Sign In
CPSI Share                                                      
11/15/2017 3:00 AM 11/15/2017 4:00 AM Webcast Public; Provider; Leader

Date: November 15, Noon ET

Do you work in healthcare technology, technology design or with electronic health information systems? If you do, this call is for you!  Human Factors Engineering (HFE) has played a significant role in the design and evaluation of health information technology (HIT) such as electronic health records (EHRs). Human factors research has played a significant role in the ability to design safe and usable HIT across different domains of healthcare delivery. Healthcare delivery models such as collaborative care delivery, patient centered care, and the need to manage chronic illness across time and space have made the design of HIT much more complex. Accordingly, new perspectives on HIT design are needed to ensure we properly support these new care delivery models. 

This webinar will describe the relationship between human factors and HIT design.  We will examine:

  1. The historical relationship between human factors and HIT design.
  2. New models of care delivery and how they impact HIT design.
  3. Issues with current HIT design from a human factors perspective.
  4. The evolving role of end users in HIT design processes.
  5. New approaches to ensuring usability of HIT and effective workflow using HIT.  
  6. Human factors research for 21st century HIT design.

Join us on November 15th at noon ET as Dr.'s Andre Kushniruk and Craig Kuziemsky introduce us to this exciting topic and provide some practical take-aways. 

Dr. Andre Kushniruk is Professor and Director of the School of Health Information Science at the University of Victoria in Canada and he is a fellow of the American College of Medical Informatics. Dr. Kushniruk conducts research in a number of areas including usability engineering, electronic health records, evaluation of the effects of information technology and human-computer interaction in healthcare. He has developed innovate methods for conducting video-based usability analyses of health information systems. His work is known internationally as he has published widely in the area of health informatics and he has advised on many national and international committees and projects. Dr. Kushniruk has held academic positions at a number of Canadian universities and worked with many major hospitals and hospitals in Canada, the United States and internationally. He holds undergraduate degrees in Psychology and Biology, as well as a MSc in Computer Science from McMaster University and a PhD in Cognitive Psychology from McGill University.

Dr. Craig Kuziemsky, PhD, is a Full Professor and The University Research Chair in Healthcare Innovation in the Telfer School of Management at the University of Ottawa. He completed his PhD in Health Information Science from the University of Victoria in 2006. Dr. Kuziemsky's research focuses on developing innovative approaches for modeling collaborative healthcare delivery so we can better design information and communication technology (ICT) to support different contexts of collaborative healthcare delivery.  His work has defined the structural aspects necessary to support collaboration as well as the behavioral and social processes that shape how the structural components work. His studies of collaboration have used concepts such as complexity theory to understand the nature of collaborative interactions in different healthcare settings (clinical healthcare and public health for disaster management). Dr. Kuziemsky is also interested in the different contexts in which collaboration occurs and how these contexts influence ICT design and evaluation.

Space is limited so click here to register now.

Connexion
CPSI partager                                        
11/15/2017 3:00 AM 11/15/2017 4:00 AM Webdiffusion Fournisseur; Leader; Public

Date : le 15 novembre à midi HE

Travaillez-vous en technologie de la santé, en conception de technologies ou à l'aide de systèmes électroniques d'information en santé? Si oui, cet appel s'adresse à vous! L'ingénierie des facteurs humains a joué un rôle prépondérant dans la conception et l'évaluation des technologies de l'information en santé (TIS), telles que les dossiers de santé électroniques (DSE). La recherche sur les facteurs humains a permis d'accroître la capacité de développer des TIS sécuritaires et conviviales pour les différents secteurs de la prestation des soins. La diversité des modèles de prestation, tels les soins collaboratifs et les soins centrés sur le patient, et le besoin d'une gestion spatio-temporelle des maladies chroniques ont considérablement complexifié la conception des TIS. Par conséquent, celle-ci requiert l'apport de nouvelles perspectives pour assurer le soutien approprié à ces nouveaux modèles.

Ce webinaire porte sur la relation entre les facteurs humains et la conception des TIS. Nous examinerons :

  1. La relation historique entre les facteurs humains et les TIS;
  2. Les nouveaux modèles de prestation de soins et comment ils influent sur la conception des TIS;
  3. Les défis que pose la conception actuelle des TIS sous l'angle des facteurs humains;
  4. Le rôle évolutif des utilisateurs finaux dans les processus de conception des TIS;
  5. Les nouvelles approches pour assurer la convivialité des TIS et les flux de travail efficaces utilisant les TIS;  
  6. La recherche sur les facteurs humains pour la conception de TIS du 21e siècle.

Joignez-vous à nous le 15 novembre à midi HE alors que Andre Kushniruk, Ph. D. et Craig Kuziemsky, Ph. D., nous entretiendront sur ce sujet fascinant et donneront des conseils utiles.

Andre Kushniruk, Ph. D., est professeur et directeur de la School of Health Information Science à l'Université Victoria, Canada, et est fellow de l'American College of Medical Informatics. M. Kushniruk dirige des activités de recherche dans un certain nombre de disciplines telles que l'ingénierie de la convivialité, les dossiers de santé électroniques, l'évaluation des effets de la technologie de l'information et l'interaction entre l'humain et l'informatique en soins de santé. Il a mis au point des méthodes innovatrices pour effectuer des analyses basées sur des vidéos sur l'utilisabilité des systèmes d'information en santé. Auteur de maintes publications dans le domaine de l'informatique en santé, ses travaux sont connus mondialement et son expertise conseil est sollicitée par de nombreux comités et projets d'envergure nationale et internationale. M. Kushniruk a occupé des postes facultaires dans plusieurs universités canadiennes et a travaillé auprès de nombreux établissements hospitaliers importants au Canada, aux États-Unis et ailleurs dans le monde. Il est bachelier en psychologie et en biologie, et détient une maîtrise en sciences informatiques de l'Université McMaster ainsi qu'un doctorat en psychologie cognitive de l'Université McGill.

Craig Kuziemsky, Ph. D., est professeur titulaire et détenteur de la Chaire de recherche de l'Université en innovations en soins de santé à l'École de gestion Telfer de l'Université d'Ottawa. Il a obtenu un doctorat en sciences de l'information en santé de l'Université de Victoria en 2006. Les travaux de recherche de M. Kuziemsky s'attachent particulièrement au développement d'approches innovatrices pour modéliser une prestation de soins collaborative, de sorte que nous puissions mieux concevoir des technologies de l'information et de la communication (TIC) appropriées aux différents contextes de soins collaboratifs.  Son travail a permis de définir les aspects structurels nécessaires au soutien de la collaboration de même que les processus sociaux et comportementaux qui déterminent le fonctionnement des composantes structurelles. Dans le cadre de ses recherches sur la collaboration, il a utilisé des concepts tels que la théorie de la complexité pour mieux saisir la nature des interactions collaboratives dans les différents contextes de soins (soins cliniques et santé publique en matière de gestion des catastrophes). M. Kuziemsky s'intéresse également aux différents contextes où la collaboration prend place et comment ces contextes influencent la conception et l'évaluation des TIC.

Cliquez ici pour vous inscrire. Ne tardez pas, car les places sont limitées.