Sign In
CPSI Share              

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​According to research, surgical site infection is the most common healthcare-associated infection among surgical patients, with 77% of patient deaths reported to be related to infection. It is obviously important to improve patient safety by reducing the occurrence of surgical site infections.

The Centers for Di​sease Control reports that while advances have been made in infection control practices, including improved operating room ventilation, sterilization methods, barriers, surgical technique, and availability of antimicrobial prophylaxis, SSI remains a substantial cause of morbidity, prolonged hospitalization, and death.

You can take action to reduce SSIs with these four components of care:

  • Perioperative antimicrobial coverage
  • Appropriate hair removal
  • Maintenance of perioperative glucose control
  • Perioperative normothermia

For additional information, please contact info@cpsi-isp.ca.

Please note that the Patient Safety Metrics system is no longer accepting data. Click here or email us at metrics@saferhealthcarenow.ca for more information.

​University Health Network (UHN) has embarked on a patient safety transformation following the principles and approaches that are used by high reliability organizations. Known as Caring Safely, the...
July 21, 2016 
Patient Safety News
February 2016 is designated as Canadian Surgical Site Infection (SSI) Prevention Audit Month, where healthcare teams across the country will measure compliance with best practices in the prevention...
December 21, 2015 
Safer Healthcare Now!
There are currently no Events for Surgical Site Infection (SSI) available at this time. Click here to view all

Connexion
CPSI partager              

​​​​Les études révèlent que les infections du site opératoire sont les infections associées aux soins de santé les plus fréquentes chez les patients chirurgicaux, 77 pour cent des décès de patients signalés y étant liés. De toute évidence, la prévention des infections du site opératoire s'avère un enjeu important pour accroître la sécurité des patients.

Le Center for Disease Control rapporte que même si des progrès ont été réalisés dans les pratiques de contrôle des infections, y compris dans la ventilation des salles d'opération, les méthodes de stérilisation, les barrières, la technique chirurgicale et la disponibilité de prophylaxie antimicrobienne, les ISO sont toujours une cause importante de morbidité, d'hospitalisation prolongée et de mort.

Il est possible de prévenir les infections du site opératoire (ISO) en incorporant quatre mesures à la prestation des soins, soit :

  • l'intervention antimicrobienne périopératoire;
  • l'épilation appropriée;
  • le contrôle de la glycémie périopératoire;

la normothermie périopératoire.

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez communiquer avec info@cpsi-isp.ca.

Veuillez prendre note que le Système de mesure de la sécurité des patients cesse maintenant de recueillir des données. Cliquez ici ou envoyez-nous un courriel à metrics@saferhealthcarenow.ca pour obtenir plus d’information.


Le Réseau universitaire de santé (RUS) s'est engagé à transformer la sécurité des patients selon les approches et principes utilisés par des organisations à haute fiabilité. Appelée Caring Safely,...
juillet 21, 2016 
​​​​​La prévention des infections du site opératoire est une priorité en Colombie-Britannique et la culture organisationnelle en est considérée comme l’un des facteurs essentiels. La trousse de...
avril 02, 2014 
Il n’y a aucun événement pour Infection du site opératoire (ISO) en ce moment. Cliquer ici pour tout afficher