Sign In
CPSI Share                                                      
11/17/2017 1:00 AM 11/18/2017 9:00 AM Workshop

About the Session

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI), in collaboration with Patients for Patient Safety Canada (PFPSC), Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital (HBKRH) and the Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids), is pleased to offer the Become a Patient and Family Leader Patient Safety Trainer course.

This is a high impact, train-the-trainer patient safety education program for Patient and Family leaders and advisory members. This session will provide key elements of understanding for patients and families surrounding system issues that contribute to patient safety, as well as how to partner effectively with clinicians to co-create safe systems within healthcare.

This session is intended for Patient and Family members currently supporting healthcare organizations with Patient and Family Engagement initiatives. Patient and Family members will learn about patient safety content and how to teach to advance patient safety knowledge.

Program Objectives

Program participants will learn how to:

  • effectively teach other patient and family leaders using the Patient Safety Education Program (PSEP) – Canada Core Curriculum about patient safety content, including teamwork, communication, safety culture and undertsanding how to effectively partner with healthcare providers
  • influence other patients and families' attitudes and behaviours toward an understanding that patient safety is essential in their or their loved one's care. This would include an understanding of the factors which can reduce the risk of patient harm/contribute significantly to improving patient safety in the healthcare environment
  • utilize the PSEP – Canada Core Curriculum to engage and inspire patient and family leaders when partnering in the design and implementation of quality and safety improvement projects
  • collaborate effectively with clinicians in the shared responsiblity of patient safety, for example, identifying environmental factors that may contribute to patient harm and communicating concerns with clinicians, staff or administration
  • contribute to the culture of patient safety across the organization using various approaches to manage risks and influence system change
  • participate in a significant cultural shift of patient safety education for patients and families within the organization by acquiring skills and abilities to teach patient safety to others

Conference Information Brochure

Click here to download a copy of the program information brochure, which includes the course agenda and general session information.

Executive Session Webinar

To support the spread and sustainability of PSEP – Canada initiatives and to provide a strong endorsement of the patient and family leaders efforts, senior executive sponsorship is a critical success factor.  Participants in the program are encouraged to have a commitment from an Executive Sponsor from their supporting healthcare organization to take part in a post course executive session webinar which will be hosted on:

December 13th, 2017 [12:00 – 1:00 pm ET]

Please include your Executive Sponsor's contact information from your supporting healthcare organization upon registering for this event.  If you do not have a supporting organization who is sponsoring your participation in this event, please disregard this section on the registration form.

Registration

The registration fee for participants is $899 per person plus HST.

Note: This session is intended for Patient and Family Members currently supporting healthcare organizations with Patient and Family Engagement initiatives.  We ask that participants register their sponsoring organization for the executive session webinar at the same time as they register for the course. (no additional fee for Executive Sponsor Webinar)

Registration Deadline:  October 20th, 2017

Once registered, information will be disseminated via email to registered participants beginning 4 weeks before the start of the course.  Participants will receive pre-reading materials, be asked to complete a needs assessment survey and a short pre-test for program evaluation purposes before attending the course.

Cancelation Policy

CANCELLATIONS must be submitted at least two (2) weeks prior to the start of the conference in writing via email to psepcanada@cpsi-icsp.ca, or 25% of your base fee(s) will be retained as compensation. No refunds will be given for cancellations received less than five business days prior to the event. Substitutions are welcome.

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute reserves the right to cancel or reschedule a conference subject to registrations. In the case of event cancellation registrants will be notified by email and be offered a full refund.

Venue

Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)
Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning
686 Bay Street
Toronto, Ontario

Accommodations

A block of rooms has been reserved for course participants at the Pantages Hotel Downtown Toronto at the negotiated rate of $189/night (limited availability – book before October 18th). 

Individuals shall call the Hotel directly at 416-362-1777 x 1 or 1-855-852-1777 to advise name, arrival and departure date, and advise reservations agent of group rate Canadian Patient Safety Institute - Courtesy Block (code # 550364). Any individual reservation related inquires should be directed to reservations@silverhotelgroup.com.

For more information

For additional event information and questions, please contact the PSEP – Canada team at psepcanada@cpsi-icsp.ca or by telephone at 1 866 421 6933 ext 8225.

Connexion
CPSI partager                                        
11/17/2017 1:00 AM 11/18/2017 9:00 AM Atelier

À propos de la séance

L'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (l'ICSP), en collaboration avec Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada, l'Hôpital de réadaptation pour enfants Holland Bloorview (HBKRH) et l'Hôpital pour enfants malades (SickKids), est heureux d'offrir le cours « Devenir un formateur en sécurité des patients pour les patients et familles ». 

Ce cours offre un programme complet de formation en sécurité des patients à impact élevé destiné aux dirigeants de patients et de familles et membres consultatifs. Cette séance fournira aux patients et familles des éléments clés de compréhension concernant les problèmes systémiques qui contribuent à la sécurité des patients, ainsi que la façon de collaborer efficacement avec les cliniciens pour co-créer des systèmes de sécurité au sein du milieu de la santé.

Cette session s'adresse aux patients et membres de la famille qui soutiennent actuellement l'organisation des soins de santé avec des initiatives d'engagement des patients et des familles. Les patients et membres de la famille se renseigneront sur le contenu de la sécurité des patients et sur l'apprentissage de la connaissance de la sécurité des patients.

Objectifs du programme

Les participants au programme apprendront :

  • Enseigner efficacement à d'autres patients et familles le Programme de base d'éducation en sécurité des patients - Canada, y compris le travail d'équipe, la communication, la culture de la sécurité, et la compréhension des stratégies pour établir des partenariats efficaces avec les prestataires de soins de santé.
  • À orienter les attitudes et les comportements d'autres familles vers la compréhension que la sécurité des patients est essentielle dans le cadre des soins de leur enfant. Cela comprend une compréhension des facteurs qui peuvent réduire le risque de préjudice pour le patient / ou contribuer de manière importante à l'amélioration de la sécurité des patients dans le contexte des soins de santé.
  • Utiliser le Programme de base d'éducation en sécurité des patients - Canada (PESPC) afin d'engager et d'inspirer les leaders familiaux lors du travail collaboratif de conception et de mise en œuvre des projets d'amélioration de la qualité et de la sécurité.
  • Collaborer efficacement avec les cliniciens en assumant une responsabilité partagé de la sécurité des patients par exemple, en identifiant des facteurs environnementaux qui peuvent contribuer aux préjudices subis par les patients et en communiquant les préoccupations avec les cliniciens, le personnel ou l'administration.
  • Contribuer à la culture de la sécurité des patients à l'échelle de l'organisme en utilisant différentes approches pour gérer les risques et affecter le changement du système.
  • Participer à un important changement à la culture dans l'éducation sur la sécurité des patients pour les familles et les jeunes au sein de l'organisme en faisant l'acquisition de compétences et d'aptitudes pour l'enseignement de la sécurité des patients à d'autres.

Circulaire

Cliquez ici pour télécharger une copie de la brochure d'information sur le programme, qui comprend l'ordre du jour et informations générales de la conférence. (en anglais seulement)

(En anglais seulement)

Webinaire exécutif

Afin de soutenir la propagation et la durabilité des initiatives de PSEP – Canada et de soutenir fortement les efforts des patients et des dirigeants familiaux, le parrainage des cadres supérieurs est un facteur de réussite critique. Les participants au programme sont encouragés à s'engager auprès d'un cadre exécutif de leur organisation de soutien à participer à un webinaire de formation post-cours qui sera hébergé le 13 décembre 2017 [12:00 - 1:00 pm HE].

Veuillez inclure les coordonnées de votre cadre exécutif de votre organisation parrainante lors de votre inscription à cet événement. Si vous ne possédez pas d'organisme de soutien qui parraine votre participation à cet événement, veuillez négliger cette section sur le formulaire d'inscription.

Inscription

Les frais d'inscription sont 899 $ par personne (taxes en sus).

Note: Cette session s'adresse aux patients et membres de la famille qui soutiennent actuellement l'organisation des soins de santé avec des initiatives d'engagement des patients et des familles.  Nous demandons aux participants d'inscrire leur cadre exécutif de leur organisation parrainante en même temps qu'ils s'inscrivent au cours. (aucun frais supplémentaire pour le webinaire exécutif)

Date limite d'inscription:  Le 20 octobre, 2017

Une fois inscrit, de l'information concernant le cours sera diffusé par courriels dans les 4 semaines suivant le début du cours. Les participants recevront du matériel de prélecture, seront invités à remplir un questionnaire d'évaluation des besoins et completer un pré-test a fin d'évaluarion du programme avant d'assister au cours.

Politique d'annulation

Les ANNULATIONS doivent nous parvenir par courriel ou téléphone (voir les renseignements ci-dessous) au moins deux (2) semaines avant le début de la conférence, faute de quoi nous retiendrons 25 % de vos frais de base en dédommagement.

Aucun remboursement ne sera accordé pour les annulations reçues moins de cinq jours ouvrés avant l'événement.  Les substitutions sont les bienvenues.

L'ICSP réserve le droit d'annuler ou de reprogrammer un événement.  Dans le cas de d'annulation, les personnes inscrites seront informées par courrier électronique et bénéficieront d'un plein remboursement.

Lieu de la conférence

L'Hôpital pour enfants malades (SickKids)
Le Centre Peter Gilgan pour la recherche et l'apprentissage
686 rue Bay,
Toronto, ON

Hébergement

Un bloc de chambres a été réservé pour les participants du cours au Pantages Hotel Downtown Toronto au tarif négocié de 189 $ la nuit (disponibilité limitée – réservez avant le 18 octobre).

Les personnes doivent appeler l'Hôtel directement au 416-362-1777 x 1 ou au 1-855-852-1777 pour indiquer le nom, l'arrivée et la date de départ, et conseiller l'agent des réservations du taux de groupe de l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients – bloc de courtoisie (code 550364) . Toute demande de réservation individuelle doit être adressée à reservations@silverhotelgroup.com.

Nous joindre

Pour toute autre information ou toute question, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec l'équipe du PESP – Canada à psepcanada@cpsi-icsp.ca ou au 1-866-421-6933, poste 8225.