Sign In
CPSI Share                                                         
 

​​Brian Wheelock is a retired neurosurgeon currently serving on the Horizon Quality and Safety Committee in New Brunswick.  He is also an Assistant Professor, Division of Neurosurgery, Dalhousie University.  He is a member of several medical associations that include the Canadian Neurosurgical Society, the Canadian Spine Society and Canadian Medical Association.  He has been a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada since 1983.

Brian has a long history in clinical and administrative medicine, and, as well, has been intimately involved in activities of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI) locally and regionally.  He brings advanced knowledge of patient safety matters to the CPSI Board as a surveyor for Accreditation Canada. He is a former president of the Canadian Neurosurgical Society and Canadian Congress of Neurological Sciences.  From 2002 to 2006, he was on the Board of the Canadian Neurological Foundation. 

Brian also finds time for extracurricular activities, he is the past Chair of the YM-YWCA Endowment Board, and is an avid sailor having served as a National Race Officer for the Canadian Yachting Association.

Connexion
CPSI partager                                                 

Neurochirurgien à la retraite, Brian Wheelock siège présentement au Comité de sécurité du Réseau de santé Horizon du Nouveau-Brunswick.  Il est aussi professeur adjoint dans la Division de neurochirurgie à l'Université Dalhousie.  Il est membre de diverses associations médicales, notamment la Canadian Neurosurgical Society, la Société canadienne du rachis et l'Association médicale canadienne et il est depuis 1983 un fellow du Collège Royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. 

Brian possède une longue expérience dans le domaine de la médecine clinique et administrative, et il s'est impliqué de près dans les activités locales et régionales de l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP).  À titre de visiteur d'Agrément Canada, il apporte au conseil de l'ICSP de vastes connaissances sur les questions de sécurité des patients. Il est aussi ancien président de la Canadian Neurosurgical Society et ancien président du Congrès canadien des sciences neurologiques. De 2002 à 2006, il a siégé au conseil de la Canadian Neurological Foundation. 

Brian trouve aussi le temps de s'adonner à des activités extra professionnelles : il a présidé le YM-YWCA Endowment Board et sa passion de la voile l'a amené à devenir juge national pour Voile Canada.