeamSTEPPS Framework Triangle model. Completion of the Fundamentals course is prerequisite to the Master Trainer course (modules 8-12). The Master Trainer course focuses on topics related to the implementation and sustainment of TeamSTEPPS.

The Health Quality Council of Alberta will deliver an inaugural TeamSTEPPS Canada™ Master Trainer program in Calgary, Alberta, May 8 and 9, 2018. For more information, visit www.hqca.ca The Canadian Patient Safety Institute has also partnered with the Atlantic Health Quality and Patient Safety Council to offer a TeamSTEPPS Canada training session in Halifax, in April 2018.

Where can I get more information about TeamSTEPPS Canada?

Visit www.teamstepps-canada.com

Connexion
CPSI partager                                             

TeamSTEPPS, qu'est-ce que c'est?

TeamSTEPPSMD est l'acronyme de Team Strategies and Tools to Enhance Performance and Patient Safety.  Il s'agit d'un système de travail d'équipe élaboré conjointement par le ministère de la Défense des États-Unis et l'Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) afin de rendre plus efficaces la collaboration et la communication organisationnelles en matière de sécurité des patients.

Dans la foulée de ses efforts pour améliorer le travail d'équipe et la communication et promouvoir une culture de la sécurité des patients par le truchement du programme VIREZ en mode sécurité, l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients a obtenu l'autorisation d'utiliser le programme TeamSTEPPS Canada™, l'a adopté et adapté et le rend disponible à la communauté canadienne de la santé.

Quels sont les principaux éléments de TeamSTEPPS Canada™ qui sont intégrés?

TeamSTEPPS Canada™ comprend trois flux de travail distincts qui seront intégrés suivant une approche par étapes :

  1. Le programme TeamSTEPPS Canada™ a adapté le contenu en intégrant un curriculum et des ressources qui répondent à la réalité canadienne, y compris l'élaboration d'un module TeamSTEPPS Canada™ prochainement offert à l'intention des patients. L'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients offrira le contenu et les ressources du curriculum en français et en anglais sur son site Web, qu'il étoffera de nouvelles informations et améliorations au fur et à mesure qu'elles seront disponibles.
  2. L'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients crée centres de formation régionaux  TeamSTEPPS Canada™; le Health Quality Council of Alberta sert actuellement de site pilote. Ces centres formeront des maîtres-formateurs qui, de retour dans leurs organisations respectives, seront en mesure de former d'autres personnes et de mettre en œuvre le curriculum, les outils et les ressources TeamSTEPPS CanadaMC.  L'initiative pilote en cours jette les bases de la mise en place de futurs centres de formation régionaux.
  3. L'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients créera et lancera des occasions d'apprentissage et de perfectionnement professionnel, ainsi qu'un réseau destiné aux maîtres-formateurs et utilisateurs de  TeamSTEPPS Canada™.  Nous planchons actuellement sur la conception d'une série nationale de webinaires qui aborderont des thèmes clés s'avérant utiles aux usagers et aux maîtres-formateurs dans leurs initiatives de formation et de mise en œuvre.

Pourquoi l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients a-t-il investi dans TeamSTEPPS Canada™?

L'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients possède une vaste expérience et expertise en matière de prestation de programmes éducatifs.  TeamSTEPPS Canada™ accroît notre capacité à présenter du contenu sur le travail d'équipe, la communication et la culture de sécurité des patients, ce qui nous permet d'offrir un programme de formation plus complet en sécurité des patients.

Jumelé au programme VIREZ en mode sécurité qui se veut une source de référence pour obtenir de l'information sur la sécurité des patients partout au pays, TeamSTEPPS Canada™ s'avère le complément naturel, fournissant aux prestataires de soins, aux dirigeants et aux patients un cursus exhaustif susceptible d'améliorer de façon significative les compétences en travail d'équipe et en communication au sein des équipes du milieu de la santé. Les compétences favorisant l'efficacité du travail d'équipe sont essentielles pour assurer une prestation de soins sécuritaire et de qualité, qui prévient et réduit les préjudices. 

Par l'entremise de sa faculté d'experts et de ses centres de formation, l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients aidera les équipes de soins de santé canadiennes à mettre en œuvre les modules TeamSTEPPS et leur contenu afin de répondre aux enjeux de la sécurité des patients. Notre vision à long terme est de mobiliser et de mettre en réseau les établissements de santé au sein d'une communauté  TeamSTEPPS Canada™ grandissante, et d'apprendre de nos collègues TeamSTEPPS internationaux.

À qui s'adresse le programme TeamSTEPPS Canada, et pourquoi?

Le programme est conçu à l'intention des prestataires de soins, des dirigeants et des patients des divers secteurs de soins, dont les soins aigus, les soins primaires, les soins de longue durée et les soins ambulatoires.  TeamSTEPPS Canada™ est un système de travail d'équipe qui offre une puissante solution vous permettant d'améliorer la collaboration et la communication au sein de votre organisation.

Le travail d'équipe s'est avéré un enjeu prioritaire de la sécurité des patients. Le programme TeamSTEPPS a démontré son efficacité pour améliorer la sécurité et transformer la culture en santé par l'acquisition de compétences spécifiques, transmissibles par l'enseignement et l'apprentissage, qui se traduisent en une amélioration du travail d'équipe, de la communication, du leadership, du suivi de la situation et du soutien mutuel à l'intérieur des équipes et entre elles. 

Comment puis-je devenir un maître-formateur TeamSTEPPS CanadaMC?

Le programme TeamSTEPPS Canada™ comprend 12 modules de formation. Le cours sur les notions essentielles (TeamSTEPPS Essentials) consiste en une brève introduction (1-2 heures) au cadre de travail TeamSTEPPS et aux outils et stratégies contenues dans le guide de poche TeamSTEPPS Pocket Guide. Le cours sur les fondements TeamSTEPPS (TeamSTEPPS Fundamentals), subdivisé en sept modules, enseigne les compétences clés du travail d'équipe, lesquelles sont représentées dans les éléments du Triangle du cadre de travail TeamSTEPPS. Ce cours sur les fondements TeamSTEPPS est un prérequis pour suivre le cours du maître-formateur (Master Trainer) (modules 8 à 12). Ce dernier cours met l'accent sur la mise en œuvre et le maintien de TeamSTEPPS.

La prestation inaugurale du programme de formation du maître  TeamSTEPPS Canada™ se tiendra sous l'égide de Health Quality Council of Alberta les 8 et 9 mai 2018 à Calgary. Pour plus d'information, visitez www.hqca.ca. L'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients a également créé un partenariat avec le Conseil de l'Atlantique sur la qualité des soins et la sécurité des patients (Atlantic Health Quality and Patient Safety Council) afin d'offrir une séance de formation TeamSTEPPS Canada™ à Halifax en avril 2018.

Où puis-je obtenir plus d'information à propos de TeamSTEPPS Canada™?

Visitez www.teamstepps-canada.ca