Sign In
CPSI Share                                                      
Special Event

​Recognizing the people and the organizations who are making care safer through partnership.

Safe care must include patient and family engagement.  HealthCareCAN and the Canadian Patient Safety Institute strongly believe this and are working together to foster spread and sustainability of patient and family partnerships in healthcare delivery and patient safety.  We are once again partnering to present the Patient Safety Champion Awards to recognize volunteers and organizations that are taking a leadership role in ensuring that patients and families are at the centre of patient safety initiatives.

In 2017 and beyond, the Patient Safety Champions Awards will be presented at the annual National Health Leadership Conference, to highlight the important leadership required to steward effective partnerships and improve patient safety.

Are you a Patient Safety Champion?

If you or someone you know sounds like a deserving recipient of the 2017 Patient Safety Champion Award, in either the volunteer or organizational category, submit your nomination today!

The deadline for nominations is April 15​​, 2017, and the Awards will be presented at the National Health Leadership Conference, June 12 to 13, 2017 in Vancouver, BC.  Award winners will receive an all-expense paid trip and attendance to the conference.

Last Year's Winners

Volunteer Award: Johanna Trimble won the 2016 Patient Safety Champion Award for her ongoing passion and commitment to changing the healthcare system by raising awareness around the overmedication of seniors.

Organizational Award: Michael Garron Hospital, which also took home a 2016 Patient Champion Safety Award last year, was recognized for their outstanding work in engaging patients and families as partners in continuous improvement.  Read more here:

These are just two examples of some of the exceptional work the Patient Champion Safety Awards have featured in that past couple years. Use the menu on the right to explore the stories of past winners and honorable mentions.

For questions about the 2017 Patient Safety Champion Awards, please contact us at

Healthcare Can.png 
CPSI Vertical Web.jpg