Sign In
CPSI Share               

​​​Intervention:

Reducing Falls and Injury from Falls Intervention

Date:

Monday, December, 10, 2012

Time:

  • 9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. PDT
  • 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. MDT
  • 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. CDT
  • 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. ADT
  • 1:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. NDT

Dial In Information:

Please dial in and/or log on 10 minutes prior to call start time. Wherever possible, please join with others in your region/team to participate in this call.

Sponsor:

  • Canadian Patient Safety Institute
  • Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario

Guest Speakers:

  • Dr. Alexandra Papaioannou M.D., M.Sc., F.R.C.P.(C), F.A.C.P., Professor, Division of Geriatric Medicine and Rheumatology, Department of Medicine, McMaster University Chairholder, CIHR Eli Lilly Canada Chair in Osteoporosis Health Research Methodology Faculty

Dr. Alexandra Papaioannou is a Professor in the Department of Medicine and a Geriatrician at Hamilton Health Sciences. She is the past Director of the Division of Geriatric Medicine, McMaster University with joint appointment in the Division of Rheumatology. Dr Papaioannou has received a CIHR Research Chair – Eli Lilly Osteoporosis and Fracture Prevention and was a prior Ontario Career Scientist. She is an Associate Member in the Department of Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics and has completed Masters of Science (MSc), Health Research Methods at McMaster University. Dr. Papaioannou is past Chair of the Scientific Advisory Council of Osteoporosis Canada (OC) and past Chair of the Board. She is the project lead for the Ontario Osteoporosis Strategy for Fracture Prevention in Long‐term Care, Co‐Director of the Hamilton Canadian Multi‐Centre Osteoporosis Study (CaMos) and is leading the Fracture Think Osteoporosis project, a chronic disease management program in Hamilton, Ontario. Dr. Papaioannou is a member of the Scientific Advisors of the International Osteoporosis Foundation

  • Kari Reich, Quality Improvement Coordinator Cypress Health Region, Saskatchewan

Kari Reich‘s experience with Falls Prevention began during her career in the Therapy Department of Cypress Health Region. The community Therapy team embarked on the Falls Prevention journey as they saw increasing prevalence of seniors falling in their homes. After the team researched and implemented many tools in order to keep the clients safer in their homes they were seeing the benefits of the program. With 10 years of Therapy experience Kari took the opportunity to advance with the Cypress Health Region Quality Department with a specific focus in Falls Prevention in LTC.

Facilitator:

  • Brenda Dusek, RN, MN, Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario and National Falls Coordinator for SHN

Purpose of the Call:

  • Review background for falls and fracture in Long Term Care Settings
  • Present research – current evidence for fracture prevention
  • Discuss upcoming guideline—a sneak peek/review of guidelines coming out in January 2013
  • How did Cypress Health Region’s journey begin?
  • How did Falls Prevention spread across the Region?
  • We’ve made it this far…How to keep the momentum going?