Sign In
CPSI Share                                                      
11/16/2017 3:00 AM 11/16/2017 4:00 AM Webcast Public; Provider; Leader

Date: November 16, 2017

Failure to Rescue is ranked #2 in healthcare claims in Canada (HIROC, 2017) Additionally, Health Standards Organization (HSO) recently updated the critical care and inpatient services standards sets to include requirements supporting the recognition and response to clinical deterioration.

Join us on Thursday, November 16th at 12h00 ET to hear why this is a concern and more importantly what you can do to help.

By the end of this call participants will understand:

  • how the role of the patient and/or family member can support recognition of clinical deterioration
  • how early warning systems can assist in recognition of clinical deterioration
  • where to access tools and resources to support improvement efforts regarding recognition of and response to, clinical deterioration.

Speakers include:

Donna Davis, LPN

Donna has worked as a nurse for 41 years.  Acute and Long Term Care, Ambulance, active First Responder, Quality Improvement and Patient Safety manager and now Community Health Services Manager at Gainsborough Health Centre in Gainsborough, Saskatchewan   provide Donna with extensive knowledge of gaps in patient safety and keen awareness of where improvements can be made.  In her role as manager, promoting effective communication, creating an environment where all staff are valued equally, seeking input from staff and partnering with residents and families is central to her work. 

Donna developed the Patient and Family Advisory council in her health region and is a passionate advocate for including the patient and family perspective in developing programs, setting policy and making decisions that affect patient care and the patient experience.

As past co-chair and current member of Patients for Patient Safety Canada, a patient led program of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute and World Health Organization Patient Safety Champion,  Donna has represented the patient voice on several national patient safety initiatives such as the 2011 revision of the Canadian Disclosure Guidelines, the 2012 revision of the Canadian Incident Analysis Framework, was a contributor to the PSEP curriculum and to the CPSI Teamwork and Communication Document as well as speaking provincially, nationally and internationally on the subject of patient safety from her personal experience of losing her 19 year old son due to an adverse event.

Joanna Noble RN, BScN, CPPS, CRM

Joanna is the Supervisor, Knowledge Transfer within the Healthcare Risk Management Department at the Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC). She leads the translation of claims data into patient safety knowledge and the dissemination of this knowledge to healthcare organizations, practitioners and other stakeholders. Joanna is a key lead in the development of tools, resources and reports for hospitals and care providers providing labour/delivery and midwifery services.  She has over 20 years' experience in patient safety, risk, quality, nursing and insurance, and frequently contributes to external forums, publications and committees on diverse risk management and patient safety issues. In 2016, Joanna was selected to be a member of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI) Knowledge Translation and Implementation Science Faculty. She recently started a Master of Science Healthcare Quality at Queens University.

Michael Miletin

Dr Michael Miletin is a staff intensivist and respirologist at William Osler Health System in Toronto, Ontario. He completed his medical school and residency training at the University of Toronto followed by a fellowship in Critical Care Medicine at the University of California at San Francisco. He has served as medical director of critical care at William Osler and has implemented rapid response teams in two large community hospitals. His clinical interests include knowledge translation in the intensive care unit, telemedicine applications in acute care, and the design and deployment of early warning systems in hospitals. Dr Miletin pioneered the early warning system currently in use at the William Osler Health System.

Dr Miletin currently serves as the Critical Care Lead for the Central West LHIN.

Space is limited. Click here to register now!

Connexion
CPSI partager                                        
11/16/2017 3:00 AM 11/16/2017 4:00 AM Webdiffusion Fournisseur; Leader; Public

Le défaut de porter secours est classé deuxième au rang des réclamations liées aux soins de santé au Canada (HIROC, 2017). En outre, l'Organisation des normes en santé (HSO) a récemment mis à jour les ensembles de normes de services de soins intensifs et de soins pour patients hospitalisés pour inclure les exigences de reconnaissance et de réponse à la détérioration clinique.

Joignez-vous à nous le jeudi 16 novembre à midi HNE pour savoir pourquoi c'est une préoccupation et, plus important encore, comment vous pouvez aider.

À la fin de cet appel, les participants auront appris :

  • Comment le rôle du patient et/ou du membre de la famille peut favoriser la reconnaissance de la détérioration clinique?
  • Comment les systèmes d'alerte précoce peuvent aider dans la reconnaissance de la détérioration clinique
  • Où accéder aux outils et aux ressources pour soutenir les efforts d'amélioration en matière de reconnaissance et de réponse à la détérioration clinique.

Voici une liste partielle des conférenciers :

Donna Davis, I.A.I.

Donna a travaillé comme infirmière pendant 41 ans.  Sa vaste expérience en soins de courte et de longue durée, en soins ambulanciers, à titre de première intervenante active, de directrice de l'amélioration de la qualité et de la sécurité des patients et maintenant comme directrice des services de santé communautaires au Centre de santé de Gainsborough en Saskatchewan lui confère des connaissances approfondies sur les lacunes en sécurité des patients et une conscience aiguë des améliorations qui peuvent être apportées.  En tant que directrice, la promotion d'une communication efficace et la création d'un environnement où tout le personnel est traité sur un pied d'égalité, en favorisant son apport et le partenariat avec les résidents et les familles, sont au cœur de son travail. 

Donna a créé le Comité consultatif sur les patients et les familles de sa région sanitaire et défend avec ferveur l'intégration de la perspective du patient et de la famille dans l'élaboration des programmes et des politiques et dans la prise de décisions impliquant l'expérience du patient et les soins qu'il reçoit.

En tant que coprésidente sortante et membre de Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada, un programme de l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients dirigé par des patients, et de Championne de la sécurité des patients de l'OMS,  Donna a représenté la voix du patient dans le cadre de plusieurs initiatives nationales pour la sécurité des patients, telles que la révision 2011 des Lignes directrices nationales relatives à la divulgation des événements indésirables et la révision 2012 du Cadre canadien d'analyse des incidents. Elle a contribué au cursus du PESP et au Cadre canadien pour le travail d'équipe et les communications de l'ICSP, et elle partage également son expérience personnelle en matière de sécurité des patients, aux niveaux provincial, national et international, en relatant l'histoire de son fils de 19 ans, décédé suite à un événement indésirable.

Joanna Noble RN, BScN, CPPS, CRM

Joanna est superviseure de la gestion de la transmission des connaissances au sein du service de gestion des risques du Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC). Elle est responsable de la transformation des données sur les réclamations en connaissances sur la sécurité des patients et de la diffusion de ces connaissances aux organismes de soins de santé, aux praticiens et aux autres parties prenantes. Joanna est responsable principale du développement d'outils, de ressources et de rapports pour les hôpitaux et les prestataires de soins fournissant des services d'accouchement et de sage-femme. Elle a plus de 20 ans d'expérience en sécurité des patients, en gestion des risques, en qualité, en soins infirmiers et en en assurances, et elle participe fréquemment à des forums, des publications et des comités externes sur la gestion des risques et la sécurité des patients. En 2016, Joanna a été sélectionnée pour être membre de la Faculté de la transmission des connaissances et de la science de la mise en œuvre de l'Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP). Elle a récemment commencé des études de maîtrise en sciences en qualité des soins à l'université Queens.

Michael Miletin

Le Dr Michael Miletin est intensiviste membre du personnel et pneumologue au sein du William Osler Health System à Toronto, en Ontario. Il est diplômé en médecine et a achevé sa résidence à l'Université de Toronto, puis a poursuivi avec une bourse en médecine de soins intensifs à la University of California at San Francisco. Il a été directeur médical des soins intensifs à William Osler et a mis en place des équipes d'intervention rapide dans deux grands hôpitaux communautaires. Ses domaines d'intérêt cliniques comprennent la transmission des connaissances dans l'unité de soins intensifs, les applications de télémédecine en soins de courte durée et la conception et le déploiement de systèmes d'alerte précoce dans les hôpitaux. Le Dr Miletin a lancé le système d'alerte précoce actuellement utilisé au William Osler Health System.

Le Dr Miletin agit actuellement comme chef des soins critiques au RLISS du Centre-Ouest.

Les places sont limitées. Cliquez ci-dessous pour vous inscrire dès maintenant!